We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best options currently in Santiago” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pedro Restaurant

Pedro Restaurant
Calle Salome Urena (6) #18 (frente a La Campagna) | Los Jardines Metropolitanos, Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic
+1 809-582-2144
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Traditional and avant-garde Spanish and Mediterranean cuisine in a cozy atmosphere. Private room for meetings and events. Open terrace.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“One of the best options currently in Santiago”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

It is a Spanish/seafood concentrated menu, but actually has a bit of everything.
The food is very good. The salmon ceviche and the octopus as appetisers are great. The paella and the red snapper in tequila sauce were excellent as main courses.
Services is average, but the owner is checking up on all tables.
Parking is limited and the atmosphere is not excellent, but fairly good.
Prices are very good also for the portions.
Needs to improve the tuna tartar and the side dishes.
Currently I would rate the food here as the best in Santiago, together with Noah. Would recommend this restaurants.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroRestaurant, Owner at Pedro Restaurant, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, we are very glad you've enjoyed our meals.
Since we are constantly striving in order to provide a first class service and meals I would really appreciate if you could comment about what were the issues that made you give us an average rating in our service and your recommendations regarding the Tuna Tartar and the side dishes.
Thanks again and hope to see you back soon.
Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    11
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I travel for work - this is one of the best meals I have had in months. We stumbled onto the restaurant by accident; and glad we did. I had the Red Snapper and it was wonderful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow. !!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stumbled accross this gem and wished we found it to days earlier. The steak with 3 pepper sauce is phenomenal. The steak was cooked to perfection and cut with a fork and the sauce was perfectly balanced so that you could taste everything and nothing overpowered. The potato pancakes that accompanied them were the perfect balance and great to sop up the rest of the sauce. We are coming back tomorrow for the paella which ia supposed to be even better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great quality food at great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This place is a gem in a country where, to my opinion, there's little appreciation for great quality food accompanied with a superb culinary experience. The ambience is very nice with great music and great decor. I came here with a friend and we started the meal with a glass of 'jerez' each to go with a tapa of 'escargot' and another one of 'calamari'. We then moved to the main entre with a glass of 'sangria' each and had 'cochinillo' and 'pulpo a la gallega.' The food and the service were fantastic. For appetizer, we had a delicious 'crema catalana'. I paid USD$89 for this authentic spanish meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroRestaurant, Owner at Pedro Restaurant, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed our food and the restaurant in general.
I have to agree with your opinion that in the country there is no much appreciation for good quality food. We strive to make a difference.
Thanks again and we hope to see you back.
Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't believe I've missed it for so long”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I've been traveling to the DR for the last 20 years, but seldom visited Santiago. On my last trip I went there and was invited to have dinner at Pedro's restaurant. It was my first time there and I have to say it was my best meal ever in the DR. It was delicious and the place is nicely decorated. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pedro Restaurant also viewed

Santiago de los Caballeros, Santiago Province
Santiago de los Caballeros, Santiago Province
 
Santiago de los Caballeros, Santiago Province
Santiago de los Caballeros, Santiago Province
 

Been to Pedro Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pedro Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.