We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but needs a refresh” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oakwood Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Oakwood Resort to your Saves list
Oakwood Resort
70671 Bluewater Highway | Box 400, Grand Bend, Ontario N0M 1T0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grand Bend
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice location but needs a refresh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I can't comment on the golf course because I didn't golf but it looked pretty good. We went with a group & why they had us in various buildings I'm not sure. There were other groups there as well; noisy. There was no elevator in the building we were in & even though our room commenced with # 2 we were really on the third floor. Quite a ways to hike luggage up. There was no offer of assistance from anyone either. My room looked like a camp cabin; dated & not resort like at all. If you are looking for a good sleep though this is the place. The beds & pillows are amazing. I went back to my room prior to checkout to use the facilities to find my room door being kept open with bed sheets. I had already removed my luggage, but I had not yet checked out. The grounds are well maintained & the atmosphere is relaxing. The clubhouse restaurant is good. The Oak Dining room is not what it pretends to be. Order anything other than the ribs & you will be disappointed. I most likely wouldn't bother to go here anymore unless a meeting location again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    66
    29
    24
    7
See reviews for
73
69
2
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Livonia, Michigan, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed 2 nights, the room was large and very clean. I don't golf but the course was beautiful. The pool was very nice and had a hot tub as well. They offer a buffet breakfast that was a perfect start to the day. A nice quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, ON
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed one night for a company function/dinner. The food was great and the room was large and clean. Buffet breakfast in the morning was a perfect start to the day. Didn't have a chance to golf but will do so on my next trip there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We spent the first weekend in May at Oakwood. We have golfed there many times but have never stayed at the resort. The room was lovely with king bed and fireplace. It was very quiet. We were beside the Gazebo with our party in the room and a baby next door and we didn't hear a sound. The food was all really good at every meal. The walk to the beach is really close and you can walk for miles both ways. Would totally recommend it if you are in the Grand Bend are!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasaga Beach
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at Oakwood as a 'stopover' on the way to Michigan for an event. We arrived 8-ish to see the last blush of sunset and then went down to the indoor pool and hot tub. The lights were off and there were no towels. We turned on the lights and then used our cell phone to call for towels. Apparently the small towels in our room (we thought they were hand towels) were for use at the pool. As the guest services agent was the only one on duty, she could not bring us towels so we went back to our room to get them. The pool itself was cool-ish and the outdoor hot tub was gritty and had some leaves in it. We stayed on the second floor of the Oak Lodge. The building and 'deluxe' room 147 were nice enough, if a little dated. The electric fireplace makes a lot of noise. The extra vanity outside the washroom is useful. Handle on tub was loose making it hard to gauge water temperature. We had an unwelcome 'wake-up' call at 6 am when the clock radio in the next unoccupied room was on for an hour. Breakfast was fine: Cold buffet and hot plate of eggs/meat/potatoes fixed to order. Server was very nice. We were the only ones in the dining room and the she told us there were only 5 rooms rented that night. So we essentially had the whole place to ourselves. Good enough place, but the 'shoulder season' rate should be further discounted if facilities aren't maintained to high season standards.

Room Tip: We had a 2nd floor with balcony in the Oak Lodge - a bit away from the main buildings, but near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmora, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have been fortunate enough to stay at the Oakwood approximately 6 times in the past 3 years. Each time I have stayed with a hockey group. The Oakwood resort is extremely accomodating. I certainly recommend the Oak lodge, as this is the location with the pool. One of the wonderful features of this resort is that security leaves the guests alone and does not seem to be bothered with socialization! The breakfast is lovely! The rooms vary from lodge to lodge, but are all clean and more than adequate. All of the staff try to accomodate all requests. The only negative that I have ever experienced at this location is the spa. During one of my stays I visited the spa for a massage. It was the worst massage I have ever had. It was extremely amatuear!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank for your comments regarding your stay at Oakwood Resort. I do apologize that you did not have a good experience at the Lakeside Spa. Please know that I am aware of the situation and have addressed the issue accordingly. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Thank you,
Helene Bushnell
Lakeside Spa Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed at this resort with a very large group on business in May 2-5, 2001. The grouns are very good and clean. The lake is a short walk just a couple of minutes from the resort. The rooms or cottages are very big with large, comfortable beds. It is surrounded by forests and very calm. The flies were not a problem. The restaurant is spacious and the food is excellent. Would highly recommend this resort to groups on business, for families and for a quiet getaway for couples. Will definitely return here in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oakwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Resort

Address: 70671 Bluewater Highway | Box 400, Grand Bend, Ontario N0M 1T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grand Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grand Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakwood Resort is a family owned and operated resort located in Grand Bend Ontario. The resort is nestled within a natural setting featuring large mature trees and plenty of green space all just steps away from the beautiful white sand beaches of Lake Huron. With 126 rooms offering a variety of accommodation options including deluxe rooms, suites and cottages. We are the ideal location for a family getaway, a corporate retreat or just a weekend away for two. We also offer a wide range of things to do on site including an eighteen-hole golf course, relaxing spa, dining room and pub, indoor pool, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, tennis courts, fitness center, access to our private beach, children's play area and ten thousand square feet of banquet and conference space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Oakwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwood Hotel Grand Bend
Oakwood Hotel Sarnia
Oakwood Resort Sarnia
Oakwood Resort Grand Bend, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakwood Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.