We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hope The Chef Stays” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smackwater Jacks Taphouse

Smackwater Jacks Taphouse
71 River Road, Grand Bend, Ontario N0M 1T0, Canada
+1 519-238-5556
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 38 restaurants in Grand Bend
Price range: $8 - $27
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: For a front row seat to one of the most beautiful sunsets in the world, Smackwater Jack's indoor seating and spacious patio on the water's edge is the place for you. Our newly renovated restaurant serves locally grown produce served with meat from local farmers along side quality craft beers. Owned and operated by father and son team, Brad and Andy Oke, Smackwater Jack's is the summer go-to restaurant and bar.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Hope The Chef Stays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

A south of the river blessing. Has to be one of the top three places to eat in the Bend. The menu was varied and very interesting - a choice for everyone. The ingredients were all fresh and choice. The meals carefully and skillfully prepared. This based on several visits in June & July 2012. We were told the chef was from Toronto and hopefully he will stay. A must try!!!

On top of this is the setting. Right beside the art galleries and Purdy's AND ON THE RIVER. What a nice spot, great views, lots of action and the sunsets re an added bonus.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    31
    28
    11
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Bend, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great patio on the river in the summer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Good food. Too expensive. We saw inside upstairs one cool day, but it was very cold inside. Downstairs was warmer.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had a very nice dinner at this place, as we saw the sunset over the lake from their second floor. It might be a bit difficult to find (on the south side of the harbor, as opposed to the rest of the Grand Bend strip), but the search is worth it. The food was a bit more expensive than the other options in town, but it was worth it. The service was also quick and very friendly.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Bend, Canada
1 review
“Great Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Had a family dinner at Smackwater Jacks last week and had a wonderful experience. Our waitress was very kind and attentive, she took great care of our table. I had the fish and chips, which were cooked wonderfully. All 6 members of our party were please with their meal. Definitely will be returning!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Moved”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

After we were seated we were asked to move as the seat was reserved. No signs to say so. Maybe they need to should know what is happening

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smackwater Jacks Taphouse also viewed

 
Grand Bend, Ontario
Grand Bend, Ontario
 

Been to Smackwater Jacks Taphouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smackwater Jacks Taphouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.