We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical local hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Yunque Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Yunque Mar to your Saves list
Hotel Yunque Mar
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Calle 1, Luquillo 00773, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Luquillo
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Typical local hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Nothing fancy at this place, if you are a resort type of person this isn't the place for you. The price seemed somewhat high for the place, but perhaps that was because it was Palm Sunday and Monday. As others have said breakfast is across the street, rather bland, but ok.

We got bumped off our flight so we arrived very late, after midnight. The office isn't open late so if you didn't know better you could be in a world of hurt. A phone call to them early in the day allowed us to make arrangements for getting a key to our room after hours. They were very helpful in arranging that for us including some detailed text messages.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    57
    26
    22
    15
See reviews for
36
82
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Travelling as a woman on my own, the hotel was just perfect. The local people were friendly and reliable. They helped direct me to where I wanted to go and were very hospitable. The food was tasty and I enjoyed the food kiosks along the beach. Good value for money!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a small, no thrills hotel with modesty-equipped rooms and friendly stuff at the reception. It is located in some sort of a village, right near a church and a small convenience store/terrace. The hotel is also right on the beach, although you can not use it for sunbathing and swimming since it is not intended for that use. Instead, you might want to go to the Luquillo public beach which has all the necessary amenities. Alternatively, the hotel has a small pool overlooking the sea. I would characterize our overall stay at this hotel as ok. We are also thankful to the front-desk stuff for the useful directions and tips on where to eat.

Pros:
1. The rooms were clean and we had everything we needed.
2. We did not encounter any noise or bugs issues as some of the other reviewers complained about. The only thing we could hear was the waves at night mixed with 'typical' countryside sounds such as roosters, dogs and some singing coming from the church and the terrace. By the way, the breakfast is served at this exact terrace.
3.Close proximity to several points of interest: we would recommend this place for those who come to Puerto Rico specifically for the El Yunque rain forest (less that 10min drive), Fajardo (luminescent bay kayaking tours are about 20min by car) and who want to go to Culebra or Vieques (it takes 20min to drive to the ferry port), but do not (or cannot) spend the night there. The above mentioned Luquillo beach is about 5min drive or 20min walk. Also, there several 'kiosks' that people go to eat out.
4. Relatively close to San Juan (and the airport), the drive taking around 40min. Also, you can reach the Bacardi house (the Bacardi tour) in about 40min by car.

Cons:
1a. This is not a fun/party place, unless you are travelling as a large group that would take the entire hotel.
1b. We found the room rate to be a little high for what the hotel has to offer. There are better prices with locals
2a. The choices for breakfast were a bit limited (3 types of food) and unsophisticated (i.e. scrambled eggs, sandwich and coffee/tea/juice). The food in itself is pretty filling.
2b. You have the breakfast at the terrace, taking about 1min to walk across the street. However, the greater problem is that the breakfast is served between 8am and 10am, making it inconvenient for those traveling to Culebra or Vieques by ferry (see the tip below)
3. A bit difficult to find, a visible sign would help a lot (!)
Verdict: A great place for couples travelling on their own, at their own pace. Also, it is great for those wanting to visit this area. Those who come to Puerto Rico for beaches should find (cheaper) accommodation either on Vieques or Culebra, or, if price is not an issue, in resorts.

Room Tip: 1. Ask for a room on the second floor for a nicer view and possible a quieter stay. 2. Rent a car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We arrived to find out the "beach hotel" has no beach access and the beach that was there is now gone. I understand that nature happens, but when I mentioned that their website was misleading and asked for a discount, it was suggested that I return in the summer.
The walls are very thin in these basic rooms. I woke up to circular saws and hammers before 8am. To illustrate how loud the construction was, I'll let you know I could also hear people talking in the lobby. If I can hear a normal volume conversation in the lobby 25' down the hall, imagine how loud a saw is outside my door. It would have been nice to at least receive notice during reservation that the hotel was under construction.
We found hair in the bed and had to kill a roach, adding even more negatives to the list. We stayed two nights on this same trip at Gran Melia for $95/night through Priceline. The face that this place cost more is a joke. I won't be back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed one night in this hotel and caught a total of 4 roaches in our room. They seemed to be coming from the bathroom sink.
The hotel needs upgrading. The patio doors were in bad shape and did no longer close all the way. The room therefore was humid and smelly.
Vastly overpriced for what you get. There must be much better places to stay around Luquillo.
Restaurant in the hotel is closed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadiz, Kentucky
Level Contributor
128 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is a small friendly hotel with only 16 rooms. Since daughter and her husband were with us the first two nights we rented the VIP suite which consisted of 2 bedrooms (1 with king size bed, and 1 with 2 standard size beds), plus a kitchen/dining room combination. When they left we moved into a regular room. Breakfast is served across the road made to order with 3 choices - ham and eggs, eggs and pancakes, or a ham, cheese and egg sandwich.

Likes: Wonderful ocean views from two balconies in the suite - one off of the living room, and one off of the bedroom. Decent ocean view from the regular room. Conveniently located very close to the El Yunque rain forest and also to the kiosks. Waking up to the sounds of waves crashing and chickens crowing can't be beat. Very friendly staff, and were especially helpful in letting us move directly from one room to another even though our new room had been occupied the night before.

Dislikes: The hotel is fighting mother nature. Due to the water level rising, the waves now crash into the hotel and therefor there is no longer any direct beach access, but you can walk up the road about 4 blocks to reach one. Poor lighting in both rooms. Lots of construction going on due to the need for wall re-enforcement against the waves. No smoke alarm in suite , and emergency exits were locked due to construction. No internet access from suite (but good in regular room). I expected more amenities in the suite, but such things as a coffeemaker were not there and I had to request drinking glasses. The only furniture in the regular room was a bed and dresser, but on request they brought me in a small table.

Despite my negatives, if I were back in the area, I would stay at the Yunque Mar just because of the helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Better off spending a little more of your money and finding a place worth your money and time. This place I came across at the last minute. Me and my husband were reluctant to stay at this place as soon as we got there. But he was tired and just wanted to relax. The rooms are dull and would be better off just having a bed and throwing everything else out. We didnt bother sitting in the one chair that was in the room and the balcony doors are in dire need of repair. Breakfast could be better but at least it is something for you to start the day off with. The restaurant is closed and they have something they call the merandero but its more like a kiosk for the community or maybe I should say barrio this hotel is placed at. People "locals" drinking there at all hours from morning until late evenings and the lady who cooks "though good" looks like shes on something. Other than that staff was nice and gave us directions to el yunkue and the ferry docks to go to vieques island. Hate to say this but this place is a last resort. Needs alot of work.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luquillo
1.9 mi away
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
7.8 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 3 in Fajardo
3.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
5.3 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
7.9 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Yunque Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yunque Mar

Address: 6 Calle 1, Luquillo 00773, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Luquillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Luquillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Yunque Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Yunque Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yunque Mar Hotel
Yunque Mar Luquillo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Yunque Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.