We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Wished They Were Open Late!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clam Diggers Beach House & Restaurant

Clam Diggers Beach House & Restaurant
7 West Street, Georgetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
(902) 652-2466
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Georgetown
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We Wished They Were Open Late!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My girlfriend and I ate here twice during our 5-day trip on P.E.I. The food was great and the view by the water was especially enjoyable. There is a little beach and park next to it with clean bathroom and shower facilities which make it a great location to stop for a few hours. The only complaint we had was that they close at fairly early (by non-Maritime) standards. We wish they had been open later so we could stay longer.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    48
    20
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best Crab Cakes Ever!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This is a lovely spot right on the water, and as the name implies, the focus is seafood. I have returned here every summer for the past few years and I have never been disappointed. The crab cakes are the best I've ever had! I also like the fried clams.
This is a great spot for lunch, as there are a few interesting attractions nearby within walking distance.
They do have a kids menu (though it is not printed, you have to ask), and there is a fun wooden train outside that the younger kids enjoyed climbing on and exploring while waiting for their food to be prepared. I can watch them from the window of the restaurant.
There are three seating choices: casual(beach house), fine dining (Clam Diggers Room) or outside on the deck. It was quite windy the day we visited, so we chose inside and casual (with kids).
After our meal, we strolled down onto the beach where there were actually local people digging for clams. They invited the kids to join them, which they enthusiastically did.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Beautiful train station restaurant, delicious meals, incredible view and great service!!!! What more can you ask for? We love to visit Georgetown and now that we have found the Clam diggers we are sure to stop for a meal each time. Loved the seafood chowder and be sure to order the carrot cake it is to die for. A little pricey but a great treat when we visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“good food and excellent sunset view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great food and a wonderful view of the sunset over Georgetown. I had order the deep fried platter and it was very good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clamdiggers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Great food and a wonderful view of the sunset over Georgetown. Friendly staff and wonderful abiance.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clam Diggers Beach House & Restaurant also viewed

Georgetown, Prince Edward Island
Montague, Prince Edward Island
 
Georgetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Clam Diggers Beach House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clam Diggers Beach House & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.