We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable in Every Way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calibishie Cove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Calibishie Cove to your Saves list
Calibishie Cove
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Point Dubique, Calibishie, Dominica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE w/ 7th Night FREE
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calibishie
Norfolk, VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unbelievable in Every Way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Our whole experience in Dominica was surreal. The island and views are out of this world. The unbelievably gorgeous Calibishie Cove suites only added to our "This can't be real, can it?" mentality.

We stayed in the penthouse 4 nights in early October. Regrettably, it was meant to be 5 nights but our flight to Dominica was cancelled. Once we finally arrived to Calibishie Cove the next morning, Hazel showed us around the room. My husband was speechless and I could only manage a handful of gasps, "oh my!" and lots of sighs. We were in awe. Even though it was past breakfast time, the fantastic staff still delivered a gorgeous spread of fresh fruit, eggs, toast and bacon.

The penthouse is just unreal. The kitchen was perfect for mixing up rum punch, keeping the kubuli cold and the kitchen table was the perfect place to play cards at night when the wind picked up outside. The rooftop deck was fabulous to read, look up at the stars, play cards with some wind protection, but still be in the sun.

The porches are divine. The plunge pool was perfection: chilly, but that's what it is for! We'd be warm from a walk or from driving around, hop in, rinse off in the outdoor shower and plop down on the porch with a cold Kubuli. Perfection! Know that no picture will ever do the room and view justice.

Just as everyone says, the staff is terrific! Everyone was very kind, welcoming, but at the same time they give you plenty of space to just be by yourselves. Help was there whenever we needed it, but we still felt wonderfully, fabulously alone.

The food was amazing and believe the hype: Arl's eggs really are that good! Hazel's cooking is also phenomenal! We were stuffed every morning and night. Most days we would have a light lunch or split something because we were still so full from breakfast. Arl had fabulous suggestions for outside places to eat.

I cannot recommend Calibishie Cove high enough. Book soon because I’ve told every family member and friend about this unbelievable find! I fear the secret may be out very soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    22
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
110
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We honeymooned here at Calibishie Cove in Sept. 2011. We spent 9 days during hurricane season, but overall the vacation was wonderful. We had the Seaview room and found it met our needs perfectly. I cannot describe the view. Every morning we were in awe at how gorgeous it was.

Hazel and Arl help run the B&B, and I found them both to be wonderful. Any request we made was quickly met. We had the package deal which included some excursions along with breakfast every day, and nightly meals. We were overfed every day, and wonderfully at that. We specified if we could have some local meals, and they really delivered. Plus, any fruit I inquired about, was all of a sudden in my room ready to eat. They both really exceeded my expectations.

We went during "low tourist" season, which we found to be both good and bad. Perfect for our honeymoon, but do beware that some "more" touristy restaurants and such are closed in September. We never had a problem finding food or something to drink though. We actually spent most of our time away from the B&B at Coral Reef cafe in Calibishie. It was a nice local spot, with an amazing food, great drinks and food alike. I don't think we paid more than $3 for a drink the entire time we were in Dominica. Also, with low tourist season comes crazy weather, but overall we had sun almost every day. At night there were some crazy storms, but it was a nice change from the Midwest.

The B&B itself is very nice and easily one of the top places to stay in Calibishie- if not on the island itself. It's low key and casual. The rooms are breezy and contemporary and met our needs in every way possible. The beach by the B&B is definitely remote and not really the type to sunbathe on, but it was fun to dig for shells and such. We found Batibou Bay beach and Purple Turtle in Portsmouth to be our favorite beaches during our stay.

We waited a few days before renting a car, so we could get a feel for the island--- but I'm sooo glad we rented one. We had a blast navigating the streets and it really enhanced our stay.

We also found our money went a long way here, which was wonderful. Do not think Dominica is overly touristy with a bunch of trinket shops and such. It is not. We actually bought gifts for back home in the grocery stores: locally made soaps and an amazing hot sauce.

We also ventured to the Caribbean side of the island and were not as impressed as the Calibishie area. Our favorite tour was by far: Emerald Falls. Amazingly beautiful and peaceful.

We found everyone to be very friendly and would definitely return. And if I do return, i'm staying at Calibishie Cove again for sure. It truly is an unspoiled paradise different from anything we've ever experienced before.

