We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiano Cove” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taino Cove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Taino Cove to your Saves list
Taino Cove
Old Wharf | Treasure Beach, Treasure Beach, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Treasure Beach
Boise, Idaho, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tiano Cove”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We had a group of 19 individuals staying at Tiano Cove. It was a great experience, with employees that treat you as family, you can hear the waves crashing while falling asleep, you can see the ocean while your eating breakfast. We couldn't have picked a better place to stay.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are pretty close to the rooms are pretty close to the ocean, but the closer you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    9
    1
    3
    5
See reviews for
14
28
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eagle, Idaho
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

A group of students from Boise State University stayed at Taino Cove while on a service trip. We were welcomed by Ms. Winnie (the owner) and Trudy (our personal bartender :). The rooms were oustanding and beautiful. The staff took great care of us and our stay went by too quickly. Taino Cove sits right on the ocean, has beautiful views of the sunset, is a short walk from some neat tide pools, and has its own outstanding beach right off the patio. Taino Cove's pool is right next to the bar and is perfect for night swims. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to relax and experience a more quiet side of Jamaica.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are wonderful. The bottom floor rooms open straight to the patio while the second f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Taino Cove is a wonderful place filled with very loving people. It was so relaxing and went along perfectly with the beautiful landscape in Treasure Beach, Jamaica. If you can stay and it will be like you never left the comforts of your home.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

This was our second trip to treasure beach and first stay at Taino Cove. The hotel is a bit away from some of the action that surrounds frenchman's beach, but is within walking distance. The rooms are super clean, well furnished and very roomy. The staff -- especially Trudy -- is very capable and courteous.

The highlight was the breakfast -- from our last visit, we had gotten used to going to Pardy's Coffee Shop (they have been written up in NYT, and is a great breakfast place). But after having the jamaican breakfast at Taino Cove, we felt it was a notch higher. And we were very sad that we had to checkout early on our last day without enjoying another plate of the same.

Two things they can do better -- real coffe instead of what might have been instant. And if at all possible, work on the water pressure in the showers (this is a common problem across most hotels we've been to in Jamaica).


Overall, very spacious and clean rooms with superb breakfast, short walk from frenchman's beach. 25 minutes walk to jack sprat.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs have tall ceilings, and feel very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Just returned last night from 7 nights at Taino Cove; what a great place! Treasure beach really is a treasure -- exactly what we were looking for: safe, quiet, removed from tourists, good food, good people.

Trudy and Keisha took great care of us - we left with a new Jamaican family. Winnie (owner) is super cool as is everyone else around - Henry, Auburn and Winnie's family. The inn is about a mile walk to town (either by beach or road) and everyone in town is nice and friendly. The area is super safe so no need to worry about walking around in the dark.

If you want to escape nonsense high rise hotels, hawkers and annoying tourists all over, then this is the place to be. If you are one of those travelers that wants the typical conveniences of modern day life, then stay away - this is super low key, mellow, you eat what's available (and it's always great) and don't rush anything.

Breakfast (continental) was served every morning and you can add-on more, like eggs or ackee and saltfish. Dinners are also an extra charge, but so worth it. Save time though to eat at some local places like Pardy's or Smurf's for breakfast, dinner at MarBlu (a treat) or the Dutch pot and even better, dinner from one of the several street vendors making jerk chicken or fish.

What an amazing place!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have great light. We had the oceanfront upstairs suite - great views, breeze and cons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We had the pleasure of spending 5 days at Tiano Cove. It was pure bliss!! The ocean was beautiful and we enjoyed that we could walk down to the beach easily from the hotel.

We enjoyed walking to thru the small towns and visiting the local restaurants.

The "staff" (I hate to say staff because they felt like friends) are AMAZING! Henry showed us around, looked out for us like we were his sisters and drove us to his favorite spots on the island.
Angie and Byron prepared excellent fresh dishes for us.
Trudy tried to help us with all of our needs, big or small....including extra coffee in the morning!

And Winnie (the owner) was amazing. We enjoyed leisurely conversations about politics, womanhood, community...you name it! She was inspiring and I felt like I was meant to meet her and take in her energy!!

If you are looking for a relaxing, spiritual, nourturing vacation...this is the spot for you. No one "bothered us' or "tried to sell us anything" as I had heard from friends who had visited all-inclusive resorts. The Jamacains that we met were loving, proud, and caring. They shared many hours visiting with us and teaching us about their lovely island.

XO Melisa from Michigan

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

The Taino Cove was a great find, and is located on the South Coast of Jamaica. This sunkist colored hotel sits tucked away on one end of Treasure Beach. The owner, Mrs. Winnie Hilton, greeted us upon arrival and quickly made us feel a part of the Jamaican culture. My husband and our thirteen year old son stayed for eight wonderful days.
We took full advantage of the accommodations. We stayed on the pool level, which had French-doors that opened up to the sea views. The room’s décor was simple chic, with the basic amenities and an AC. This is a place of relaxation, a time to catch up on some reading or watch some personal DVD’s, which can be viewed in the common area. Trudy, one of the staffers, made sure we were comfortable at all times. The continental breakfast was included in the room rate. If you want a traditional Jamaican or American breakfast, Angie’s cooking is well worth the added cost, just make sure you have cash for payment. Credit is only accepted for the room’s rate. Unfortunately, we only experienced one night of dinner, only because we did not know any better. Had we known that a personalized menu could be prepared within a day’s notice, we would have had dinner each night. Yes, it was that good!
Whether you feel like dipping into the pool, or the sea, both are refreshing. Don’t let the waves and coral reef fool you. Just around the bend are two very calm coves with enough sand for the kids to play or you. The calm beach coves are accessible from the beach side or a 3 minute walk out of the front doors. The beaches are public in Jamaica and there is some sort of path provided for access.
We look forward to our next trip and plan on bringing our extended family of five. The Taino Cottage would accommodate all of us in one unit. If I knew about Taino Cove in 2009, I would have had my husband’s fiftieth surprise birthday there!
There are many different sites to visit all located on the south coast. Look at Taino Cove’s website for more details. http://www.tainocove.com/amenities.htm

We really had a great time and we highly recommend you stay at Taino Cove when you plan your trip to Jamaica.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taino Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taino Cove

Address: Old Wharf | Treasure Beach, Treasure Beach, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Elizabeth Parish > Treasure Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Treasure Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taino Cove is a serene getaway where you can fully enjoy the still-unspoiled side of Jamaica. Whether coordinating an intimate, extended-stay retreat, or you just need a quiet place to rest your head between island adventures, your stay at Taino Cove can be tailored to fit your heart's desire. Relax and enjoy our peaceful balance of comfort and warm, attentive hospitality. At Taino Cove, you can get away from it all by escaping to your own private paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Taino Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taino Cove Treasure Beach
Taino Cove Hotel Treasure Beach
Taino Cove Jamaica/Treasure Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taino Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.