We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food, ok atmosphere! ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Jefe Burger Shack

El Jefe Burger Shack
Carretera 3, Kiosco #12 | Luquillo Kioskos #12 &13, Luquillo 00773, Puerto Rico
787-615-0896
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 56 Restaurants in Luquillo
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Reading, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food, ok atmosphere! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

One of best burgers we have ever had...got the rib stuffed burger! The atmosphere is nice to sit out at ocean, but huge fence in front of you blocking view and some feral cats running around patio. Service was outstanding though! And mojitos are out of this world....get the coconut one and also the lemon ginger! Yum!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    91
    39
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
O'Fallon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great burgers! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Great burgers! Fries very greasy and limo. Very accommodating bartender who may have been the owner who helped us get our food to go so we could make our biobay tour. The men with us were both impressed with the burgers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Loud music, drinks, and OK food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Went here on a recommendation from a local.

Strange lighting - not sure what was up but there were what looked like two emergency spotlights on the low ceiling pointed in two different directions. Unfortunately, one was pointing directly at our table (at my back thankfully - though the other table in the spotlight was not so lucky). It felt like I was on stage the whole time having this direct bright light on me.

Anyway...the food was good. Nothing to write home about. My wife was jazzed about the avocado on top of her burger, but since they shape the patties weirdly (almost ball-shaped) she could never get the correct balance of avocado, bun, and meat in each bite.

Had the buffalo chicken platter. Buffalo sauce was OK, they do have a nice collection of hot sauces to try out though.

Good if it is what you are looking for - if it is not what you are looking for you will hate it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“They say you can't ruin a hamburger but they are wrong”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Located among the line of "kioskos" or beach food shacks along the beach in Luquillo PR is #12/13, El Jefe Burger shack. Small and dingy, with graffiti on the walls and ceiling, El Jefe is a spot where the purpose of the food is apparently to just take up enough stomach space to dilute the effects of alcohol. It was loud, as are most of the kioskos, and the service was slow, even allowing for island time, We requested "medium" and "medium well". What we received was flame broiled to a wonderful charcoal goodness on the outside and raw hamburger meat on the inside. Thinking this was some kind of regional difference in the meaning of "medium " we sent them back and asked for the meat to be cooked more and not to be red. They reappeared 5 minutes later and incredibly, were still raw. Picked one apart to see if any of it was cooked and except for a thin outside layer, it was raw cow. Check out the photo. Don't know why our experience was so different than that of most other reviewers, but it was. Some diners are overly picky but we aren't - this place is seriously awful, a waste of money and possibly dangerous as a choice for dinner.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“great burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Amazing burgers and shakes.But be prepared to wait for the food.Amazing ginger mohitos,must try!
the portions are adequate...

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Jefe Burger Shack also viewed

Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
 
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
 

Been to El Jefe Burger Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Jefe Burger Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.