We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa

Save Saved
You added Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Calabash Bay, Treasure Beach, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Treasure Beach
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Went to Jake's sight unseen. Went on the off season and enjoyed the quiet and seclusion. The room was wonderful, staff was very nice, and the food was great. Yoga class was a great plus. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    76
    19
    15
    14
See reviews for
62
204
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Our family of five stayed in the mussels cottage this may for 5 days/6 nights. We feel like we came home. We also met a lady who has been coming to Jakes for 14 years! She was from north Carolina. Our family is from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and we have always wanted to find a special place to call our 2nd home where there was no winter, and Jakes is our new home. From the moment we arrived, everything was just sweet and quaint. The staff was so friendly and nice to us. We especially loved the gardener "Ovarn" for giving us a wonderful tour of the beautiful surrounding native plants and flowers that made up each garden area. Me being an avid gardener myself, this was one of the highlights of the stay. The cottage itself was so quaint, and the perfect size for our family. We went fishing and cooked our own food. My husband is from Africa, so he cooked up a special fish sauce using the Jamaican bonnet peppers to give it that kick! We ate out on the veranda by the sea every morning and every night. Jack sprat was wonderful, and the pizza was awesome! We enjoyed walking to the local markets to buy food and supplies for cooking when we didn't eat at Jack sprat. My children will never forget Jamaica. Being at jakes was a blessing to us and we will return every year....to our 2nd home!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I cannot even express in words the memories I have from the HOPE HOUSE. This is the 3rd time I have been since 2008. Everyone you come in contact with is very friendly in the community of Treasure Beach and at Jake's establishment. Yvonne was very helpful and patient with me during the reservations process as plans changed a couple times. There are 2 special people ( MONICA AND SHIRLON ) that put the HOPE in the HOPE HOUSE. There are not enough kind words I can say about them!! I feel at home the moment I step out of the car. I had brought along my cousin for his first trip to Jamaica. All I can say is he ready to go back. The time I have had here is PRICELESS!!! I miss my home away from home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

lets start by saying thank you to all Jakes staff from pool staff on up. There is no lack of smiles/hellos and service here. I've seen some reviews, trust me if you treat others like people and not staff(anywhere) you'll never have a problem. we spent 11 days of peace/quiet/great food/people and location. tired of all inclusives? this is the place to go. ya so what, the drive is not great, but whatever, keeps the tourists out! If you're looking for 5 star amenities, then this is not for you. All rooms/cottages are unique, from simple to deluxe. I cant emphasize more that you're going for rest and not party. This is a mostly residential area where EVERYONE says hello as you walk down the street(i've tried doing this at home and it just doesnt work) The chef at Jakes is amazing and although a bit more pricey, worth having dinner here for sure. Jack Spratts next door is good fun as well as many other locals. it was nice to patronize all in the immediate area as they are all just making a living. We didnt have a bad meal or experience anywhere. If you are looking for something different, dont hesitate to come to Jakes. again if you are looking for a big splashy hotel then this isnt for you. Jakes caters to the more seasoned traveller who is sick and tired of the same old, tons of food/booze and acres of land with bells and whistles everywhere. Just go and enjoy the ocean/hospitality of the Henzell family and forget about home. And if you have a group of friends, dont rule out the 3 villas, they are AMAZING and well worth it. Jakes also boasts 2 and 3 bedroom cottages that are beautiful. E mail me any time for more comments.

Room Tip: going with friends? again consider the villas or 2/3 bedroom cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Jake's sits on a gorgeous stretch of rocky beach. it's beautiful, it's quaint, it's lush and the staff is always friendly. And with a seaside cabin, you'll never wake up to a more beautiful view. Hands down, the scenery, the location - it's stunning and when you wake up you can't wait to throw open the wooden shutters. And don't they know it. The staff was always wonderful (and our driver made our trip - where to go, where to eat) - but the management seemed indifferent at best to downright grumpy. And i'm not overly picky - but after five days and five days of saying the toilet was broken and five days of "if it's yellow be mellow" it'd have been nice for management to say - hey, sorry about that, we'll get it fixed. Or even "good morning". Or a smile. Gorgeous location but i don't know if i'd recommend it.

Room Tip: get a seaside room - the view is worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

One of the best weekends of our lives! My wife and I just returned from another weekend at Jakes. It was our second year in a row making our way to this small slice of paradise in Treasure Beach with another couple that introduced us to the spot. We participated in Jakes Offroad Triathlon on Saturday and were treated to an incredible evening under the stars. Turns out Jakes owner, Jason Henzell, had coordinated the first ever boxing event in Treasure Beach between some of the best amateur boxers from Canada and Jamaica. What an experience. You really can't say enough about Jason and the entire Jakes staff. You are treated like family from the moment you arrive. If you are looking for a truly authentic Jamaican experience, this is the place for you. I can't say enough about the food, the hospitality, the vibe, the community, the history and most importantly the people. Can't wait to go back again. A truly incredible experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Quite beaches without the beach vendors, wonderful Calabash Bay Villa with beautiful rooms with ensuite bathrooms, full kitchen. Perfect for four couples. Excellent food at Jake's and Jack Sprat restaurants with many local watering holes in a friendly and safe community. A memorable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa

Address: Calabash Bay, Treasure Beach, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Elizabeth Parish > Treasure Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Treasure Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Chicest shack in the Caribbean" – Vogue Magazine. --- "Welcome to one of Caribbean's funkiest resorts, where reggae and rock stars, doctors and lawyers, writers and artists come to taste the real Jamaica." - Island Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Jetsetter, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jake`s Hotel, Villa And Spa
Jake`s Hotel, Villa Hotel Treasure Beach
Jakes St Elizabeth
Jakes Hotel St Elizabeth
Jakes Jamaica
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa Jamaica/Treasure Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.