We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great patio on the river in the summer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smackwater Jacks Taphouse

Smackwater Jacks Taphouse
71 River Road, Grand Bend, Ontario N0M 1T0, Canada
+1 519-238-5556
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 40 Restaurants in Grand Bend
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: American, Fish & Chips, Seafood, Hamburgers, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: For a front row seat to one of the most beautiful sunsets in the world, Smackwater Jack's indoor seating and spacious patio on the water's edge is the place for you. Our newly renovated restaurant serves locally grown produce served with meat from local farmers along side quality craft beers. Owned and operated by father and son team, Brad and Andy Oke, Smackwater Jack's is the summer go-to restaurant and bar.
Grand Bend, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great patio on the river in the summer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Good food. Too expensive. We saw inside upstairs one cool day, but it was very cold inside. Downstairs was warmer.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    45
    15
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had a very nice dinner at this place, as we saw the sunset over the lake from their second floor. It might be a bit difficult to find (on the south side of the harbor, as opposed to the rest of the Grand Bend strip), but the search is worth it. The food was a bit more expensive than the other options in town, but it was worth it. The service was also quick and very friendly.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Bend, Canada
1 review
“Great Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Had a family dinner at Smackwater Jacks last week and had a wonderful experience. Our waitress was very kind and attentive, she took great care of our table. I had the fish and chips, which were cooked wonderfully. All 6 members of our party were please with their meal. Definitely will be returning!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Moved”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

After we were seated we were asked to move as the seat was reserved. No signs to say so. Maybe they need to should know what is happening

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
362 reviews 362 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“Superb sunset view over the lake from their upper deck. Very good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Opened early summer of 2012, this place is located on the SOUTH side of the river, away from the throngs of people on the main drag. We watched a gorgeous sunset over Lake Huron from the deck and enjoyed wonderful pickerel tacos and a bottle of sparkling wine. Definitely one of the top 2 or 3 dining spots in Grand Bend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smackwater Jacks Taphouse also viewed

 

Been to Smackwater Jacks Taphouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smackwater Jacks Taphouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.