We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South coast hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Treasure Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Treasure Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Treasure Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Frenchman | South Coast, Treasure Beach, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Treasure Beach
Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“South coast hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Treasure Beach Hotel is located just above a long beautiful beach on the south coast of Jamaica; steps led from the hotel down to the sand. We walked on this long empty beach several times a day. The hotel is somewhat dated, however our room was clean, comfortable and roomy, and it had a small deck overlooking the ocean. The sound of the surf at night was amazing. The grounds are lush with tropical foliage, and I enjoyed swimming in the two pools on site. We felt very safe walking on the beach and in the small community there, and enjoyed finding out of the way places to eat our meals. This is not a tourist destination and we loved it for this reason; it is more or less the opposite of seven mile beach in Negril. Be sure to get to the Pelican Bar, one of the more unique places I've experienced: it is made of driftwood on a sandbar a mile or two offshore, and is an experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treasureb85, Manager at Treasure Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thanks for taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review on our Resort. We will continue to "Meet and Exceed our Guests Expectations ... With Pride". Our TREASURE, our TEAM.
We do look forward to your return visits as we continue to maintain our CHARM off the beaten track
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    28
    5
    10
    11
See reviews for
14
41
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Talk about ambiance! Treasure Beach Hotel has it all. From its luscious greenery all over the property to the bouganvilla flowers that meet you in the spacious, light,airy bedroom. From the moment you enter the grounds you are greeted with such an aroma of nothing but fresh air manufactured by the well-kept shrubbery around - makes you want to keep breathing.

Treasure Beach Hotel's management and staff gives you firsthand knowledge of Jamaica's well-talked-about courteousness and joviality. From entering until you exit you feel and see nothing but smiles and friendliness. Hugs come naturally and they are ever so willing to meet your every need with grace and diligence. I had the opportunity of meeting and became acquainted with one of the owners, the lovely Ms Jen, which made my trip even lovelier. What a delightful woman she is. God bless you Ms.Jen.

The Manager, Melonie Wallace gives one much to anticipate and is the face of the hotel with her effervescent character and welcoming smile. She makes you feel like family and confirms that Treasure Beach Hotel is indeed a treasure. Thanks a million Ms.Jen, Melonie, Donna, and the rest of the staff for a memorable vacation.

My husband and I, along with our 5-year old son thoroughly enjoyed our second 2-day/2-nights vacation to this beautiful hotel and intend on returning for Christmas for a week. We could not get enough and so we want more. We'll Be Back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treasureb85, Manager at Treasure Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
TEAM TREASURE BEACH will continue to be DELIGHTFUL and CHARMING. We are committed to the Mantra - To Meet and Exceed your Expectations
The TEAM would like to thank you for staying with us and do look forward to welcoming you and your family to our family friendly Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband and I went to Jamaica for my brother's in April. Being a Jamaican from Treasure Beach I couldn't imagine the reception anywhere else. It's been many years since I've been back and I must say I was pleasantly surprised. Our coordinator Melonie Wallace was just a delight. I developed a relationship with Melonie as I was the one who sort out the reception venue for my brother. Many place we did not hear back from and other's prices was just over the top. Right from the get - go Melonie got back to every email and answered every question. Upon arrival for the reception the wait staff was welcoming and presented us with welcome drinks, while we wait to be seated. The reception was small and intimate (family with few close friends). Our table was nicely decorated with a view overlooking the pool, the ocean and the beautiful sunset. The food was Caribbean style (bride & groom choice) It was delicious! Melanie never left the event until it was all said and done. Thank you Melonie and staff for such a wonderful memories.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treasureb85, Manager at Treasure Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
It was indeed a pleasure to have facilitated your wedding party.
Thank you ever so much for your support
We will continue to meet and exceed our guests expectations ... with pride
Thanks also for your kind words, they are most encouraging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savanna La Mar, Jamaica
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have being to TBH approximately ten times, and i won't be stopping anytime soon. The management and staff, the rooms, the scenery, the pool, the food..........omg, this place is awesome. I would recommend to anyone to spend their vacation at TBH.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treasureb85, Manager at Treasure Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thanks for taking time out from your busy schedule to write a review on our Resort
Our TEAM TBH will continue to do what we do best - give a holistic experience
A ten times stay speak volumes. We do look forward to many more stays
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

lf you are looking for a peaceful relaxing break in a tropical paradise location look no further!