Room Tip: I thought the Seaview (oceanfront) was the the best if you didn't want the Penthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Although we got off to a bit of a rough start, the owners went out of their way to sort everything out for us while we were there. The room and balcony were awesome and the view is spectacular!!! The location was great since we opted to walk to town and to the local beaches and took public transportation to Portsmouth one day and Jacko and Spanny Falls another. We also took a tour to Trafalgar Falls, Emerald Pool and Screws sulphur springs that we booked through the hotel and Troy was terrific. We loved Dominica and everyone we met during our travels. What a wonderful country!!! Can't wait to go back for an even longer stay next time!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Just now getting a chance to review Calibishie Cove from our August 2010 honeymoon. We had such an amazing time! Dominica is the best. Almost a year later and my husband and I just looked at each other and said... "I wanna go back to Calibishie Cove!" We stayed in the Rainforest Suite... so roomy and GREAT view. Loved the kitchenette and the bathroom. Bed was comfortable. The staff quickly feels like family after a week! Hazel made us breakfast twice and we were very pleased.

Things we would recommend...
1. Going to Pt. Baptiste Beach... It is so secluded and beautiful... have lunch at the Red Rock Restaurant there. Very good food!
2. Go to Pagua Bay Bar and Grill for one of your first nights... Fish tacos are AMAZING... you'll probably want to go back there a couple of times.
3. Victoria Falls tour is a must!
4. Indian River tour is a must! especially if you like rum punch! :o)
5. Snorkeling Champagne Bay was sooo amazing!
6. Soaking a Screws Sulfur Spa was super fun and Screw is so nice!

Do not recommend going out on a fishing boat with one of the locals... my husband did and got pretty sick! Stay on shore!:o) but do visit the Marigot when the fisherman come in...

Anyway - would totally recommend Dominica and Calibishie Cove. Great, one of a kind experience!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

My wife and I chose an eco-vacation at Calibishie Cove, Dominica for our honeymoon in May. After a hectic few months leading up to our wedding, we really enjoyed the relaxing privacy of the penthouse. We opened the doors and windows and simply enjoyed the wonderful cross breezes. The wrap around deck (with plunge pool!) had plenty of places to position ourselves for lazy afternoons watching the world pass us by. My personal favorite was swinging in the hammock. The hidden roof top deck was perfect for star gazing in the evenings.

The staff was fantastic. Hazel's dinners were very delicious. I was especially fond of her jerk chicken! She even went out of our way to find some fresh lobster for us to enjoy. They have an excellent wine selection, and the refrigerator was well stocked with Kubuli. We added to our drink selection with some local Soca rum and very fresh fruit juices. I can't say enough about how friendly and accommodating everyone was! And I'd be remiss if I didn't mention KD and Arl, and all of their support and care. Arl, your eggs are fantastic!

Dominica was a fantastic adventure. We enjoyed so many waterfalls, reefs, rum drinks, delicious food and wonderful people. I agree with others on this site. Spend at least a day with Jenner as your guide. He can take you to a number of places that you might otherwise miss. Plus, he's a text book driver for dealing with the sometimes harrowing mountain driving on the island (take your time, stay to the left, and use your horn A LOT). Take note of his driving skills and apply them when you drive on the island. Your passengers will thank you!

Some of the sites we enjoyed: Scott's Head and Champagne Beach, Trafalgar Falls, Emerald Pool and Spanny Falls. We also ventured down to Batibou Beach (4 wheel drive vehicle required) and had the the entire beach to ourselves. You'll also need 4WD to get to Chaudiere Pool. Speaking of Chaudiere, when you hike to the pool, don't stop at the first pool like we did, continue up the river for 100 yards or so to find the "real" pool with a rock you can jump from.

If you want a dining change of pace, there are also a number of a great restaurants close to Calibishie Cove. The folks who own Calibishie Cove had a number of very good recommendations.

