We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but wish quality was better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Platino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Platino to your Saves list
Hotel Platino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrella Sadhala Avenue, Front Pucmm, Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Good location, but wish quality was better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The standard room is very small. But the executive rooms are larger. The closet was surprisingly spacious. We were in room 306 which faces the wall of a building next door. Absolutely no view. The rooms on the opposite side of the hotel have a view of the parking lot and the rear garden with gazebo. There wasn't a safe in our room. There was a small sink in the room near the mini fridge which proved useful to us. The mini fridge was fully stocked, but the cheapest item was water ($25 Dominican pesos; it only costs $8 pesos at the supermarket). The bathroom was small; it only has a shower. No bathtub. Their was no hot water. The water only got a bit warm. We were able to hear all the noise made in the hallway, even guest coming in late at night. The AC worked but it made a lot of noise. We were thankful though that the bed was comfortable. Breakfast is not included. At checkout my wife and I commented how the receptionist could improve her attitude.

Room Tip: Rooms 304-319 windows face the a wall of the building next door. The other rooms face the parking lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    7
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
5
12
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Lorenzo, California
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I was going ot give this hotel a second shot due to its low price. I called a week in advance to get the price I was going to have to pay. I clearly stated the amount of people in the room and days. When i arrived to check in the price was significantly different and the receptionists were rude very rude. I told them that I had called in advance to ask just in case something like this happened. To make a long story short I left to stay at the Gran Almirante which was wonderful and so professional. Platino is not where it's at. This is not the place to stay. I have given these people two chances and they seem to fail everytime. Never again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Platino for 2 nights on our visit to Santiago. The rooms were beautiful, air-conditioned, with private bathrooms. The beds were comfortable and the rooms also had cable. Breakfast was incredible. The staff were extremely helpful. This is not a luxury standard hotel, but if you are looking for a truly wonderful dominican experience, check this place out.

Room Tip: The upper level rooms are great quality. Try to stay away from rooms on the lowest level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

The staff are very friendly and help you with everything. The food you will have to buy it. The rooms are small and also the shower.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Lorenzo, California
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

My husband cousin and myself stayed here and we left early due to the rude staff and freezing air conditioning by rude I mean the women were rude the men were okay. The AC was freezing and did not work the bathrooms are tiny and the shower is stand up only and you can barely fit. The rooms are small and the only good thing was that there was a safe deposit box in the room. i would never recommend this place to anyone visiting the next time I will pay the extra cash and go to the Gran Almirante up the street this is the most unprofessional hotel I have ever been too.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Top Contributor
678 reviews 678 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Hotel was very clean. Ac in the room did not work, had to switch room on which staff was very friendly. Hotel location was excellent. Had a wedding to attend and visitors had the same problem with AC in their room. Rate was good, but I would think twice about staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011 via mobile

I stayed at the Platino for almost two weeks, I was very pleased with my stay. I can tell you that every member of the staff I encountered was very hospitable and helpful whenever I needed anything. Everyone at the front desk spoke at least conversational English. If you don't know your way around, ask the concierge to call a taxi for you and voilà, about 5 minutes later you'll have one. The hotel has an in house restaurant, you can walk downstairs and enjoy a meal, or call and order something. You can bill everything you order there to your room number and pay for it all upon checkout. All the rooms have a safe so you can lock your valuables up. A security guard keeps watch in the courtyard all night, so if you go out on the town and get back late, you shouldn't worry to much about being mugged or anything. All and all I loved the hotel and had a great time in Santiago, can't wait to go back!
P.S. I would advise you have at least an elementary knowledge of the Spanish language before going to the DR, do not expect to be catered to in this aspect. Dominicans are mostly like Americans with the mentality that if you're in their country, you should speak their language. Fair enough, right? Hope this helps with your decision making, buen viaje! - Christian

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Platino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Platino

Address: Estrella Sadhala Avenue, Front Pucmm, Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santiago Province > Santiago de los Caballeros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Santiago de los Caballeros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Platino 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a restaurant, hot tub and free Wi-Fi access in all areas, Hotel Platino is located 5 km from Santiago de los Caballeros main square and 1.6 Km from Gran Teatro del Cibao Park. The rooms here will provide you with a flat-screen TV and air conditioning. Featuring a bath or shower, private bathrooms also come with free toiletries and towels. Some rooms have a garden view. Extras include a minibar and cable channels. Other facilities offered include meeting facilities, on-site shops and an ironing service. The property offers free parking. This property is 4.4 Km from San Luis Fort and 2.2 Km from Colon Park. Cibao International Airport is 15 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Platino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platino Hotel Santiago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Platino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.