We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect supper” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Richard's Seafood

Richard's Seafood
9 Covehead Wharf, Stanhope, Prince Edward Island, Canada
+1 902-672-3030
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Stanhope
Price range: $9 - $13
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Strathmore, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A perfect supper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Sandwiched between an afternnon on Brackley Beach and an evening at Anne of Green Gables - The Musical, supper at Richard's Seafood made the day complete. The food was excellent seafood take out fare with generous portions. While we ate, we watched Great Blue Herons feeding, children jumping off the wharf and bridge, and boats coming and going.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    38
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“This seafood eatery deserves all the high marks it gets. A true PEI seafood experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

We had lunch there today. There was no wait to place our order and we had our food within 15 mins. The lobster roll was delivious, served on a toasted bun with a slight amount of mayo and some chopped onion. Came with yummy homemade coleslaw. My husband had a ginormous piece of breaded fish for his fishburger. He said it was the best he's ever had.
In addition to the great food, the whole experience of eating on the wharf was a real treat. Don't miss out on this Island experience.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Well worth the wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Absolutely the best fish and chips and lobster sandwich anywhere in the Maritimes! We lined up around 5:30 pm one evening and it took us about 40 minutes to get to the "order window"! Upon ordering, the orders were so backlogged, we were told that it would be a 1 hour delay in actually getting our food, did we still want to order? With a 4 and 6 year-old in tow we stuck it out and said yes... WE WERE NOT DISAPPOINTED! WOW, AMAZING! Fresh, delicious and generous portions! Highly recommended for simple take-out dining! Sit on the terrace or out on the dock, pic-nic style and enjoy with the kids! Fun and well worth it!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Everything was great tonight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

One lobster sandwich, plate of mussels and two fish and chips and everything was outstanding. My wife said that it was an easy and tasty way to have lobster...some of the most flavourful that we have had in the last three meals. Nice large chunks of lobster, no guessing and it's not out of the can.

The wait was worth the meal. Nice evening at the wharf tonight and a quick trip over to get a pic or two of the lighthouse while we waited.

I would recommend it to anyone that comes here and if you pass through the gates after 6 it's clear sailing.

One of the cheapest meals we have had on the island and everyone was satisfied.

When you keep an eye on who was before you and after you in the line up you know exactly when your buzzer should go off to call you to your meal which is ready and piping hot. It would seem that others should have kept an eye on who was in line ahead and behind them and realized that there might be a problem rather than stewing like mussels in the pot for too long.

Go there, expect a bit of a wait, enjoy the scenery, then enjoy great food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“excellent food, worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

we were here August 12 and the food was great! yes you do have to wait a while but they give you a beeper and you can wander around while you wait. The fish was fresh very little batter, excellent fies, and the tarter sauce is to die for!! the staff are very friendly and take great pride in their food!
don't go here if you want your food in 5 minutes like macdonalds!!!
will definitely make this a part of our yearly visit!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Richard's Seafood also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Stanhope, Prince Edward Island
 
Hunter River, Prince Edward Island

Been to Richard's Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richard's Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.