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Dominica and were extremely pleased with our stay at Calibishie Cove. We'll definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Ask for the penthouse, you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Calibishie Cove is by far one of the best places I have ever stayed. Gorgeous ocean views, fresh food, and incredible service - this was the perfect vacation in every sense of the word.
Jenner picked us up from the airport and also managed our transportation and tours. He was really nice and welcoming and kindly answered our billions of questions about the island. After arriving at calibishie cove eco-lodge, I was certain I wandered onto a tv set b/c places like this don't exist in real life. Let me assure you, they do and this was it. Arl greeted us and showed us how everything worked then asked about dinner, if we wanted to have it in our room or go out - we had it in the rm on our private patio overlooking the ocean to the right and the jungle/rainforest to the right, The food was so fresh w/amazing flavors, Katie was our cook, and after that we knew we were going to try all of her cooking thru the entire menu. As it is an island, it is difficult to attain certain items/foods all the time, but the staff does their best to accomodate/improvise and it was greatly appreciated.
Little amenities throughout our stay enhanced our dominican experience, local cell phone, fresh ground dominican coffee, free use of snorkel gear/boardgames/dvd's, coalpot soap (really nice, esp the lemon), the stonework/heavy shutters, and private patios were all little things that made our stay that much nicer. originally we wanted the rainforest rm, but after staying in the seaview rm the 1st night, we decided we wanted to stay there for the rest of our time - the beautiful views and the ocean breeze there sold it for us.. This is an amazing place to stay, w/short hike to beach and Stella warning of ppl coming, and the tours - we got the all around domnica package which includes 4 tours and packd lunch (yummy yummy) on those days and bfast and dinner everyday, it was perfect. We kayaked and snorkeled instead of volcano tour, and we enjoyed it, Jenner took us to the chaudiere pool where we had a nice swim in the river, Benjamin took us to the emerald pool/carib territory/spanny falls all - short hikes and beautiful views, and Arl took us kayaking to treasure island (the island right out side our rm) and we had a litlle picnic at the top and then snorkeled around in beautiful warm clear water, awesome. be aware, the town is a bit of a hike, but if you let Arl know what you want he'll do his best to get it for you - and the prices for the kubuli/shandy/and candy bars in the fridge is not that bad. Also, you can go down to the beach and grab yourself a coconut and crack it open against a stone and you have fresh fruit to keep in your fridge for a snack :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We chose Calibishie Cove as the place to spend our honeymoon away from it all, while also experiencing a luxurious vacation and eco-adventure. It was all that and more! From the moment we landed in Dominica and arrived at Calibishie Cove we were awestruck. Our room was spacious and inviting, secluded and private, with doors opening wide to a balcony overlooking the sea. Their view of the Dominica coastline is simply breathtaking. It was the most amazing ocean view room I’ve ever seen. Then, just steps through luscious greenery and a path leads you to a secluded beach where you can swim or take a kayak to a pristine reef where fan coral and fish thrive.

The warm, friendly, local staff who care for Calibishie Cove guests are wonderful. We spent our first night taking in the sunset from our private wrap around balcony then dining on the fresh, homemade and fabulously prepared Dominica cuisine – jerk chicken, fresh vegetables and bread – all prepared by Hazel. There’s even a well-appointed wine list for guests. KD and Arl also made our stay warm and inviting. We were so spoiled by the platter of fresh cut local fruit with breakfast daily.

By day we explored Dominica beaches, reefs, dive sites, swimming holes, waterfalls, rainforest and villages – often having these sites to ourselves. Dominica calls itself the “nature island.” The volcanic island landscape is stunning. Mountains cascade down to black sand beaches where marine life flourish at the edge of submerged calderas. Hummingbirds flit by wild flowers and waterfalls. Our favorite spots included: Scotts Head, Champagne Beach (where trapped gas bubbles float from underwater caverns to the water surface), Emerald Pool, Spanny Falls, natural hot springs in Roseau valley, Trafalgar Falls, Chaudiere Pool, and Treasure Island (the small island just off the coast of Calibishie Cove). I highly recommend Jenner as a guide to lead you some of to these Dominica treasures.

We will surely return to Calibishie Cove and Dominica. It felt like our private, island home retreat. On our last day there, we noticed Calibishie Cove was just featured in Travel + Leisure’s 2011 World's Best Hotels + Resorts book. It was the only property featured from Dominica, and it is a well deserved accolade

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Calibishie Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calibishie Cove

Address: Point Dubique, Calibishie, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint Andrew Parish > Calibishie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calibishie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Calibishie Cove 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calibishie Cove-on the mountainous island's beach-studded northeastern corner-is a colonial-style hotel inspired to reenergize with just four rooms, each with platform beds, large shutters, and a private patio overlooking quaint panoramic vistas of Caribbean Sea. Nestled 80-feet above Hodges Bay Beach, the Eco-hotel sets the tone for an elegant and private relaxed beach hideaway. Calibishie captures the native spirit of Dominica with its distinctive "Nature Island" philosophy. At-a-glance: Distinguished Eco Boutique-hotel | Romantic Beach | Weddings | On-site Dining | Organic Garden | Nature Made Views | Yoga + Wellness Retreat | Sustainable ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Calibishie Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calibishie Cove Hotel Calibishie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calibishie Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.