We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun location on Red Rocks Beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Escape Beach Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Escape Beach Bar & Grill
Red Rock Haven | Pointe Baptiste, Calibishie, Dominica
+1 767-275-7998
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $4 - $28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Sorry but our beach bar is currently closed.
Brooklyn, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun location on Red Rocks Beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stopped here right after we flew in. They were playing reggae and the little palm-thatched roofs of the beach tables were perfect for winding down and soaking up Dominica's relaxed vibe. We watched the sunset from the red-tinged sandy beach and went for a swim in the last rays. I got a delicious rum punch here, but found that it was only average after I tried far better, cheaper ones elsewhere on the island. The real issue was the food. My boyfriend's extremely overpriced fish and chips arrived right away, but my conch never came in the full two hours we were there-- I kept going back to the bar to check if it was on its way, and each time the waitress would say, "Oh yes, I forgot to put in your order, let me do it now," but apparently she didn't until we were about to leave, so I told her to forget it. It was a good introduction to how extremely laid back this island is.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    47
    5
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We returned to Dominica to become PADI certified, do some diving and hiking, and to visit familiar faces and places. Escape Beach Bar is one of our favorite spots and is owned and run by a really lovely family with great staff (Hello, Elaine!).On this visit we had the Mahi fish tacos, both deep fried and grilled, for three days in a row. Yes, we loved them that much. We threw back plenty of rum punch and enjoyed a couple of other special drinks. We have spent an afternoon hanging out on the beach here, snorkeled out over the lively reef, awed at the dramatic red rocks and surf as the sun goes down, rum punch in hand. We enjoyed really nice dinners with our toes in the sand, and nestled into big chairs in front of the evening bonfire. We talk about this place often together with big smiles, and our only regret is that we have yet to stay in one of Stacy and Rita's cottages at Red Rock Haven. We love this place, the food, the peaceful vibe. Escape Beach Bar is a little slice of paradise.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location, good service, but limited menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a beautiful location with tables in the sand on the beach and a great evening bonfire, The staff provided great service. Some of the food was very good (the calallo soup was excellent) but some really was not (cheeseburger burned black). Also it would be great if there was a bit more variety on the menu, as we had hoped for more options to try local specialties.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Escape Bar and Grill is a wonderful place to chill, eat and swim.

It is located at a nice beach framed by red rocks settled in a coconut palm tree hamlock giving shade during day and a wonderful surrounding in the evening. The service is very kind and the kitchen combines dominican cooking with mexican food in a delcious way. Not to forget the cocktails, which give a real Carribean feeling. Maybe the best place to eat in Calibishie, Dominica.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A little bit of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The setting is amazing, it's almost out of a movie. Don't miss it. The food is good and the staff is friendly.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Escape Beach Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Calibishie, Saint Andrew Parish
Marigot, Saint Andrew Parish
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Escape Beach Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.