We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good for Santiagos standards” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aloha Sol Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Aloha Sol Hotel to your Saves list
Aloha Sol Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle del Sol 150, Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pretty good for Santiagos standards”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Was looking for an inexpensive place to stay in Santiago and as you can read from most reviews this place can be a bit loud at night but bearable.
Its around $75 a night US, in the center of the city.
Rooms are clean, AC works well, Cable included, mini bar for an extra fee.
Overall not too bad

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
8
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SANTO DOMINGO
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

I have been going this hotel forbussines purposes since it opened.
It is not a 5 stars hotel, but location is great and it has a lot of thing around at walking distance, also a parking lot with security.

Santiago city lacks of hotels rooms and this one has growed. Normally i stayed at the main building, there rooms are not so big but ik of overnigth stay. They built a new building and there also a casino and a bar that closes nearby 5 at morning. The noise gets in your room. Be aware to be placed in a room in main building. Very dissapointed with my last stay but i will give them an opportunity and will post.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

It is a nice hotel. Reasonable price and I got upgraded to better room for cheaper price. It is clean, safe, have a casino on ground floor, restaurant downstairs that opens until 11pm. The room has a hair dryer, fridge, TV but no window. No free water but has a bucket for you to get free ice and water downstairs. It is good for the money, convenient location downtown.
I was there for business and my supplier always bring all his customers there.
The internet was down a few times during my 2 nights stay so that is a downside.
I would stay there again. It is good for money and business meeting and has everything I need.There was only one staff at reception can speak English but that is good enough for me.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel almost yearly, once per year. I was just there March 30th - April 3rd, 2012. I have to say that once again I was very pleased with the quality of my room and the service. The cleaning service came daily like clockwork and always did a great job. The shower pressure and amount of hot water was exceptional. Actually, this surprised me as I don't remember the shower being this good. The breakfast was always filling and had a good variety of fruit and traditional Dominican breakfast items. I had a room with two queen beds in it and I paid $1,999 Dominican Pesos per night or a little more than $51.00 US per night. I look forward to my next stay. My only regret is that I didn't stay longer.

Room Tip: If you are traveling and staying alone the room for $1,999 Dominican pesos is perfect. I beleive it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

I was surprised at the great service and nice room. I had reserved (via phone, as the website didn't work for me) an executive room with double bed, but it was really small and had no desk or table for working, so they moved me to a room with a king-sized bed which was much more roomy. Amazingly quiet (it was away from the street but facing the street wouldn't have been a problem since everything closes downtown at 7 pm) even near the elevator. Pretty clean, but the bedding was kind of flimsy and the sheets didn't stay tucked in. Room was well lit, but no natural light. Breakfast pretty good - buffet with eggs, fruit, breads, cheese, ham, mangu, etc.

Wifi from the room was great. Air conditioning worked very well. Very attentive, friendly staff.

Location ok, although downtown is not that exciting. One can at least walk to a good grocery/book/etc store (la Sirena) and to the Pez Dorado restaurant. Also several restaurants near the monument, but I didn't feel comfortable walking there alone at night.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Here's the good part:
The staff is friendly and helpful.
The breakfast buffet includes serve-yourself hot coffee and milk, sparing guests the (in my experience) all to frequent torture of having to try to wave down a waiter to get more coffee.
The hotel was clean.
The location is good.

Having said that, I have to say now that this was one of the worst hotel stays I have had in a while. Why? COULDN"T SLEEP!!! And not only me- I was with a work-related group of about 20 people and many people complained of difficulty sleeping d/t the noise- noise from the street, and noise from the hallway, and noise from other rooms, and from the ice bin, whatever. After two almost sleepless nights, another person told me that she got extra sheets and put them all on top of her and turned the air conditioner on the lowest possible setting so it would never cut off. I tried it, and slept better. Cold, but better than noise.Other than that, well, I missed the amenities that it doesn't have: no in room coffee, no gym, no pool, nada. But- as I said, good location and nice staff, so I am giving a middle rating.There was free wifi, but it cut off at least once a day.

Room Tip: Maybe a higher floor would have less street noise- I was on the second floor. IDK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Well, right off the bat,I would say that the staff at Aloha Sol Hotel and Casino,stand alone in their class..Simply outstanding! Professionalism at its best 10+ Stars. I was given a big spacious room with not just one but two beds that was extremely clean at all times..Aloha Sol Hotel and Casino is located in the heart of town in Santiago with all the shopping you want to do at walking distances from the hotel...Best price Hotel and service in Santiago,Dominican Republic for sure..I would stay there again without even thinking about it...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloha Sol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Sol Hotel

Address: Calle del Sol 150, Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santiago Province > Santiago de los Caballeros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Santiago de los Caballeros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloha Sol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aloha Sol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Hotel Santiago
Santiago Sol Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloha Sol Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.