We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pedro Restaurant

Pedro Restaurant
Calle Salome Urena (6) #18 (frente a La Campagna) | Los Jardines Metropolitanos, Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic
+1 809-582-2144
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Traditional and avant-garde Spanish and Mediterranean cuisine in a cozy atmosphere. Private room for meetings and events. Open terrace.
Aventura, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Well im not going to make journal about this nice restaurant in santiago but i got to tell you if you looking for a nice restaurant to have a nice evening with a special someone if you dont go there your loss because the place is nice staff is good and the food awww mouth watering. What are you waiting for go and take my word for it you can not go wrong with it. I have to thank everybody that post before me that make me make that awsome choice thank you guys

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    38
    5
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I ate here on 9/17/13. I was in Santiago on business and we decided to go to Pedro's based on the tripadvisor reviews. Great advice all around, the food here was fantastic and such a nice looking restaurant, the pictures don't do it justice. There was some sort of event going on the night we went, but I was fine with that because they had live music for it!

The service here is really nice, much more like what we're used in the US (where the waiter comes and checks on you a few times during the meal) but the prices are more expensive than what you would find in most Santiago restaurants. For three people we spent about USD$170 but that included two bottles of wine and dessert.

Overall, totally worth checking out. Next time I'm in town, I'll be going back for sure.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroRestaurant, Owner at Pedro Restaurant, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, we really appreciate the fact that you enjoyed our meals and service and hope to see you back soon.
Please allow me to explain regarding your comment of our restaurant being more expensive than others in Santiago. Your meals consisted of two of the most expensive dishes in our menu, Flank steak and Tenderloin steak from "Prime Angus US beef", cuts that, as far as I know, we are the only restaurant in Santiago that offers them. This is the reason, most likely, for the cost difference you noted.
Thanks again and hope to see you soon. It was a pleasure serving you.
Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“One of the best options currently in Santiago”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

It is a Spanish/seafood concentrated menu, but actually has a bit of everything.
The food is very good. The salmon ceviche and the octopus as appetisers are great. The paella and the red snapper in tequila sauce were excellent as main courses.
Services is average, but the owner is checking up on all tables.
Parking is limited and the atmosphere is not excellent, but fairly good.
Prices are very good also for the portions.
Needs to improve the tuna tartar and the side dishes.
Currently I would rate the food here as the best in Santiago, together with Noah. Would recommend this restaurants.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroRestaurant, Owner at Pedro Restaurant, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, we are very glad you've enjoyed our meals.
Since we are constantly striving in order to provide a first class service and meals I would really appreciate if you could comment about what were the issues that made you give us an average rating in our service and your recommendations regarding the Tuna Tartar and the side dishes.
Thanks again and hope to see you back soon.
Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I travel for work - this is one of the best meals I have had in months. We stumbled onto the restaurant by accident; and glad we did. I had the Red Snapper and it was wonderful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wow. !!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled accross this gem and wished we found it to days earlier. The steak with 3 pepper sauce is phenomenal. The steak was cooked to perfection and cut with a fork and the sauce was perfectly balanced so that you could taste everything and nothing overpowered. The potato pancakes that accompanied them were the perfect balance and great to sop up the rest of the sauce. We are coming back tomorrow for the paella which ia supposed to be even better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pedro Restaurant also viewed

Santiago de los Caballeros, Santiago Province
Santiago de los Caballeros, Santiago Province
 
Santiago de los Caballeros, Santiago Province
Santiago de los Caballeros, Santiago Province
 

Been to Pedro Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pedro Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.