We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Valley Restaurant - CLOSED

The Valley Restaurant
19854 Hwy 60, Barry's Bay, Ontario K0J 1B0, Canada
(613) 756-9014
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Restaurant is located in charming country inn. Oak panelled dining room with fire,beautiful view, and delicious meals cooked by chef/owner. Attentive service and knowledgeable staff make your visit a memorable one. Fully licenced. Children's menu available.
Twillingate
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very appealing inn. The menu has a really nice variety. The dining room is set up very nicely. The staff are very attentive to detail. Everything that we tried on the menu was delicous.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“used to be classy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

At one time this still high priced restaurant was very nice. Now we noticed the service lacks friendliness, the food is not all that tasty especially, given the price and the ambiance could only be likened to McDonalds (picture the once cloth napkins now brown bathroom paper towels and the cutlery stuffed in tin cans on the table with a notice stuck on with an old clothes pin- The cloth table cloth have been replace with plastic sort of newspaper looking things- very kitch! This establishment lacks class and should no longer carry the fine dinning price. When we visited Barry's Bay we noticed many options for fast-food type dining, it's too bad MVI is not the fine-dining that it once was.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbb2, Owner at The Valley Restaurant, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
We have definately made changes at the inn to create a more casual dining experience more suited to our cottage country location. We have found the response to be overwhelmingly positve but there will always be some who are disappointed . I am sorry you are one of them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston,Ontario
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“no disappointments here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Once again My wife and i drove from our cottage in the Griffith area to celebrate a birthday at this fantastic little restaurant and went away very satisfied. Service was great!
The meal was not something one would expect to get this far from a city centre.
We come here about 4 times a year to celebrate special occasions and always go away with a full and satisfied feeling.
They have a great souvenir shop with seasonal gifts.
Warrick and Nancy have a great place that is a definite stop on your way through.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbb2, Owner at The Valley Restaurant, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
It is so nice when people make the effort to travel a distance to enjoy a meal with us. To do it time and again is very gratifying. Thanks so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kanata
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Comfort of grandma's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This accommodation was clean. It was not new but it had everything you needed. A little restaurant and gift shop inside. I had enjoyed being a customer.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
“Our Niche in Barry's Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I am very fortunate that my boyfriend takes me to great places and introduce to warm and down to earth people. Whenever we are in Barry's Bay we would always visit Nancy and Warwick. Warm atmosphere and great hospitality. Food is excellent. We love the crab cakes. Last dinner we had venison pie and slow cook beef brisket with baked potatoes. Dishes were flavourful and perfect texture. The dining room is cozy and romantic. Nancy and Warwick works hard and provide professional and friendly service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbb2, Owner at The Valley Restaurant, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thanks so much Rose. Having such nice guests makes my job a breeze! We really appreciate your taking the time to do this and we hope you can make it back to The Bay before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Valley Restaurant also viewed

Barry's Bay, Ontario
 
Barry's Bay, Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Valley Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.