We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull in every way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of "Nuestra Casa" Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added "Nuestra Casa" Guesthouse to your Saves list
"Nuestra Casa" Guesthouse
Billy's Bay | Treasure Beach, Treasure Beach, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Treasure Beach B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderfull in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I met Roger along the way while I was waiting for a taxi from Black River to Treasure Beach. I normally don't hitch hike, but even when you meet Roger in a split second you already know this is a person you can trust! I didn't make a reservation yet in Treasure Beach and Roger had a room left because of low season. I ended up staying just two days here, but would have loved to stay longer.

Roger, Jeremy and Anika are really wonderfull people. For example, I had a bit of a bad experience on the black river tour and pelican bay organized by the place I stayed in Black River and I wish I had done the tour organized by Nuestra Casa! Roger also gave me some tips to do in and around Treasure Beach. And he was right! You will just love this more rural part of Jamaica. Besides this, at Nuestra Casa the serve an excellent choice of breakfasts, tours and they also pick you up from whatever beach you are! So you can enjoy the beautiful sunsets here!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
55
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aalter
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Planning a long term vacation with two kids (14 and 11 years old), situated in a for us completely unknown country, has been always something like a calculated guess. For this time, every experience has overruled the expectations, not that we had bad experiences before. The kind, but uttermost professional hospitality of Roger, Liliane, Jeremy and Anika, managing this guesthouse, beats anything which we have experienced before.
The atmosphere is in a perfect balance with the unspoiled, laidback environment of Treasure Beach, a must for anyone who likes honest vacations, without any involvement of mass tourism and the hassle and hussle related to it. Roger found an answer on every question regarding trips, renting bikes or whatever. Jeremy is a perfect evening host, while Anika is a wonderfull cook, and Liliane is a person which you won't forget in a lifetime. what else should i say but: go to jamaica, then go to treasure beach, and definitely try to stay at Nuestra Casa. For us a place which will influence our lives forever.
Koen, Kristel, Stan and Nona from Belgium

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Roger, Jeremy, and Anika are wonderful hosts who made our stay at Treasure Beach -- sadly all too brief -- the most memorable part of our Jamaica trip. Roger has fascinating stories about his career on stage and is hospitable to a fault: when we came in late at night a couple of times, he woke up to make sure we didn't need anything, and even drove us to Kingston to catch our flight. Anika makes a wonderful breakfast, and Jeremy was extremely accommodating when we stayed up late, making sure the gate was unlocked for us... wish I'd known he played guitar!

Mariano from NYC

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay. The rooms are comfortable and clean with a great selection of books and DVDs to choose from, and also very affordable. Roger, Anika and Jeremy were great and met our every need. The trip to YS Falls that was recommended was a perfect day trip. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

This was the most laid back greatest place in he world. If you like quiet, beauty and local culture then this is te place to go. Aaron and Christine from Boston

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

certainly a nice place to stay for a couple of days. jeremy plays a great guitar (when asked), not only ol' reggea tunes but james taylor and beatles as well. anika makes nice bereakfast, and a GREAT restaurant isn't far away (strikey's) (the greates restaurant on the island however - little ochi - is quite a ride away). things are certainly easier if you've got your own car since transportation is poor in the village. a nice little beach is in walking distance. roger helps where he can, but you get charged for everything ... well he runs the place and has got to make ends meet too...

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

We had such a wonderful relaxing 6 days we stayed for 2 more nights.
Nuestra Casa has a lovely open air verandah with a near constant breeze coming in to gently tinkle the wind chimes.
There are plenty of different places to sit, magazines to read or just gaze into the garden at the flowers and birds.
We met some lovely people. who joined us for meals and trips and we were sorry to leave. Talking of meals, Anika and Jeremy will cook a good variety of great food whenever you want it. Also, a great place to eat at night is Strikie T's just up the road. Chris, the owner is a brilliant chef so if he is in town make sure you go at least once.
Kanute the gardner runs a great boat trip to Pelican Bar and Black River. He has a small boat (max 6 guests + 2 crew) and he can get further up the river than the bigger boats who have to stop before the low bridge. Just by the bridge is Sister Lou's River Stop and you must have some of her crabs and crackers - small but so tasty! You are not given a timetable of what to do or when on the boat trip- the day is yours so you can stay as long as you like swimming in the lagoon, eating crabs or chilling at Pelican Bar. Altogether a great day.
Roger at the guesthouse is very knowledgable about the local area, will take you on trips or just up to Pedro Cross if you need the ATM. He is very attentive to the needs of his guests but not at the cost of your privacy.
Get up early to meet Lilian, Roger's mum who sadly is wheelchair bound but loves to meet new guests.
Our room was very comfortable with a huge bed, plenty of wardrobe space and books to read. It really does feel like you are a house guest.
A big Thank You to all the team, not forgetting the lovely dogs, Jimbo and Girly.
We will be back!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to "Nuestra Casa" Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about "Nuestra Casa" Guesthouse

Address: Billy's Bay | Treasure Beach, Treasure Beach, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Elizabeth Parish > Treasure Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Treasure Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Nuestra Casa" Guesthouse is a highly recommended Bed & Breakfast overlooking Billys Bay fishing beach in Treasure Beach. This gem is run by Lillian Brooks, a delightful English lady, and her son Roger, a creative chap with a great sense of humour. It has a wide verandah and a rooftop sundeck. The graceful four-bedrooms [all with private en suite bathrooms] are tastefully decorated with art works and three have lofty wooden ceilings. "It's a tremendous bargain at the rates, which go down for longer stays." Lonely Planet Guide to Jamaica 7th Edition [2011] ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your "Nuestra Casa" Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
"Nuestra Casa" Guesthouse Jamaica/Treasure Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage "Nuestra Casa" Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.