We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgetable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Rock Haven

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calibishie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Rock Haven
Save
You added Red Rock Haven to your Saves list
Pointe Baptiste, Calibishie 20000, Dominica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Calibishie B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unforgetable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed at the Ocean View Villa at Red Rock for 10 days and I only wish we could have stayed longer! My husband and I decided to be adventurous and visit Dominica as we had been dreaming of it for the last 2 years. It was really adventurous for us as we have a toddler! We took the plunge, booked flights and arrived at the most gorgeous Villa we have seen. Websites are great but you never know what you are really going to get. This place is the exception, it is better than the pictures and reviews. Our baby loved it from the minute she arrived. We were spoilt for choice, play on the beach, play in the private pool or just run around the large house and gardens. I felt so safe and comfortable that my husband went off on hikes while we stayed at the Villa. Elaine the housekeeper spoilt my baby with attention and of course made sure the Villa was immaculate. Jen-Jen the cook became a Grandma figure and my daughter loved her. It was like being at home! The house is open which makes it bearable in the heat and we felt safe leaving our doors constantly open. We did have to close one door on the rare occasion as the breeze blew into the open plan kitchen (I didn't complain, I wasn't cooking). Jen-Jen cooks the most delicious shrimp curry! The fire by the pool is romantic at night and we took advantage of it. We were lucky enough to see the full moon which lit the ocean up. The owners were wonderful and very accommodating to our needs. We were rather needy in the beginning as our luggage did not arrive for a few days and we needed baby things. We were lucky that the owners have a baby and supplied us with everything we needed and were on hand at all times. We were really pleased we took the plunge and choose Dominica as our vacation destination. We got to see some amazing sites that you simply cant describe accurately. The people were wonderful, very helpful and friendly. We made friends with Danny a local Rasta who went diving for Lobsters for us and who takes tour groups to the Red Rocks. At first glance you can be hesitant when greeting some of the people, but when you do, you get the biggest and friendliest smile back. They remember your name and greet you every time they see you. A vacation we will never forget and one we will be talking about for a very long time!

Room Tip: Book the Ocean View Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
20
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Let me begin with what some may consider the negative. As one of the last review states, some of the appliances are "tired". Well, that is probably accurate. Maybe a light switch might not work, or some of the pool tile has come loose, but lets be fair...this is and OPEN AIR house in the jungle canopy, overlooking a beach, in the tropics. That being said, it took me about 20 minutes to overlook those shortcomings. The villa has a huge flat screen TV, high speed wireless, Apple TV, and an awesome sound system. Take your iPad/iPhone and your house time will only be that much more enjoyable. The entrance to the house is through a quaint neighborhood just east of Calibishie. There is a gated entrance, but to be honest, we left the gate open most of the time, and the house open all of the time, and never once was concerned about someone stealing something. Perhaps that was bold on our part, but frankly, you will quickly find that you are really part of their neighborhod! There are, however, safes in each room for your use. Calibishie is genuinely one of the friendliest places I have ever been. Everyone is willing to answer questions and to guide you in your chosen direction. Just be willing to engage them in conversation, and you will quickly understand what I mean. The owners of the house live nearby and are easily accessible if you want them for anything. They were also helpful in pre-trip planning. Elaine, the daily house keeper,is a charm. She will come when you want her to. It's all about you. We didn't have Jenn cook for us, but even the neighbors told us what a great cook she is. There is a nereby market, and when you hear the conch shell blow, that means the fishermen are back, and you can purchase the daily catch off the back of their truck. Ridiculously inexpensive. Back to the villa. It is really a cool setup. The center of the house has the kitchen and living area. On each side is a bedroom with a king size bed, and each with a large private bath. There are fold out beds available as well. The back opens onto the stone deck with the infinity pool. From anywhere in the house..except the bathrooms...you look out over the canopy and see the ocean. The walk to your beach is about 30 seconds. Good swimming and pretty decent snorkeling right in front of you. Another path takes you through a neighbor's gardens to an enchanting black sand beach. From there, you are only steps from the Red Rocks. Check out the Red Rocks, and look for Danny, the resident rastaman. He knows everything about the area and the sea. He will get you coconuts (jellies) or lobster or even land crabs, a West Indies delicacy. All things considered, I can't imagine a bettter place to stay on the island. You should be aware that many of the tourist attractions, the many waterfalls and hikes, are on the southern end of the island. Even though the island is only 30 miles long, it is a 2 hour drive no matter how you slice it. But frankly, after 2 or 3 days, we abandoned our well planned excursions simply because there was so much fun stuff to do around the house and the neighborhood. You'll learn that quickly. Dominica is not for everyone. But if you are even considering it, you are probably a seasoned traveler, and this is a seasoned traveler's dream. Total privacy if you want it...or surrounded by your new friends if you so choose. Don't be shy, enjoy the house, the village, the neighborhood, the island and the people. We have already talked to the owners about a return next year. Oh yea..bring binoculars..watching the parrots and hummingbirds around the house was just plain cool. Safe travels!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We have just returned from a week at Red Rock Haven. Overall we were happy with our choice to stay there. The views are excellent, the house's architecture is impressive, Jen Jen our cook, and Elaine who looked after everything else, were wonderful, the access to the beach is great and watching the sunrise and moonrise across the pool fantastic. The location in Calibishie is a delight and within a short drive of the house are wonderful views, hikes, beaches and other local attractions (try the Rainbow restaurant in Calibishie - you'll not be sorry!)

