We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but COLD!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oakwood Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Oakwood Resort to your Saves list
Oakwood Resort
70671 Bluewater Highway | Box 400, Grand Bend, Ontario N0M 1T0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Grand Bend
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Southern Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful but COLD!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This resort is GORGEOUS and a quick walk to an ENDLESS beach with a tremendous vista. It feels cosy like Christmas! The decor is lovely--just right. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was all delicious and the service was exemplary. The bed was super-comfortable, HUGE, and there were lots of extra pillows, blankets, and towels. The wifi was free. I am sure I would feel very spoiled to be there in the summer. However, on the not-so-good end, the room was freezing and took six hours to warm up. I have never been in a COLD hotel room with the heat OFF before. A colleague saw the staff wearing blankets in the back room. There was what looked like bits of a sandwich on the side of the tub and in the tub. There was a ring of sludge in the toilet bowl. When I went to the bathroom in the middle of the night, there was a bug crawling on the floor. Otherwise, all went well!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    74
    31
    25
    8
See reviews for
76
75
2
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The resort is divided up into several sections. Each one is a step up from the other. We stayed over night in the section called long house. This is a motel motor inn type/style accomadation. We parked in front of the room, so easy in and out. The room is a little outdated and needs to be renovated. Bed was comfy, clean, heating worked fine, patio in front and back of room. Overall not bad, a little pricey but its Grand Bend and not a lot of choice in this area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a short fall road trip to Michigan, and on our return we drove through Port Huron/Sarnia and headed to the Oakwood Resort in Grand Bend for the final weekend. I really love the Oakwood Resort - it's like a resort in Muskoka, except it's on Lake Huron. It's a grand old Inn, with several buildings, all with different style accommodate - some in the main building, some 'motel style', etc. The motel style room we were in had a high vaulted ceiling with old timbers criss-crossing the ceiling - it looked great, was cozy with a corner electric fireplace that really warmed up the room, and the room was quiet and very spacious. The beds were very comfortable, and the bathroom was also very spacious - plenty of room. With our group of friends, we could park right outside our rooms, and sit in muskoka chairs and chat and catch up on the news in the outdoors under great big fir trees. It was so pretty, a very relaxing atmosphere, and great for a group. We were there after Canadian Thanksgiving, and only the pub was open for dinner, but it was great. The menu selection was good, and everyone in the group found something they liked. The waiter was happy to split the bill amoung all the varied couples & family groupings, even though it was quite complex - thanks for making your guests life easy! They have a golf course onsite - OK, it's not wonderful, but it fits the resort style... just relaxed, having fun, nothing fancy, and real easy to fun with a group who all have varied golf skills. I love the Oakwood Resort!

Room Tip: There are lots of different types of rooms - make sure when you book you ask about all the options...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Back for a second time in July of 2012 my girlfriend and I decided to take the golf package which included golf , cart, and a dinner. Last time we went to Grand bend for dinner this time we had supper the first night at the clubhouse style casual restaurant in Oakwood , which was very good. Great service, a good menu and a real pleasant casual dining experience . The next night we had dinner at the dining room, that night it was an Italian buffett. Not especially impressed, just didn't feel there was anything special about it. I recalled that the previous year they had a number of choices from the a la carte menu that you could pick from this time we were stuck with a themed buffett. No way would this have been worth it if we didn't have he golf package as it was close to 30 $ for a pasta, chicken and sausage dinner if you didn't have the package. But overall the experience was still good, we are not experienced golfers so we choose a later tee time and did not have anyone pushing us so that made for a relaxed round of golf.
Everything else was good, excellent rooms and access to the beach is handy and easy.
Definitely intend to return, but will avoid any package that requires the dinner and golf
package as the buffett was nothing special, better to stay with the clubhouse dining and head out for supper if staying 2 nights.

Room Tip: Oak Lodge is excellent, awesome rooms, 2nd floor at rear is quiet and great to relax at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed at this resort recently with friends. I have nothing but good reviews. We booked the standard room and it was more than I expected. Two Queen beds, extra seating, separate walk in closet, and a huge bathroom with lots of counter space. The rooms appear to be recently updated, so everything was in excellent condition. The location is spectacular, nestled among beautiful trees, but still within walking distance to the enormous beach. I could have stayed there for another week. The staff was very helpful and prompt with their service. I highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to book the Standard Rooms...they are cheaper and still in a great location on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

While Grand Bend isn't much to get excited about, the Oakwood Resort on the outskirts is quite lovely. It is an easy walk to town along the beach or by road and provides guests with a variety of amenities. The onsite food was pretty good and there are a number of other restaurants to choose from in the area. The highlight is the beach which is considered private and therefore was not too crowded (unlike the part further down by the downtown core).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We recently spent three nights (August 17-19) as part of a large gathering of family and friends with a total booking of nearly 13 rooms. Though our booking requests were made late in the season and considering that this is an event resort, the sales co-ordinator did a commendable job in accomodating everyones requests. As with every large booking there were a few hiccups which were very graciously resolved to everyones satisfaction. We loved the ambience of the resort and particularly its private beach. The room and breakfast service was excellent. For example, at the longhouse there is no ice machine but a request to the front desk for ice resulted in a bag of ice delivered in less than 2 minutes, faster than i could have got from the ice machine if I had stayed at one of the lodges. The food and the live entertainment at Dave's Pub made for a great Saturday night reunion dinner. Most of us would definitely be returning next year to this "gem" of Ontario resorts.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oakwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Resort

Address: 70671 Bluewater Highway | Box 400, Grand Bend, Ontario N0M 1T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grand Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Grand Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakwood Resort is a family owned and operated resort located in Grand Bend Ontario. The resort is nestled within a natural setting featuring large mature trees and plenty of green space all just steps away from the beautiful white sand beaches of Lake Huron. With 126 rooms offering a variety of accommodation options including deluxe rooms, suites and cottages. We are the ideal location for a family getaway, a corporate retreat or just a weekend away for two. We also offer a wide range of things to do on site including an eighteen-hole golf course, relaxing spa, dining room and pub, indoor pool, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, tennis courts, fitness center, access to our private beach, children's play area and ten thousand square feet of banquet and conference space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Oakwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwood Hotel Grand Bend
Oakwood Hotel Sarnia
Oakwood Resort Sarnia
Oakwood Resort Grand Bend, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakwood Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.