We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine Beach Bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boardriders

Boardriders
Playa la pared | #25 veve calzada, Luquillo 00773, Puerto Rico
787-355-5175
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 49 restaurants in Luquillo
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Genuine Beach Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Not sure how the food rates, I mean I like it but I'm a simple guy. The thing that you'll like about this place is the view and the eclectic collection of characters that roll in and out of that place. I've spent more nights than can remember sitting on a stool watching the ocean and sharing stories from all points on the globe.

Leave any pretentiousness at your home or your swanky hotel and sit back and enjoy a genuine Puerto Rican beach bar. If you're lucky you'll run into Pirate Steve, he's not only my friend but perhaps the best story teller and tour guide on the island.

Thanks Juan.

Matthew Carson.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    171
    79
    21
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great beachfront grill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Only place in the area where you can sit outside and enjoy the beach view and have great food as well. Great atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Loved this place!!! Great food and ambiance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed a block away at the Sunrise Luqillo Inn, and found this place as we were walking by. They have a great patio with an ocean view, and a fun indoor dining room and bar. We were luckily there just in time for Taco Tuesday, and the fish tacos were so fresh and flavorful! They have specials every night, like Wine Wednesday and fun stuff like that. Servers and everyone there is really friendly. Great spot with a super casual, fun vibe!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Turtle Cay, Green Turtle Cay, The Bahamas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Fish Tacos, View and Drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

If you like great fish tacos this is the place, right on the ocean. Great atmosphere, good food and good drinks.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food and fun environment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The food was very good, but nothing that hit us as outstanding. Drinks were strong and good. Service was very good.
Not much seating inside, and it was quite windy out. Great view of sunset from the porch.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boardriders also viewed

Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
 
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Boardriders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boardriders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.