We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pinewood Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pinewood Inn to your Saves list
Pinewood Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   378 John St. Hwy 62 S, Barry's Bay, Ontario K0J 1B0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Barry's Bay
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tranquil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at The Pinewood this past weekend with our two boys aged 5 & 8.
The boys were able to spend time in the spacious backyard doing what boys do while we relaxed and enjoyed the incredible weather. The back yard of The Pinewood is quite spacious with aiderondack chairs, picnic tables and a few dining tables if you want to sit outside and have a picnic. They have a view of Kamiskeg Lake and we took the path down to the beach where the boys had a swim and played on the climber.
All in all, a wonderful stay.
Thanks to Mark and Yvette the owners who are always happy to provide help on current events in the area and great local shops to visit.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinewoodinn, Owner at Pinewood Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your great review Corinne. It's so wonderful that your boys could get out and play, swim, climb...be boys! We are so pleased that you could enjoy the benefits of this beautiful area. There is so much nature to explore! The benefits of return visitors is so important to small towns like ours and we are pleased to provide accommodation that guests want to return to. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
16
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gowanstown Ontario
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The Pinewood Inn is not fancy but it is clean and offers some unique amenities. The rooms are certainly small but very clean. The WiFi is free. The most unique thing about this place is that the rooms have a front door entrance from the parking lot and a back door leading to a lovely retreat with muskoka chairs, picnic tables and BBQs. There is a trail leading to the beach. The owers are friendly and very accommodating. We highly recommend the Pinewood Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinewoodinn, Owner at Pinewood Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you Marie for the kind review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are always working on making our guests experiences better. It should be noted that we do have larger rooms available for guests that would prefer more than one bed. As money and time permits the rooms and yard will continue to evolve into a better and better space....and we will never compromise on the clean! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our group of 8 refently stayed at the Pinewood so we could enjoy the snowmobile trails around the area. (Phenomenal conditions by the way!!) Yvette and Mark keep the rooms very clean and the beds were cozy to climb into after a long day of riding. I agree with Kevin C's review of the amenities. This place was perfect as they have lots of parking and are right on the trails. You have all the local stores around the corner: groceries, restaurants, gas stations and LCBO. All in all a wonderful stay!! We're planning our next trip already!
Thanks Yvette and Mark.
Corinne
Georgina ON

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinewoodinn, Owner at Pinewood Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thanks Corrine for your lovely review!! We are so glad that you and your group enjoyed the trails and our motel. We are so fortunate to have a great volunteer team (OFSC 6) that takes amazing care of our local trail system (snow helps too!). We will be waiting for your next visit!! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at the pinewood this weekend and made it home base for our snowmobile ride. The Inn is very snowmobile friendly as are the owners Mark and Yvette. It was the small things like the towel hanging by the door to wipe your sled down and the knowledge they had about the trails and the area in general. Also allowing us to park the rig there after we checked out and wanted to ride was a nice touch. The beds are new pillowtops as advertised and extremely comfortable and clean. (sorry guys we had to look lol). Rooms were warm when we arrived but the fridge was not plugged in. Didn't bother us since it was -20 outside so we put our stuff outside the back door untill the fridge cooled down.
Only thing that could have made the stay better would be a toaster oven in the room since microwave food sucks but i can't blame the hotel for that. A cable amplifier to take some of the static off the TV would have been nice to but now i'm nitpicking. Other than that i could not say one bad thing about the pinewood and will gladly stay there again in the winter or summer. Lake is directly behind the Inn so im sure it is great in the summer.
I even left a bunch of clothes in a drawer when i checked out but as soon as i pulled into the parking lot Yvette came running out with a bag and one of those welcoming smiles on her face and said "I think you forgot something". Again i must reiterate how welcome they made us feel and that made all the difference for me.

Thanks for the great stay. If you get a chance can you send me that picture Mark took in the morning of the 17 or so sleds parked out front as that was a great lineup.

Room Tip: Room with queen bed and sofa was relatively large and comfortable. Did i mention Clean?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinewoodinn, Owner at Pinewood Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Kevin, what a great review! Thank you so much!! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and will return for another stay. We do strive to give our guests good service and comfort. We are GLAD you looked, because we are proud of how clean we keep our rooms. We are always open to positive, constructive suggestions. Looking forward to seeing you again! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We recently stayed at the PineWood Inn . We picked the PineWood Inn based on the reviews from TripAdvisor and overall we were not disappointed with our decision. We were shown to our rooms by Yvette, Heat was already on, fridges were plugged in and BBQ'S were set up in the back of the Inn.We found the rooms to be clean, quiet and spacious. Did i mention the rooms were really nice and worm. The Queen bed was very comfortable! The place is charming and a nice spot to stay for a weekend. Thanks Yvette for the Extras towels to wipe down the bikes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinewoodinn, Owner at Pinewood Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you Bob. We were very pleased to be able to make your great weekend, even better. You guys were awesome! Come back anytime, the roads are waiting just for you!! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed there for two days with one child. The owners were welcoming and friendly. We had made no reservation and a room change to a twin bedroom was possible for the second night. The rooms are clean and well equipped. The large backyard with free BBQ equipment is beautiful. We used it for breakfast and dinner.
A summer evening in this quiet place is an experience you want to have more often than once. Hopefully Yvette and Mark remain commercially successful. So we can stay at this place more often in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinewoodinn, Owner at Pinewood Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you Andreas for such a kind review. We are so glad you all were comfortable here. We love that you were using the BBQ's for your meals! We look forward to you visiting again! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Came up for a family reunion, Owners Mark and Yvette were friendly and welcoming. The rooms were clean and the beds were super comfy, plus had the added bonus of a fridge, microwave and coffee maker right in the room. I slept great from the peace and quite of being up north. Felt very safe letting the children run around the large property, and with it being walking distance to a lovely lake with a great park for the kids it was a perfect family getaway! I would definatly recommend and go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinewoodinn, Owner at Pinewood Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thanks Kimberly for such a nice review! We are so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. It is certainly a great area for kids. Our 6 year old loves that park and the public beach right next to it! We hope to see you again soon. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pinewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinewood Inn

Address: 378 John St. Hwy 62 S, Barry's Bay, Ontario K0J 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barry's Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Barry's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pinewood Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinewood Inn is a quiet, family run motel next to beautiful Kamaniskeg Lake. We are steps to a public beach, playground, tennis courts and public dock. Downtown Barry's Bay and local restaurants (one is only .5Km away!) Are within easy access. There is also a Shell gas with C-store next door and parking is right in front your door. Our rooms feature pillow-topped comfy beds, carpeting, private bathroom and all our rooms have fridge/microwave and in-room coffee. Also A/C, satellite TV and free WiFi. We can accommodate small to larger families, and rooms have a back door leading to our spacious backyard with seating, BBQ's and a relaxing view of the lake. A Cozy Place to Stay While in Barry's Bay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Pinewood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinewood Inn Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinewood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.