We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable hotel right on the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Yunque Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Yunque Mar to your Saves list
Hotel Yunque Mar
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Calle 1, Luquillo 00773, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Luquillo
Helsinki
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable hotel right on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights last December when we visited Yunque Rain Forest. We had a 2 bedroom apartement with a sea view that was awesome. The living room and one bedroom had also balconys facing the ocean. Heard the waves through the night. Beds were comfortable, rooms were clean, price was reasonable with breakfast included. Breakfast was Ok. There was also a nice pool on the hotel grounds
The only negatice was that there were no restaurants nearby in the walking distance and WiFi worked only in the lobby.

Room Tip: Rooms that have ocean view or partial ocean view are also quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    57
    26
    22
    15
See reviews for
36
81
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Falls, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

this place was an excellent value since it included breakfast. the rooms were clean with maid service every day. the staff was super friendly and helpful. we needed a comfortable place to lay our heads at the end of the day from all the sightseeing we did and it was perfect, the king sized bed was comfortable, the tv and air conditioining worked and the sound of the ocean as we were going to sleep was very relaxing. Good job guys!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Hotel Yunque Mar is in an excellent location for visiting the Yunque Rain Forest as well as spending some time on the beach in and around Luquillo. The hotel itself is very basic but it is clean. As the hotel is located on the beach, you can walk out the back door and head down the beach. Our favorite beach was Playa Azul which is a short drive. Within walking distance to the Kioscos for dinner. Wifi is available within the hotel and from most rooms. The only drawback was a lack of a safe to store valuables. All the hotel employees were very friendly and service oriented.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I spent our week's vacation, here. This hotel couldn't have been better suited for us. Positioned near the 'must see' attractions; walking distance to the kiosks, 15 minutes to the rain forest or Fajardo and 40 minutes to San Juan. The staff was absolutely amazing, filling all of our requests. We will stay here, on our next visit.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

Is a super comfortable hotel (parador) to stay. Very clean all the place, clean sheets, excellent A/C, the staff are very friendly.

The breakfast was included and was perfect the 2 days. The Rainforest El Yunque is near 15minutes and 20 to Fajardo. Plus 2 minutes from the Luquillo Kiosks.

Beach is back at the hotel but for get inside the water you will have to walk 1 minute.

Highly recommended

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

This hotel was recommended by a local birding guide who stays here herself when in the area. The staff is very accommodating, the rooms and public areas are very clean, the pool area is nice and there is a hot breakfast included in the reasonable price. We had a second floor room overlooking the pool, and left the sliding door to our balcony just cracked open all night. The sound of the surf helped make this our best sleep of the trip. We did swim in the ocean at the hotel which can only happen at low tide, but it's quite shallow. You can't beat this hotel for a clean basic room with a great view. It's very close to El Yunque rainforest and the kioskos eating area which is also fun. No luxury here, so if that's your criteria, go elsewhere. If you want a clean, safe, friendly place, this is it.

Room Tip: Although the entire property is walled, ask for a second floor room if you're concerned about se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

beautiful view, if you're out in the back. View from the room is of the pool which is pretty awkward when your room is on the first floor. doors to the balcony were not safely secure and easily accessible by jumping over the railing from the pool area so I was afraid to leave anything valuable in the room. staff was friendly and free wifi was a plus but I barely got reception in my room 107. For the price I guess I would stay again if necessary. If you keep your expectations low, you will love it.

Room Tip: I hear that the rooms on the second floor have a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Yunque Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yunque Mar

Address: 6 Calle 1, Luquillo 00773, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Luquillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Luquillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Yunque Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Yunque Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yunque Mar Hotel
Yunque Mar Luquillo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Yunque Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.