We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calibishie Cove

Save Saved
You added Calibishie Cove to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Calibishie Cove
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Point Dubique, Calibishie, Dominica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE w/ 7th Night FREE
Ranked #1 of 7 Calibishie B&B and Inns
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

My husband and I had the most wonderful experience at Calibishie Cove. From the moment we entered our Sea Breeze Room we were in love with the place and the openess of the room to the incredible views out to the water. Everything about the place was mint. The staff, Hazel, Arl and Carol all were there to make sure our room was perfect as well as to guide us on whatever we needed to know. We had a peak at the other rooms as well during our three night stay and each one was lovely. The decor and materials used showed the thought that the owners Dwayne and Eileen have put into creating a place that so fits in with the island. We recommend the kayak rental and having Arl to guide us made for an easy and enjoyable excursion. We will definetly return to Calisbishie Cove which is located in one of the nicest locations on the island..

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    20
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
107
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

We stayed at Calibishie Cove for a night before catching a flight back to Barbados. After having stayed at a basic eco lodge elsewhere near Rosseau at a similar rate, we found our seaview room surprisingly luxurious. Apart from the stunning views of both the ocean and the woods nearby, the room had clean and comfortable beds, lots of room and air, fresh towels (bath and beach), generous quantities of shampoo, conditioner (not provided in any accomodation during our 3 weeks stay in the Caribbean) and handmade soap, fruits and tea & coffee. There was also a minifridge to cool your drinks and a kettle & coffee maker. All in all, the room was one of the best I've stayed in so far. The check-out time is 11am, but as our flight was at 5pm, we wondered out aloud to Hazel if we could extend our stay till 3pm. After checking the calender, she did confirm at 11am the next day that we could stay. This was a bonus and we really appreciated it.

The only negative I'd have to say is that ignoring others' comments here on a car being a must to enjoy your stay, we decided to go car free for that night (we had a guide from the previous hotel for 4 of the previous days). We were expecting Hazel's restaurant to be open round the corner but learnt the next morning that she had ceased to run it. Anyways, after a failed attempt to find her place, we decided to walk it down to the village. It was scary to say the least, given that there are no street lights or footpaths anywhere on your way down the windy and dark road making it difficult for cars from both directions to see you! We walked and walked and walked somemore and finally after 20-25 minutes reached the Bamboo Restaurant of Calibishie Lodges, where the hostile hostess despite knowing we'd run out of cash (real surprise as I found Dominicans immensely friendly - found out later she's Belgian) informed that the kitchen had closed (at 8:05pm!). Anyways so we walked some more in the other direction and then decided to give up and return as we were short already on cash and apparently the nearest cash machine is at Melville Hall Airport or Portsmouth. Credit Cards are accepted only at the Bamboo Restaurant and the grocery store in the village. Thankfully we'd had a sumptuous lunch earlier and survived the night on fruits and biscuits.

Apart from this glitch, we loved Calibishie and the Cove. The people are unbelieavably friendly in this little village. Strangers greeted us as we took a walk in the village the next morning, the grocery store manager fixed us a cabbie (Napp) for US$20 to the airport and the hostess of a tiny eatery was one of the friendliest souls I've come across. To sum it all up, we'd definitely recommend Calibishie Cove to anyone with a car. The rooms with kitchenettes ofcourse would be suitable for anyone. Buses operate until 5pm although the frequency could be around 20-30 minutes. One more thing I'd mention if I was super picky is that the wireless internet works at snail's pace in the room but runs ok if you went out to the balcony near the reception.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east hampton, new york
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

What to say...
When we arrived at Calibishe Cove (after a wild ride in the dark), we were welcomed by Aul and given the grand tour of our beautiful suite. So much more than we expected. Although the pics online are impressive, they don't even touch the expanse, the view, the breeze, the sound of the surf, the calmness...can you tell we loved the place? We were tired and HUNGRY, and Aul set us up with a late reservation at Red Rock and gave us detailed directions AND his number just in case we got lost and needed help. Very reassuring when you are clueless!
Our week was full of adventure...Hodges Beach....the sun, surf, river and it's beautiful people who supplied us with fresh fruit, veggies and fish. The falls...Syndicate and Brandy. Brandy was quite the hike...loved the challenge! Great guide (Lincoln) and his wife Jasmin was lovely as well. Warm hospitality, beautiful place. Ate at all the local jaunts...Glenda's, Coral Reef, Bamboo, and many other places in our travels. Sunned at Batibou and many other beaches, although Batibou was our favorite. Drove those beautiful, curvy, crazy roads for hours and hours. Addictive...felt like the next turn was going to bring us something even more beautiful...which it usually did. The highlight of our day was knowing that after whatever adventure we took, we would be going home to our paradise at Calibishe.
Our only regret was that we couldn't stay another month...so many things that we wanted to do and see that we didn't have the time for.
I also want to mention how wonderful Carol was. We would see her each morning and whatever we needed, she would supply with warmth and a smile. I had an embarrassing situation that needed some attention from her and she was so sweet and understanding. Lovely person.
Calibishe/Dominica is not for everyone...not for people who want:
1. "resort" treatment
2. shopping
3. fancy restaurants
4. tons of anemities

It is for people who want:
1. peace
2. natural beauty
3. adventure
4. to meet really cool local people

Loved every minute and hope that someday we will return.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

Calibishie Cove is an experience that one MUST have while on the island of Dominica. The location is PERFECT, the views are breathtaking, the staff is friendly and treat you like a family member! The rooms... are simply elegant! They even provide you with an island phone so you're never lost during your travel/adventures.
I've stayed in the Suite/penthouse which is worth every penny and some!
Calibishie Cove is HIGHLY recommended if you are looking for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

My wife and I, along with another couple, all of us experienced travelers who have lived in the West Indies in the past, went to Dominica and Calabishie Cove for ten days in February 2010. It was our first trip to Dominica, certainly one of the loveliest places on earth (we suggest prospective visitors to the island commonwealth read the Bradt Travel Guide titled DOMINICA, written by Paul Crask and published in 2007).

