We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Meals” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Calibishie Lodges

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Calibishie Lodges to your Saves list
Calibishie Lodges
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Road, Calibishie 5000, Dominica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Calibishie
Saint George Parish, Grenada
1 review
“Memorable Meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

Peter, Lystra, Laura, and Debra welcomed us for the week and were very welcoming and attentive. The accommodations were adequate, the view great, but the service was exceptional. We were made to feel at home there. What stood out were the dinners each night at the Bamboo restaurant on site. Each night was a culinary masterpiece and tastebud explosion, and the food kept coming until we could not eat anymore! If you want to enjoy the nature isle (and there was much to enjoy in the area) Peter and Lystra will take good care of you. Thanks!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    58
    12
    10
    8
See reviews for
24
129
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Lucia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

I cannot say enough about owners Peter and Lystra (and chef Laura and server Debra) for making our stay so enjoyable. They hosted a retreat for Caribbean Lutheran missionaries, which included 5 families from neighbouring islands. The rooms were clean and had ample space. The kitchenette was well supplied for up to 4 people.The view from the balcony was stunning and it is only a short walk into Calibishie, which has restaurants, markets and a little art gallery where we purchased 2 beautiful paintings from a talented young artist named Chase.
We ate as a group for dinner in the restaurant each evening (10 adults and 15 children) and the service was prompt and the food was delicious and plentiful. We had a different menu every night and everyone walked away stuffed. They did an excellent job of providing a wide variety of food so that even the pickiest children could find something they liked and they even knew the names of our children by the end of the week. Definitely felt like a home away from home.
The pool could have used a good cleaning, but besides that, the rest of our stay was fantastic. Thanks again for everything!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015 via mobile

What an excellent place to spend your vacation in Dominica.

The Calibishie area is a small town, with many amenities for travelers including an ATM, bank, restaurants, bars, and markets. But close enough to the airport and Portsmouth by road.

The property sits on a cliff overlooking the ocean and mountains. You couldn't ask for a better view. It has a full service restaurant and bar, but also close enough to walk into town.

The room is actually an apartment with a separate living area, and balcony, plus mini kitchen.

The proprietors of the property are awesome. They have the travelers best interest in mind. As soon as we arrived, Peter and Lystria served us a nice cocktail and had everything ready for an easy check in. They were extremely helpful and knowledgeable of the area. They were able to help us plan our excursions and helped us figure out what to do.

The restaurant was great. We ate all breakfasts there and had two dinners. The food choices vary from creole to pizza, along with a smart wine list. We ordered fresh creole fish each of our dinners and everything was perfect!

I can't remember the last time I've had a more pleasant stay at a hotel. Thank you Peter and Lystria for your kind hospitality.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014 via mobile

Worst airline ever, Liat cancelled flight so resorted to nearby well-rated hotel. Clearly not opened yet but they said they were and accommodated us. Pool was filthy, rooms were buggy, dirty, and had massive not-friendly-looking spiders. No A/C but had fans and screens over window. Plumbing in bathroom didn't work well. Breakfast and lunch not available, however found food short walk down road.
Balcony was nice and had decent view.
Nearby roosters made "full night" sleep impossible, woke up at 4am.
Beware of diver Danny at red rock. He sleeps in road in middle of the night too so be careful driving if you do.
Staff was friendly however, helped call taxi to airport next morning.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calibishie-lodges, Owner at Calibishie Lodges, responded to this review, December 2, 2014
Firstly, let us take this opportunity to thank all of you who take the time to provide feedback on your stay at our establishments. We appreciate your candid opinions and use it as a tool to help us to improve our services.

Just recently, there has been some issues commented upon that require from us a response

1. The matter of safety on the island and indeed at our location.

We and indeed our guests have experienced incidents –one such incident occurred at Dominica’s Sea View Apartments – NOT at CALIBISHIE LODGES HOTEL. The Apartments are self-catering and do not benefit from hotel services. There are security systems in place some of which rely on the guest taking necessary precautions.

It is important to acknowledge that this unfortunate incident of the break-in was one of a small number of incidents which occurred in the village in 2013 which have since ceased. There have been no further incidents since that time and we are not aware of any similar incidents prior to that time.

CALIBISHIE LODGES HOTEL has NOT suffered any incidence regarding the safety of guests and there is the added advantage of full Hotel services, a 24 hour front desk and night security patrols on those premises.

2. The issue of noise.
As to the issue of noise, there have been, and occasionally are, parties in the village which on a few occasions have been loud - sufficient to warrant concern. However we continue to be vigilant and work with the local police to monitor and contain any voluminous noise.

3. General upkeep.
We are slowly improving and updating our infrastructure with the help of the local public utilities. This will take time, and in the meanwhile during our low season some services will be affected. We appreciate your continuing patronage as we endeavour to continue to provide a safe, clean and rustic environment that work within the eco abundance of nature.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in one of the lodges for one night as our primary hotel had no rooms available. All we can say is thank goodness it was only for one night! As soon as we arrived we got an air of a dying hotel, everything was drab and tired. The room was extremely hot, smelly and stuffy with no air conditioning and only a small ceiling fan that looked like it would fall off at any moment. I found it hard to sleep due to the extreme heat with the window providing only noise from the road outside and no breeze.

