We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot in the mountains” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ceiba Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ceiba Country Inn to your Saves list
Ceiba Country Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Carretera 977, Km. 1.2, Ceiba 00735, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Ceiba B&B and Inns
USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot in the mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Ceiba County Inn was beautiful, quiet (except the frogs and creature noises - but we slept surprisingly well), the staff was friendly and helpful, the dogs and cats were sweet and entertaining.

You definitely want to have a car with you. Finding the location was not difficult with the directions (Note: my GPS never found satellites on the trip). The check-in/ lounge/dining area has travel info, TV, games, affordable snacks/drinks (closes after 9 p.m., I think). So bring food if you want more to eat at night, or expect to drive 15+ minutes to a restaurant. (Metropol, I think in Fajardo, was one place we went, and it was a nice sit-down restaurant, despite being in a strip mall). There was a small fridge in the room, with mini freezer space.

Before we got there I didn't realize how close everything is: Fajardo and Luquillo sites are close by and easy to get to. We didn't really find much going on in Ceiba while we were there (it rained the day we might have gone to a beach there, so we ended up going to el Yunque that day).

Wifi worked great on the patio or upstairs. Magazines in the room, and books available to borrow. Not the hottest of shower water, but didn't need to be. They provided beach towels in a tote bag in addition to room towels/linens. I don't think we even turned on the AC while we were there (2 nights). Breakfast was tasty with fresh fruit, baked goods, coffee, tea (and some variety each day).

Would recommend/go back...

Room Tip: The Inn has limited rooms, so book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    83
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
71
176
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubuque, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here two nights in April/May 2013. The property is very peaceful and the staff is wonderful. We were serenaded to sleep by the coqui frogs. The breakfast was very nice. All in all a great place to stay and "decompress". We recommend this in to all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

It's a bed and breakfast in the tropical forest, so make sure you know what to expect.

Pros:
* NO TV in your room (which we loved)
* Mike, the owner, is very helpful
* Clean, comfortable room
* Great porch and terrace
* Quiet, beautiful location
* Decent breakfast (included)

Cons:
* To no fault of the owner, loud frogs; however, we read about the noisy creatures and bought ear plugs from one of the many CVS pharmacies on the way from San Juan and they worked like a charm

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Marais, Minnesota
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We enjoyed our overnight stay. Our room was very comfortable, clean; sheets, towels, bed were all good. It's a great place to do nothing but listen to frogs and birds fill the night and morning with forest sounds. Breakfast was fine. No air conditioning needed as it's at high enough elevation and catches a good breeze. Very nice.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our downstairs room just fine. We were on the end which gave us windows on two sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My husband, myself and 2 daughters stayed at this property on 4/11/13. Very nice and welcoming staff. Room was simple, but comfortable. If you wanted to watch TV, you needed to go to the main congregation area. It was so nice to listen to the various sounds, surprisingly enough, we did not miss the TV. We sat on the deck and enjoyed the beautiful views of the valley. Breakfast consisted of breads, fresh fruit; etc. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We didn’t mind that it was 20 minutes or more to drive to anything, because it was such a nice place to stay at. The continental breakfast was excellent, with assorted tropic fruits, yogurt, banana bread, lemon bread, toast with guava jam, choices of fresh tropical juices, coffee, and assorted tea. There was cereal and instant oatmeal, too. The views and the grounds are gorgeous. The added amenities of loaned beach towels, beach chairs, and coolers are also great. We felt we had privacy too, with the side of the building to ourselves. The innkeeper Michael is very friendly and helpful about what to see and do. We could easily have spent more time here. We got a room with a queen and two single beds, which made it comfortable for a family with two teens. The bathroom is modern and stocked, but does not have hair conditioner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We came here late in the evening after a long day of flying. It was just what we needed! The sounds of the coqui were music to our ears. The room was super clean and bed was just big enough for two 6 foot plus people. You do have the ability to turn the coqui sound off by shutting the blinds and cranking the A/C which was super nice. Shower was sufficient. We were the first to wake up in the morning. The grounds were INCREDIBLE. We walked around the back and visited some large bunnies and roosters. Two dogs frolicked with us in what I would call as the most magnificent backyard I've ever seen. Breakfast was very simple but super fresh and delicious. This is the perfect place to get in late, sleep, wake up early, eat and enjoy the rest of the day. Price was the best that I had found around the island!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ceiba Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ceiba Country Inn

Address: Carretera 977, Km. 1.2, Ceiba 00735, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ceiba Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 12.5 Acres in the foothills of the Luquillo Mountains of northeastern Puerto Rico, perched on a ridge crossing a valley, the Ceiba Country Inn invites you to come experience the quiet beauty of the countryside. Dramatic views to the ocean with Culebra Island on the horizon, and inland to the rolling mountains of El Yunque await you as the tropical breezes and songs of the birds and coquis welcomes you. The quiet and relaxing environment appeals to those who wish to avoid the glitz and commercialism of the tourist resorts. The lush grounds are full of palm trees, coconut, banana, guava, passion fruit , and other tropical flora. Bird watchers will appreciate the chance to see some of our native species and hear the screech owls at night. The Inn offers 9 comfortable well furnished rooms on the ground level with various sleeping accommodations available. There are 2 separate patio areas with picnic table and seating arrangements for your enjoyment. The upper level of the Inn features the breakfast room, lounge and bar, with a large outdoor Spanish patio with lounge chairs, tables for enjoying outdoor breakfast or meals you may prepare on the provided gas grill. The Inn would also be the perfect location to host small groups, family reunions, and weddings. In-house catering can also be arranged.All rooms have private entrance and feature air conditioning, ceiling fans, mini fridge, telephone, and private bath with shower. All rooms are non-smoking. Smoking permitted outside on the grounds only. Housekeeping available every day during your stay until 12 noon.• A full continental breakfast is included in your stay and served each morning 7am-9am in the breakfast area on the upper level. We feature home made baked goods like banana bread and cinnamon nut coffee cake, Puerto Rican Coffee, and fresh sliced fruit (some from our property when in season) • The Bar is open til 9pm with a selection of soft drinks, bottled water, and juices. • Ice • Free Wi-Fi available in the lounge and on the Spanish patio • TV available at the bar • Hair dryers, Iron & Ironing board available on request • Library filled with both fiction and non fiction titles • Board games, cards and puzzles • Beach towels, beach chairs, coolers for trips to the beach • Information on local activities and points of interest • Gas grill provided on the patio • Microwave and electric tea kettles (yes, you may bring them to your room) available in the lounge! The Hosts will be happy to assist you in any questions regarding activities, shopping, directions and dining in the area, and can arrange reservations or transportation. Please let us know of any dietary restrictions or special diets and we will do our best to accommodate you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ceiba Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceiba Country Hotel Ceiba
Country Inn Ceiba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ceiba Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.