We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Fish & Chips in PEI” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Richard's Seafood

Richard's Seafood
9 Covehead Wharf, Stanhope, Prince Edward Island, Canada
+1 902-672-3030
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Stanhope
Price range: $9 - $13
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Saskatoon
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“The Best Fish & Chips in PEI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

After spending three weeks in the maritimes and having some great fish and chips this was a notch above. The Fries are homefries. The fish is dipped in Panko breadcrumbs for a delicious coating. The tartar sauce and coleslaw are made in house and extraordinary. Servings are large. Have I used enough superlatives? There is a small seating area next to the take out with a second story giving you an excellent view of the bay and wharf.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    38
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
western ma
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“great value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Richard's was scaling back since it was the end of the season. They were only doing takeout with tables outside where you could sit to eat. The food was fantastic. My lobster roll was overflowing with whole claws. The salad was fresh even though it came in a prepackaged container. The fish was some of the best we've had - very, very moist. There was no service since it was just takeout.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“My biggest regret....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

.... is certainly notstopping here for a takeaway tonight! No, my biggest regret was only getting around to stopping here mere days before they close for the season. In my time on PEI, I have tried fish and chips at many different places, many places that all claim to have 'the best fish and chips'. Well, all those other places shoudl be fined for false advertising. The fish and chips I had here tonight is by far the BEST fish and chips I have EVER had. And I speak from a lot of experience, and am not even typically a fish lover! The portions are huge (easily could share between two people), the breading is light and crispy, the fries handcut, the coleslaw such an interesting medley of fresh flavours, and the tartar sauce unlike any I have ever tasted - they experiment with non-typical ingredients and it works! The location is beautiful, and when you order, you are given a buzzer that will vibrate, which they told me has a range of up to 1km! So, you can stroll the shoreline and walk to the beautiful Covehead lighthouse and return back for hot fresh food when your pocket vibrates. I cannot recommend this place enough. Don't miss it. And if you are looking for the best fish and chips you have ever had, don't even bother going anywhere else!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Amazing food!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Richard's is a great place to stop for seafood!! My favorite place to be on the island is the Stanhope area, and Richard's is right at the Covehead Wharf within the national park. Amazingly fresh seafood, and they don't skimp on the portions. Deliciously cooked and served with fresh made coleslaw and delicious dipping sauce. And surprisingly affordable prices. A must for anyone visiting that area of PEI!! It's also along the most beautiful stretch of beach on the island, you can't go wrong!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not Good Value or Quality!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The service was good but the food was greasy.
The batter was more like a "bread-crumb" coating on the fish.
Seating is fairly open (watch for the flies).
This seems to have been the most expensive Fish and Chips we had on the island and it was far from the best.
Go to "Brits" in Charlottetown or "Skips" in Summerside for Fish and Chips.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Richard's Seafood also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Hunter River, Prince Edward Island
 
Stanhope, Prince Edward Island
Hunter River, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Richard's Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richard's Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.