Both my husband and I stayed here in February 2013. We arrived from Negril and intended to stay for only 3 nights but stayed instead for 11! lt was a running joke as each day we said we might be going but yet kept booking for more nights. That tells you all you need to know!

The hotel is fantastic. The owner has lovingly created an oasis right on the beach. We stayed in a top floor room which had stunning views of the bay. The massive gardens are like a tropical jungle paradise complete with Doctor Birds! The two pools are huge, clean and just stunning. The breakfasts were delicious! This is a place to kick off your shoes and exhale!

As well as a spectacular location right on the beach, you also have the amazing staff who were all just wonderful. In particular, Lorna is just the best person ever. She is a true asset to the hotel, helpful, informative and courteous. She went out of her way to help us have a truly amazing holiday. Her husband Ranny is a lovely person and we highly recommend him as a driver. He drove us to Nine Mile, (Bob Marley's home), as well as other places and was just brilliant throughout (lf you go mention that Charmaine recommended him).

This is a "treasure" of a place (excuse the pun!). The local area and people are wonderful. We explored the surrounding attractions like Lovers Leap, Little Ochi, Black River, YS Falls, Appleton Rum Factory. All of which were definitely worth going to. We ate at Jack Sprats and Jakes as well as Frenchmans Place all within walking distance and the food was excellent at them all. The area is safe and we walked around all hours no problem. The local people are friendly and if you give out friendliness and courtesy that is what you will get back!

All in all the views, room, food, staff and location makes Treasure Beach Hotel and
Treasure Beach itself just a magical place to stay.

Once you go you will know!

Room Tip: All the top floor rooms have stunning views out to see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treasureb85, Manager at Treasure Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you ever so much for your kind review. We will definitely continue to be "magical" and a TREASURE, where we 'Meet and exceed the expectations of our guests ... with pride'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baarn, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Spacious rooms, clean in sets of four and a beautiful view on the ocean below you. Very courteous waiters and helpers. Two pools and access to the beach with pleasant rollers.
Camera-hunting for the Doctorbird....

Only some twenty guests in a period when you would expect many more

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treasureb85, Manager at Treasure Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you kindly for taking time out to write a review on on Resort
We will continue to protect our environment and feed our birds. They are such beauty to behold especially in the mornings and late evenings. Bird watchers paradise we are
Thanks again and do look forward to having you stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We arrived in Jamaica for March break, 2013 and were delighted with this non-touristy southern coastal town about a two hour drive from Montego Bay Airport. Pete, our driver, can be chartered for airport pick-up or daily tours of the area. Call him at 876-839-3591 or 876-450-4742 for very reliable service. Treasue Beach Hotel was comfortable but not luxurious and we enjoyed a very deserted ocean beach ocean where the water was very warm. We had two swimming pools to ourselves for most of the week. The weather was in the high 20s and we appreciated the air conditioning in our room. Treasure Beach is a rural village and we met many friendly local Jamaicans on our stay. You can eat delicious local fare with emphasis on seafood at many price ranges and we enjoyed them all. Best of all is the lack of crowds as in Negril and Montego Bay. Many travellers commented on how Treasure Beach is the "REAL" Jamaica. Be sure to bring Jamaican money as many local vendors do not accpt US$ or CDN$. Great vacation for reading and relaxing.

Room Tip: I loved having an ocean front room on the second floor and we stayed in room 51 with an unobstructed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treasureb85, Manager at Treasure Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking time our to review our facility. It is really appreciated. You might not have seen guests around at the time of your stay, but you would be surprised to know that guests are actually there relaxing in their rooms.
Thanks again and do look forward to a repeat visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Treasure Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treasure Beach Hotel

Address: Frenchman | South Coast, Treasure Beach, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Elizabeth Parish > Treasure Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Treasure Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Treasure Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, eco-friendly thirty-two room beachfront resort, with lush vegetation and dotted with Sabal palm trees. A bird watching paradise. Situated on an elevation overlooking the Blue Caribbean sea. Wedding, honeymoon and small meeting packages available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your Treasure Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treasure Beach St Elizabeth
Treasure Beach Hotel Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treasure Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.