However, be aware that this is an open air house facing the trade winds - so the wind blows through it constantly - and with the weather not being the best while we were there, it was impossible to get out of the breeze! The kitchen equipment is tired, the stove needs to be replaced (and the flame kept blowing off in the wind) and it lacks a microwave and toaster - things we would not normally expect in a high end rental such as this. We also read about the lack of (solar) hot water, but did not truly appreciate how limited it was until we experienced it. Rarely did it get about luke warm and rarely did it last for more than two showers (again for the price point, this should not be an issue). We were puzzled as to why an on-demand water heater had not also been installed.

But perhaps most sadly, even accounting for the challenges of tropical climate, this is a house and grounds suffering from lack of maintenance and general care. There are two abandoned plunge pools complete with gungy water and mosquitoes flanking the entrance to the house (although to be fair, Elaine told us someone was coming (eventually) to clean them up); tiles are flaking off the pool; the grounds of the now closed Escape Bar (through which one accesses the beach) are forlorn with crates of empty bottles and haphazardly stacked chairs; there is trash piled up in front of the storage shed; and, the driveway is deeply potholed and the concrete significantly decayed.

With these issues addressed, this would be a five star recommendation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Red Rock was incredible. The owners make you feel at home, Stacy has great local knowledge, some of the hikes in the area are challenging but well worth the effort. Ask him about the water fall that doubles as a water slide, and the Middleham Falls well worth the hour hike. Food is great, we ate almost every meal there.---Chatou? was great. Stacy's rum punch is the best on the island. The Villa and private pool was money well spent. Cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Villa with Pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 10 days in May of 2013 and we had a great time and adventures! The Villa is beautiful. The views from the balcony by the pool are phenomenal, the amenities are top-notch and the owners are a really and I would say this on emor etime really friendly and helpful, they really make you feel as a part of the family. Beach bar is the best place to Chill have a beer or two and watch the sun to go down to the sea. FISH TACOS fresh ( MAHI-MAHI)!!!!Simply Superb! JUST MAKE SURE STACEY DO IT HIS OWN WAY!
THIS IS OUR FIRST TRIP AND WE WILL BE BACK FOR MORE FUN IN DOMINICA!!!

STAY THERE AND YOU WILL SEE THE REAL JEWEL OF DOMINICA!!!!!

Room Tip: Get Mosquito Repellents 3-4 for the Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We spent one night in the Beach Room at the Red Rock Haven. The bamboo and thatch cottage was lovely, with a beautiful terrace that opens up the room. It was clean and quiet and you really feel like you are getting away from it all. The staff are all very friendly and helpful, and Rita very kindly brought our breakfast to our room to enjoy on the terrace in the morning. This is a very small accommodation set up, so don't expect extra amenities like a pool, etc., but it is a lovely place to visit for peace and quiet, with a semi-private beach, striking coastal scenery, and a chilled out bar with tables in the sand and an evening bonfire complete with smores. The owners have clearly made efforts to be eco-friendly and blend in with the local surroundings and it shows - plus they have great advice for exploring the area. We are happy to recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The best spot on the island! The staff and food and ambiance was superb. We ate elsewhere on the island each night, beach side, but this was the best by far. A little tough to find but maybe that is what makes it so quaint. If your coming for lunch or an early dinner, bring all your beach gear as you can enjoy a great beach between courses.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Rock Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Rock Haven

Address: Pointe Baptiste, Calibishie 20000, Dominica
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint Andrew Parish > Calibishie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Calibishie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, boutique beach front hotel with world class restaurant and beach bar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Rock Haven Hotel Calibishie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Rock Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.