We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place -- in a special place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kudehya Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kudehya Guesthouse to your Saves list
Kudehya Guesthouse
Old Wharf Road, Treasure Beach, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Treasure Beach B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A special place -- in a special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I chose to visit Treasure Beach as a follow-up (antidote?) to a week in Negril. I was initially hesitant to stay at Kudehya, thinking a small guesthouse might be somewhat isolating. Kudehya proved to be an exceptional experience in a simple, understated way.

I stayed in two different rooms over 5 days: both were tastefully decorated with quality linens. The property is ideally located. A back gate leads directly to the shore, it's minutes away from the Kingfisher Plaza, Jake's and other amenities, yet it's apart from the main traffic down a short side road.

What I hadn't anticipated was how much of a cultural experience my stay would be. Iyaras is a talented ital chef, and delivers much more than taste and nutrition with each meal. There is a sharing of rasta culture and tradition, and of kinship. Each evening, after a day of wandering about, I'd come 'home' to a delicious ital meal. I'll long remember the evenings of conversation and laughter as Iyaras prepared dinner and we shared stories and fellowship. Sharon Martini is a vibrant, multi-talented artist who helps manage Kudehya; together with Iyaras, she helps visitors truly enjoy the special nature of the region. Iyaras' young son and the canine retinue help create a true home atmosphere. And still, there's a respect for privacy and 'alone' time: a perfect blend.

One regret is that I did not find time to share Iyaras' passion for music. As much as I love the old reggae classics, I'm also interested in where Jamaican music is headed. I'll have to return to to Kudehya to explore this.

Thank you to Iyaras, Sharon and Gebre for their genuine, warm hospitality. When asked if he enjoyed running a guesthouse, Iyaras replied, "It's like being a soccer (football) player. You love what you do, and you get to do it everyday." Blessings to all...

Room Tip: The roof top room has exceptional views, but the main floor (Seagrape) is wonderful as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
18
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I planned a solo trip to Jamaica and was looking for some place to stay that would be safe, clean, and support the local economy. I was also looking for a quiet place without a lot of other tourists. Kudehya house had it all and more!
Iyaras knows how to take great care of his guests, anticipating needs before you even articulate them. I opted for Iyaras' cooking, the I-tal diet (natural - no salt, no meat, no dairy) and ate mostly his delicious food on the trip - it seemed every time I turned around he had a meal, fresh fruit, fresh juice or tea (This added US$30/day to my bill though consisted of 2 breakfasts, a late lunch and a dinner with snacks and beverages throughout the day). Iyaras, Sharon and Gebre grow food on the property so you can see precisely what you eating. There are of course other places you can eat if going I-tal isn't your style (and for the record, I'm a meat and potatoes kind of girl but viewed I-tal as part of the adventure).
As for the location, you would be hard pressed to find another one comparably great anywhere in the world. The shore line is not tainted with mega-hotel eyesores or McMansions. Kudehya house is positioned in a way and in a location that really every view is a great view.
On being a solo traveler - A lot of people warned me against going to Jamaica where it's "not safe for women to travel alone" but I did not encounter any problems or ever feel unsafe which I can't say the same for in my own city. Celia, the dog living at Kudehya house, was more than happy to accompany me on walks into town and on the beach.
This is a great location for the following (in my opinion): those looking for a retreat, solo travelers, families who love to be outdoors together, writers who don't require wi-fi 24/7 (it's available down the way), couples looking for a romantic/secluded getaway and anyone interested in experiencing living naturally and simply - the Rastafari way of life.

Room Tip: Dehya room is the one up top with the amazing porch though I peeked in all the rooms (I was the only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minehead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

On our 3 weeks in JAM we came to Treasure Beach and liked it very much. When we wanted to extend the stay in our hotel they wanted $245 for a night (whut?) so we needed an alternative. We found Kudehya solely by its great reviews here on TripAdvisor as it was too new to be mentioned in our guide book (I sure hope they'll get a mention in the next editions, so worth it!). It turned out to be the most enjoyable stay of our journey. The house is new, well thought out, and the rooms are finished to a high standard. Yes, rustic, but really nicely finished. I could have LIVED in that bathroom, it was so impressive! A patch of garden under the thatch to watch butterflies and humming birds. Access to 2 small stretches of beach (that end of Calabash Bay is mainly rocks, so it's really nice to have the choice of 2 sandy bits - all to yourself, didn't see anybody else there). But the main asset are the people!! Yrys (spelling?) was very welcoming, and Sharon was the most interesting person to talk to. When we decided on the spur of the moment to go to the Pelican bar, they had it organised in minutes. It felt like visiting friends rather than being anonymous guests in a random guest house. I wish we could have stayed longer, it was just so laid-back, relaxed and just all-round nice.

Room Tip: Downstairs has direct access to the garden with chairs under the thatch, upstairs has a terrace with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Folks, I stayed at this place because of the reviews on Tripadvisor. This is the REAL DEAL. I'm a Marriott rewards and Hilton HHonors member, so I'm familiars with nice places. But this place was different; rustic, charming and a phenomenal view of the ocean and the mountains. A great view of the sunset from Treasure beach and also the beach was very private. Love it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Couple, spent 1 night in December 2012. While looking for a place to stay for the night....among all those expensive B&B's around, we stopped at this place just to ask if they rent a room for the night. Whoau....ended up being one of our favorite times in Jamaica: all new house, tastefully decorated, rented the downstairs back room with access to the garden and to the beach (almost private beach i would say as we had it just for ourselves), a peaceful moment in a peaceful time space and hosted by amazing people. Don't miss this chance!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I am just back from Jamaica, where I spent 3 weeks travelling around.
As I planned to see as less touristy places as possible, I spent 6 nights in Trasure beach, and specifically in Kudehya guest house.
Oh man, I couldn't have been any luckier. This place was a treat. Yrys ( hope I wrote it well) the owner of the house was one of the friendliest person I met. I felt really well. The place is very clean with all you need. `my room was on the upper floor and my view from the balcony was priceless.
I think that, due to a combination of a lot of things, I had the best part of my holiday right there, in Treasure beach.
One last thing....try out Yrys ' Ital food. It really worth it!!

Room Tip: Ask for Dehya room, on the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

my husband and i came for 3 nights october 2012, but stayed 2 more nights. you do not need to have TV, if you have such a view. we spend hours on the terraсe. ans also Sheron took real care of us. but take a repellent with you, couse mosquitoes DO exist

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kudehya Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kudehya Guesthouse

Address: Old Wharf Road, Treasure Beach, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Elizabeth Parish > Treasure Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Treasure Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kudehya Guesthouse - Simple! Natural! Ital! – sits nestled beachfront, at the end of a quiet street in Old Wharf, Treasure Beach, St. Elizabeth, Jamaica. A mix of contemporary and African traditional design, adorned in the vibrant red, gold and green colors of Rastafari, Kudehya Guesthouse boasts three non-smoking suites equipped with ceiling fan, refrigerator and coffeemaker. Enjoy spectacular views of the Caribbean Sea, Great Bay Bluff and the Santa Cruz mountains from each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kudehya Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kudehya Guesthouse Jamaica/Treasure Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kudehya Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.