We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Santiago” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino

Save Saved
You added Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave Salvador Estrella Sadhala, Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Santiago”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is definitely overpriced compared to others in the Dominican Republic but is the only choice in Santiago for a clean, quiet place to stay. The rooms are spacious but nothing special. Breakfast was not included in our sky high rate so we did not eat in the hotel. One plus: the hotel does have a beautiful swimming pool which is situated outside on a terrace with great views of the surrounding area. While in town, be sure to eat at Il Pasticcio 5 minutes by taxi. It is surely the best restaurant in Santiago: delicious food at reasonable prices. In fact, it may be the best restaurant in the country! It certainly is our favorite and we have been doing a lot of traveling to the Dominican Republic this past year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    36
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
18
14
6
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hackensack, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hotel es excellent. The staff is so friendly. The food is excellent: authentic dominican and international food and the service in the restaurants is great. Fantastic in every way----location, comfort, service. Wonderful location for business and vacation travel. Looking forward to returning in the spring to my most favorite city in the world----and to my most favorite hotel.

Dr. N. J.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hotel is way overpriced for what you get. I travel a lot inside the Dominican Republic and most of the so called luxury hotels are pretentious. The general furnishments and layout are impressive but that is about all. The great majority of guests are people who are not paying for their rooms but rather airline, government, or NGO employees. Not worth the exorbinant price for anybody who is paying their own bill. They have a casino that would be fringe quality at best in las vegas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Our delegation stayed at Gran Almirante Hotel in March 2011 and 2012, with plans to stay again in March 2013. The foundation, Friends of Lead Free Children.org has been traveling to the DR since 1993 on annual Humanitarian Missions. The majority of our delegates are doctors who donate their valuable time ( NYC/NJ surgeons, dentists and pediatricians) to travel to the DR once a week in March each year to give free health services to poor families. To respect the scarifies these medical professionals are making, we carefully screen the hotels to be certain they offer the highest standards to our delegation, we owe this to them. The NYC doctors delegation have stayed at only the finest 4-5 star hotels in Santo Domingo: Jaragua, Hilton Santo Domingo, Melia Santo Domingo, InterContinental V Centenario, and Hotel Santo Domingo.
In 2011, I traveled to Santiago to screen for the best hotel for our delegation, which was going to the northern region that year for the first time of our Humanitarian Missions. The selection of the Gran Almirante for our 50 doctors group was an easy choice. The hotel was ideally located for our group, about 15 min from the airport, and was a true 4-5 star hotel offering the same high quality facilities and service our doctor delegation was accustomed to and would expect. The Gran Almirante business center was excellent and in full use by our delegates, as well as the rooms being clean and maintained daily. The gym and pool were updated and the view from the pool was a picture taking experience.
The hotel offers a bountiful breakfast, which features a wide variety of fresh selections in a casual atmosphere to start the day off. The service was excellent and it was obvious the hotel management understood the needs of their guests and provided the service expected of a 5 star hotel, any and all complains were promptly addressed by management. Our delegation returned in March 2012, and the
Gran Almirante had maintained their high standards and service our delegation had experienced the previous year. This was important for our foundation due that the majority of our Dominican American doctors were born and raised in the Santiago region and still had family and friends living there, whom they invited to meet at the Gran Almirante for drinks and dining. Our foundation wanted all our guests to have a positive experience for the entire trip, especially with their family and friends reunions. The feedback for our doctors was so positive that they want us to return the entire Humanitarian Delegation ( 55 plus) again to the Gran Almirante in March 2013.

Room Tip: There is a casino connected to the hotel, therefore I recommend requesting a room on the other side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Attendend a wedding in Santiago, stayed for the weekend. Everything from the moment we arrived to the time we left, was excellent to say the least. The place to stay is on the fifth floor, it's worth the extra money.The staff is attentive and accomadating. The view from the breakfast area is incrediable, almost makes you want to stay longer.The pool area is super and Freddy the bartended will help you relax. This place is must for anyone traveling to Santiago.PS ask for Jonathan Figueroa at the front desk,he was very helpful in explaining the hotel rooms and anemities. Great Job Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel. Looking forward to visiting soon!!!

Room Tip: Stay on the fifth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I frequently visit Santiago, DR and stay at the Hodelpa Grand Almirante. The hotel is a great place to stay, convenentially located and I find the accomodations to be very good. I want to especially recognize the entire staff on the 5th concierge floor and Jesus Alberto Almonte for their great service and attention to detail. They often go out of their way to ensure the guests have a good experience.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My name is Orlando V. The Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino is the ONLY place to stay if you are going to Santiago. I have been there on 2 other occations and it has been a great experience. The staff really goes out of their way to make you feel special. The rooms are spacious and clean. I go to Santiago at least once a year on business (Benito Mendoza Baseball League) and its the only place I will stay. The casino at night is lively and I won a couple of pesos. Everyone from the front desk to the restaurant staff to the house keeping staff are friendly and helpful. My stay there is awesome.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino

Address: Ave Salvador Estrella Sadhala, Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santiago Province > Santiago de los Caballeros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Santiago de los Caballeros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel And Casino
Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel Santiago
Gran Almirante

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.