We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If this is #1 I hate to see the rest.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave Salvador Estrella Sadhala, Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“If this is #1 I hate to see the rest.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

After staying at this hotel for a week, I cant believe its rated number one. The staff could care less about any guest not staying on the 5th floor, most of the property is run down like an old Ramada Inn (carpets in rooms that are dirty and frayed, pool and pool deck peeling paint, beds long past their life and sheets thinner than tissue) and the "Small Construction" that other folks mention is actually holes in walls going up 3 stories on each side of the building (leading to large insects in the hotel) and jackhammers starting early in the morning.

I can see how at one point this may have been a good hotel, but the shape its in and the way its run (rooms left open not constructed on are right over casino or pool) are so loud from the bands in the casino or drunks at the pool that its almost impossible to get a good nights sleep. When brought to the Front Desk managers attention multiple times he did nothing, no offers to move a room nor, remove the people at the pool that were there 2 hours after closing time.

The only caring decent staff in the place are in the restaurant and I feel sorry for what they have to work with.

The location is good close to everything, but our team has decided that should we come back we will just take a cab and not stay at this overpriced, poorly taken care of dump.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here pay for the 5th floor and eat off site at the multitude of restaurants behi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    44
    19
    9
    6
See reviews for
23
19
8
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed for one night at this hotel but for next time I will prefer the Hodelpa Garden Court, newest and better value.
The Gran Almirante has a great location but it is too old and worn out, plus no hot water in my shower.
I used the Gym and it was a bit too old too but functional, breakfast was ok with a great veriety.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our family stayed two nights on the Club Imperial (Fifth Floor) and we loved it. Everyone we spoke with at the hotel gave amazing personal service. A great convenience is breakfast served on the same floor, so you don't have to get in the elevator and go downstairs. The room was modern, clean and comfortable. The bathroom had all the conveniences and plenty of towels in each size (facial, hand and body). You get a free 30-minute full body massage with the Club Imperial stay and it was fabulous. The only downside is the size of the room-- it was a little small for two double beds. The hotel was doing some construction when we were there, so it may be noisy during the day for a couple of hours--no big deal for us. We will definitely stay at this hotel again and try the other Hodelpa hotels when we return to DR. Also, please note that this hotel is not downtown, but there is usually a taxi waiting outside the lobby that can take you (about 10min ride in no traffic; 200 DR Pesos).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I took the advice of previous reviewers, so I can only comment on the fifth floor (Club Imperial). It's not that much more and seems more than worth it. Actually, if you take advantage of the included freebies, it's probably a better value.

I can honestly say that I have never had anything less than a positive experience with every staff member. Obviously, some are better than others, but not a single negative experience. I asked one of the 5th floor concierges to investigate an airplane ride (if there was a flight school or something similar at the airport) and she had the information within 30 minutes. (Yes, you can take a Cessna 172 flight to where ever you want - pay by the hour.)

The 5th floor rooms are immaculate. Housekeeping and room service are flawless.

The pool is great, being above the hotel, with a convenient bar. The gym is as good as you can expect. (Free weights are a little lacking.)

There's a Friday's about 50 yards away. It can be convenient.

There's always taxis out front. Just take the guy's card and call ahead a few minutes, and he'll pick you up later.

Call a day ahead to ensure the airport shuttle. Language differences can be a little tricky here, but stick with it.

I've noticed a lot of airline crews stay here, so that's another reason I assume you can't do better.

Room Tip: Go with the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Excellent hotel for business or pleasure.
Hotel staff is super friendly and attentive to your every need.
Hotel Rests. and Room service are very, very good... good prices for a hotel.
Comfortable beds and good linens. Comfort Room offers massage chairs to relax.
Casino downstairs gives you something else to do at nights... safe atmosphere.
Close to everything in Santiago, DR.
Don't expect roomy elevators, max cap is 6-8pp.
There are renovating some areas, but in NO way they bother you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice hotel to stay. The Lobby has marble floors, ample space. Pool area is very nice. Rooms are below average, I could feel the dust on the air. It looks dated.
I would rate this hotel as a nice 3 1/2 Stars. The problem is , I was charged as a 5 stars hotel.

Overall, get a good price, and this is a very good business hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I have stayed at Hodelpa Gran Almirante a couple times in the past. The service was great and accommodation was great. The hotel is at North American standards. Their is a nice roof top pool, fitness center and restaurant. The location is fairly close to nightlife and dining. The price was good. Easily the best option as far as hotels go in Santiago DR

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino

Address: Ave Salvador Estrella Sadhala, Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santiago Province > Santiago de los Caballeros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Santiago de los Caballeros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel Santiago
Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel And Casino
Gran Almirante

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.