We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Lunches, Treats & Art ... You Won't be sorry you stopped!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Maroon Pig Art Gallery and Sweet Shop

The Maroon Pig Art Gallery and Sweet Shop
37 Water Street, Georgetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Georgetown
Cuisines: Bakery
Restaurant details
Georgetown, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lunches, Treats & Art ... You Won't be sorry you stopped!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I am fortunate to live near this little gem! We have purchased wedding gifts and treats for ourselves here since the Maroon Pig opened. I have NEVER been disappointed! Everything is high end quality and its priced just right. Extremely friendly venue, I work at the Town Hall nearby and have been told by many visitors that its one of the best kept secrets on PEI. They also do some fantastic catering!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    12
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“amazing little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

baked goods are out of this world and the art is totally fun! don't miss a visit to the Maroon Pig - these folks are cool!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, ON
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Had to try this place again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Four of us went into this shop, to buy some baked goods, as we had tried some last year (their 1st year of business). My daughter and friend had enjoyed the choc. chip cookies last year, so got some again this year. Seeing the 'lunch special' sign, my husband mentioned to my daughter and me to try it; the seafood chowder. Owner Stacy, finished-up her cauldron of it, and we ended up getting plenty of the seafood, from the bottom. We found it delicious, and we are chowder lovers! It was a late lunch for us (2:30), so the tea biscuit that goes with it, were gone. But, Stacy replaced it with a Brazilian cheese puff bun, each, and that did the trick, and it was so yummy. We were glad we got those!! We ate outside at a side table. I barely had room for the white chocolate, cranberry cookie I had wanted to try earlier, but I managed to eat one; another yummy item! This shop is in a small building, at the back of their house's driveway. A sign out front, by the street, posts the 'daily special'. We came back to this shop, a few evenings later, to buy 'treats' for the long drive back home next day, and even tho' her shop was officially closed for the eve., she came into the shop to serve us! My husband had to have 'his' date square shortly after (he stated it was so moist), and the next day we enjoyed the double chocolate cookies and orange creamsicle cookie. The shop offers a daily selection of about a dozen diff. cookies/squares/sweet buns, and also sells bread and candy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not what I hoped”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I had high hopes for this pl;ace after reading so many mentions of it. It is charming, and the antique items are very tempting. But the bakery part: there was not much selection, and the blondie I eagerly anticipated, though it had well chosen ingredients, was dry.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Divine desserts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The key lime tart was the best I have ever eaten. As was the brownie, and the salty caramel. Pizza was also fine. Loved the wee shop, the art, and the lobster barley toys. Can't wait to go back next year. This place is a must.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Maroon Pig Art Gallery and Sweet Shop also viewed

Georgetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Georgetown, Prince Edward Island
Montague, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to The Maroon Pig Art Gallery and Sweet Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maroon Pig Art Gallery and Sweet Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.