We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sigh...What a wonderful time we had at Georgetown Inn!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Georgetown Historic Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Georgetown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Georgetown Historic Inn
62 Richmond Street | PO Box 192, Georgetown, Georgetown, Prince Edward Island C0A 1L0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Georgetown B&B and Inns
Midland, Michigan
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
300 helpful votes 300 helpful votes
“Sigh...What a wonderful time we had at Georgetown Inn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

It gives me great pleasure to highly recommend this Inn, not only as a wonderful place to lay your head overnight...cosy rooms, full of charm. Nice sheets, clean bathrooms.
Please come here for dinner too! Our party of 6 foodies and best friends were lucky enough to stay here and enjoy wonderful dinner of Mussels (divine), Lobster, poached in butter (5*) and wonderful spinach salad..please share it so you have room for dessert! They will be happy to do so for you. We were expertly served by our owners children. What an asset they are to the Inn! We tried all the desserts too and shared. Yummy!
Was so good and our best meal in 7days in PEI. We came back and ordered same meal!
Don't want to forget the great breakfast included in our room price. We were offered Eggs Benedict and waffles and Shrimp/Feta cheese omlet. Lots of great hot coffee in pots on table. Oh, wish I was there tonight!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    14
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
39
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

My hubby and I just returned from a week's trip in PEI - it was really great. One of the most memorable parts of our entire trip was staying at the Georgetown Inn. Originally, we were only to stay there for 1 night, but when plans didn't pan out at our next destination, we called the Georgetown Inn to see if they could host us again, then still stayed another night after that! They were so accommodating and were practically waiting for us at the door when we arrived, then treated us to a beer to wind down from our long drive. The owners and hosts, Dawn and Joel, are some of the nicest people I've met. Also, a choice for delicious breakfast is certainly a rarely found luxury for any Inn. We also ate there for dinner and it was one of the best meals I've ever eaten!

We actually stayed in 2 different rooms and both were beautiful, spacious and super clean. The Northern Room was our favourite - and yes, it's on the 3rd floor, but the third floor has some of the greatest rooms! (Don't know why everyone complains about the 3rd floor!)

They also have a beautiful screened-in porch -- definitely something to enjoy!
Overall, we hope to be back there again soon! (We would book online again).

Room Tip: Don't disregard the 3rd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
america
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Georgetown is beautiful, the inn is fabulous. The family that runs this inn is exceptional. We loved the food and the service, the location and the experience. Great location for exploring the East Coast of PEI..

Room Tip: Go for the second floor room that faces the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

My wife and I had a truly wonderful evening in the Historic Georgetown Inn. The inn itself is remarkably well kept and full of history, yet its charm is that it truly has the warmth and feel of a living home. Our room was spacious and had lovely windows and access to a large second floor deck. The location was perfect as it is in the centre of town and I had an easy 5 minute walk to the dock for a great lobster fishing experience the next morning (be sure to ask them about it). But better than the physical surroundings was the fantastic hospitality ..... in a matter of minutes we felt like family and we thoroughly enjoyed our conversations with all the staff. And the best of all was definitely the food ..... our best meal in PEI and believe me, all of our meals in PEI were great. If you can't spend a night in Georgetown, at least go there for dinner ..... you won't regret it!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

We booked online months in advance for a particular room which we were assured via more than one email confirmation was ours. I emailed a couple of weeks prior to arrival to confirm reserv ation but did not get any response from the owners. Upon our arrival - we were early - the owner Joel said they were not ready for us and suggested some places for us to go to kill some time but also at that time alluded to there being a mixup with our room and that the Rose Room would not be available to us. We came back at check in time only to be told that they double booked our room because we only used the internet and the other person PHONED (!?) so he made us some offer to move up to the 3rd floor (dungeon). We looked at the 3 claustrophobic rooms up there and declined the offer. We moved on to other accommodations in the area which were very nice. We will never book with the Georgetown Inn again nor will we ever recommend it to anyone we know. We thought we were taking care of things by booking so early and getting several confirmations, but I guess the phone trumps the internet in this establishment!
We have travelled extensively around the world, booking accommodations via internet, and have never had this happen before. The owner, Joel, also seemed to be quite non-chalant about the whole deal which really ticked me off.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

We stayed at the Georgetown Historic Inn for 3 nights. Dawn was the most charming and perfect hostess, her husband Joel seemed pre-occupied and was not overly friendly, but he can really cook. The food was amazing. Robyn, our server, was very knowledgeable and sweet. The rooms are beautifully decorated and soundproof. We stayed in the suite and a little fridge would have been welcomed. The room is certainly large enough for it. The wi-fi did not work from my laptop, but there is a PC for guests to use, however, it did not work either the first evening. I did check my laptop in a parking lot of another hotel and had no problems getting reception, so I know it wasn't my computer.
Georgetown is a sleepy little town, but there is a theatre across the road and one night there were people dining at the Inn before going to a show.
I would definitely stay at the Inn again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirstenhug
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

My husband and I are Islanders who were looking for a "night away". We booked their Romance Package in the Captain's Room.
When we arrived the room was spacious, clean and ready, complete with Champagne and some tasty treats which would foreshadow our meals to come.
Dinner was a gourmet experience, both Dawn and Joel were friendly and eager to provide us with exceptional service.
Breakfast was as fantastic as supper was the night before..creative, tasty and wonderfully presented.
The Romance package, which included the room, gift basket, champagne, dinner voucher and breakfast was an incredible value.
This was an ideal getaway!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Georgetown Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Historic Inn

Address: 62 Richmond Street | PO Box 192, Georgetown, Georgetown, Prince Edward Island C0A 1L0, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Georgetown Historic Hotel Prince Edward Island
Georgetown Historic Inn Prince Edward Island, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georgetown Historic Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Georgetown Historic Inn to your Saves list