Dominica is all "up and down" with high mountains and rugged hills, and yet we older folks -- I'm 72 and my wife is 68 -- were able to negotiate the steps down to the beach nearest the lodge and again down to Emerald Pool, up the hill to Fort Shirley at Cabrits National Park and the hill at Kalinago Barana Aute' (Kalinago Cultural Park by the Sea, part of the Carib Indian Territory) and again up more steps at Jack's Walk in the botanical gardens of Roseau, the capital city. We whale-watched just south of Roseau, beached at the Purple Turtle in Portsmouth. Our younger travel companions bird watched along the Syndicate Trail and hiked to La Chaudiere.

Yet after all is said and done, what we enjoyed most was the small fishing village of Calibishie and Calibishie Cove itself. Every evening we'd return home, pour some local rum in a glass, add a little local lime, sit on our balcony overlooking the sea and wonder aloud why we'd wandered so far from such peace and beauty and friendly folks as are all right there.

We ate in many of the local places, Glenda's, Rock Site, Coral Reef, and what became our favorite, Escape Beach Bar & Grill. We never had a bad meal in Calibishie.

Our thanks go out to Hazel, Arle, and Carol for the spectacular care and friendship they gave us at Calibishie Cove. And to Dwayne and Eileen Thornton for having the vision and wherewithal to put the place together so we could come and recreate ourselves there.

We look forward to going again soon.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

Dominica! What a breathtaking piece of earth! The beautiful countryside, the always super friendly people, the ocean, these beaches, and the car ride is always a little adventure.
So Calibishie Cove is perfectly completing the stay, architecture wise with their very airy rooms, which are stylishly furnished and with all the convenience you can imagine. And on top of it comes the staff. The manager Hazel and Arl the assistant manager are taking personally and very good care of you.
You really have the comfortability instantly feeling home. Which makes it even harder to leave.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

The location is spectacular and the architecture is pleasing. It was wonderful to have the surf, wind (which was very strong at times) and little human generated noise to lull us to sleep. Also, there were few flying insects to bother us. Being eco-friendly is a great bonus. However, the solar hot water system desperately needs a back-up. At first , there was no hot, or even warm water at all. Later in our five day stay we managed to get tepid water at best. Also, there was no housekeeping in our room - our bed was not made, our trash was overflowing and we ran out of soap - until our third day. The level of cleanliness could be improved as well since we arrived to dead bugs and hair on the shower and toilet area floor and a lot of dust, bugs and sand on the bed frame. And the sheets had some scratchy, crusty substance on them. I feel the place is advertised and priced in a far more luxurious light than is accurate. The bones are good, they just need to bring the standard up to the asking price.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeLoveDominica, Owners at Calibishie Cove, responded to this review, February 24, 2010
We would like to thank you for the spectacular ratings of our location & rooms and we are especially delighted that you enjoyed the natural indoor-outdoor feel we have created. We've only been open a little over a year and are already receiving accolades and high rankings in the international press (Travel + Leisure, Coastal Living, Brides.com, Travel + Leisure Mexico).

We appreciate this feedback - positive and negative - and also would like to clarify a few points. We do wish you had let us know at the time of the issue, giving us a chance to make things right for you on site; however, upon your return home after posting this review, you told us that you didn't say anything because the situation had already been resolved before you had the opportunity to do so. We are pleased to hear that was the case and also appreciate your offer to edit your review to make this point clear.

We work very hard to not only meet, but exceed our guests' expectations. We succeed, remarkably, about 99% of the time, based on direct feedback from our guests. Nothing makes us happier than to hear of a superlative guest experience. However, when we learn of a guest who was disappointed, it is not an overstatement to say that we are profoundly saddened. In all cases, we take the feedback very seriously and immediately seek to understand what could have happened to cause such disappointment. This reviewer's concern about the solar-heated water not being sufficient on a cloudy day was the first we'd heard of the issue. We sent technicians out on the weekend to test the temperature in all bathrooms. The temperature was ideal, but to make sure we never have any future issues during peak use, are installing a second, backup system this week. We continue to receive enthusiastic praise from our guests on the quality and pleasantness of our room setup and amenities, and overall experience.

It is important to us that our guests are happy during their stay. We sincerely hope that you will give us a chance to make your next trip to Dominica the best vacation you ever take.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Calibishie Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calibishie Cove

Address: Point Dubique, Calibishie, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint Andrew Parish > Calibishie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Calibishie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Calibishie Cove 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calibishie Cove-on the mountainous island's beach-studded northeastern corner-is a colonial-style hotel inspired to reenergize with just four rooms, each with platform beds, large shutters, and a private patio overlooking quaint panoramic vistas of Caribbean Sea. Nestled 80-feet above Hodges Bay Beach, the Eco-hotel sets the tone for an elegant and private relaxed beach hideaway. Calibishie captures the native spirit of Dominica with its distinctive "Nature Island" philosophy. At-a-glance: Distinguished Eco Boutique-hotel | Romantic Beach | Weddings | On-site Dining | Organic Garden | Nature Made Views | Yoga + Wellness Retreat | Sustainable ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Calibishie Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calibishie Cove Hotel Calibishie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calibishie Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.