The breakfast was a joke. Very very poor food quality and overly priced. We left as soon as breakfast was over.

I believe that this place was once the place to stay in Calibishie, unfortunately that seems to be a distant memory for this place.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Last October we spent five days in this establishment. Those were the worst five days of our lives. This is not a joke. We are lucky to be alive.

You can find many positive reviews about this place throughout the internet. On their homepage the owners even speak about several awards. But when you look a little closer, you will soon realise that the positive reviews all speak about “Chris and Linda”, the former owners. But the place is currently owned by Peter Dickinson and his wife Lystra. And we really cannot say anything positive about these people.

“Calibishie Lodes” offers two possiblities of accomodation: small lodges down in the village of Calibishie and the so-called sea-view apartments, which lie isolated on a steep hill outside the village. We had rent one of the sea-view apartments, which turned out be a terrible mistake. When we arrived, we could see “camera surveillance” signs everywhere. Besides there was a leaflet in our apartment telling us that there was a night security patrolling the site after 8 pm. So we assumed that there was no reason to be worried about safety in this place. The first night everything was ok, but after the second night, we had the shock of our lives. When we woke up, we realised that somebody had broken into our apartment while we were sleeping! We hadn’t heard anything, because the door between living room and sleeping room had been closed. It was certainly our luck that we didn’t hear the burglars. We don’t even want to imagine what might have happened if we had disturbed them while they were searching through our stuff. I am still trembling while I am writing this. It was such a shock to wake up in the morning and to realise that somebody just could have killed you.

So, luckily we were not injured, but our camera with over 500 photos, watch, binoculars and a lot of money in cash was stolen.

We went down to reception in order to inform Peter Dickinson. He did not seem to be surprised at all. (Later the police told us that there were burglaries in Calibhie almost every week). When we asked him about the camera surveillance and the night security, he informed us that the camaras had been broken for a long time and that the night security only took care of the lodges down in the village, but not of the apartments on the hill. Once more we were shocked! We said that we did not feel safe anymore in the apartment. Now imagine what Peter replied!? “Well, we could move you down to the lodges, but this is gonna cost you extra money.” What??? We had just been robbed and maybe almost killed and the only thing this guy thinks about is making money??? We will NEVER forget this!

Then he called the police. He didn’t even want to come to the apartment with us. But then he probably realised that we were completely shocked and speechless due to his behaviour. So he went with us to the apartment and talked to the police. Besides he said we could have “one of the better rooms downstairs” without having to pay extra.

“One of the better rooms donwstairs” was a small, smelly, poorly equipped appartment with a leaking toilet.

To be honest, we should have left and have looked for accomadation somewhere else. But as we were shocked and had lost a lot of money, we decided to stay there. According to Peter there would at least be night guard for the following nights. And yes, there was one. But he was not a big help, as he spent most of the time in the street talking to his buddies. And he did not even close the gate, so everyboby could have come in.

By the way, during the five days we spent at Calibishie Lodges, there were no other guests around – we were the only ones.

When we left, Peter told us he would check with his insurance brokers if any of our stuff could be replaced. He was probably worried about a bad reputation and pretended to be helpful in the end. One week later we received an e-mail telling us that only a very small amount of money could be replaced. We thought “ok, better than nothing” . But guess what, now, six months later, we still haven’t received this money.

It is really incredible! We should have written this review a lot earlier in order to warn people.

One last thing: On our first evening we had dinner at Bamboo Restaurant, which belongs to Calibishie Lodges. As it was low season, we were told that only a limited choice was available. Of course only the most expensive dishes were available and the portions were tiny.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed here for 2 weeks and it was a privilege to be able to stay in the centre of this lovely village close to friendly locals who always had time to chat to us. We also loved sitting on the balcony in the evening watching the bats come out of our roof and fly off. The lodge we stayed in was clean and had a good view of the Altlantic in the distance but was quite basic in terms of amenities and rather tired. The 'Queen' bed was only a standard double bed by English standards which barely fit in the very small bedroom and there were few things in the cupboard to use for cooking though it was possible to do very simple meals. There was no kettle and only a portable 2-ring stove. The swimming pool was too small to actually swim in and the garden could certainly have been improved. It was also very noisy at weekends being just opposite a nightclub which had loud music until the early hours of the morning. We ate there only once, which was enough, then found some lovely places in Calibishie. I would love to return to this delightful village but would probably stay at either Poz's which had a good atmosphere or The Jacoway Inn which was nice and quiet.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Calibishie Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calibishie Lodges

Address: Main Road, Calibishie 5000, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint Andrew Parish > Calibishie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Calibishie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Calibishie Lodges 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calibishie Lodges Hotel is a retreat with typical Caribbean charm, nestled in a friendly village on the North-East of Dominica,the most beautiful area of Dominica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Calibishie Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calibishie Hotel Calibishie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calibishie Lodges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.