We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spectacle Lake Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barry's Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spectacle Lake Lodge
Save
You added Spectacle Lake Lodge to your Saves list
17-B Spectacle Lake Road, Barry's Bay, Ontario K0J 1B0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
MARKHAM
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Little Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Had a wonderful couple's experience for a snowmobiling weekend. Discovered the location while stopping for lunch the previous year. We are returning this summer.
The rooms in the lodge are very comfortable. The staff goes out of its way to make you feel welcome.
As for the food, the restaurant is to DIE for! I am French from France, and food is a very important part of my everyday living. The chef has incredible imagination to try new dishes, flavors, and presentation. Kudos to everyone there.
Can't wait to see the lodge in summer!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    6
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
27
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sandhurst Shores, On
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stopped in for breakfast on Thursday. The classiest, best breakfast we have eaten in Ontario. Beautiful presentation and great food. The french toast with real maple syrup is a must try. Clean, clean clean everywhere. Good service and a great view, on a very cold winter day.
The washroom waste paper containers are a real novelty.
They are open for Sunday brunch.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We found this location researching venues for our wedding and oh I found a gem. Sharon (the owner) was amazing, her staff were amazing and they made our day the happiest day I could have asked for. They were accommodating. My guests loved it. They really went the extra mile to make sure we were well taken care of.
The Food. OMG. I have never eaten so well in my life. You would never expect such an amazing menu, but 5 Stars all around. I couldn't believe it really. I am not over exaggerating, you must experience it yourself to fully understand. The top restaurants that I have been to so far have nothing on Spectacle Lake Lodge.
As far as the location goes, a nice quiet lake. Great place to relax. My dream spot. We will be going back as often as we can.

Room Tip: Rooms in the lodge are lovely (Room 1 - the Honeymooners Suit has an amazing bathroom) but I really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We have stayed at Spectacle Lake Lodge 5 ot 6 times now, and love it more every time! Our latest trip, at the beginning of September, was two couples. This is an ideal place for kids or couples, and summer or winter fun-seekers. Whether you're looking to relax or get out, this is a good place to stay. We hiked a number of the local trails, drove into Barry's Bay and checked out some of the eclectic shops there, canoed, kayaked, and peddleboated (all supplied at the lodge) and hung out in the sun on the beach and dock. There is a small play area with swings, sand box, and toys for the kids, too. So relaxing! For sledders, the snowmobile trails pass right by the lodge. We have also been at Spectacle Lake Lodge for Thanksgiving several times - they do an amazing spread.

Over the years, we have stayed in the lodge and in the cabins. I think I like the lodge better (just my preference), but the cabins are good, too. I think most cabins offer a kitchen or kitchenette, which may be better for familes.

We'll be back again next year!

Room Tip: If you choose to stay in the lodge, rooms 1, 1A, and 2 face the beach. They are our first choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

we stop for a lunch. we are 2 biker .the owner give us clean towel and accept than we can go in the lake to swim. it was very welcome. thanks an other time. after 6 hours in motocycle.we were happy
the lunch was very good.
beautiful place

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Last week's sledding trip took us to Spectacle Lake Lodge for a couple of nights again in a new year. As usual the food, rooms and service were excellent. This year, due to a breakdown on the trail, we were going to be very late getting in one night. We called Sharon to let her know the situation. She just said to call when we would be underway again, so she'd have an eta. We got in just before 9pm. She alone had the kitchen going and prepared and served all nine of us an excellent 3 course meal and cleared the table too. We'd all have been happy just to have a bowl of soup. One would never have guessed she was all alone, if we hadn't known it. Very impressive! Rooms/cabins were great too, as in the past. Thankyou Sharon and company, Markus Knecht, Brampton ON, (MacMillan party).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We visited Spectacle Lake Resort twice several years ago, when our kids were teenagers, and recently returned with our adult son and his girlfriend. This is a small resort, with cottages and lodge rooms overlooking a beautiful little lake. The cottages are not luxurious, but are clean and comfortable, and each has a fire pit outside as well as as a gas fire inside (although the thermostat had been removed, presumably so this could not be used in summer). The rates include unlimited use of canoes and kayaks, as well as a nice little beach that is good for swimming.
A negative - and the reason that my review is less than 4 star - is that the cottages are quite close together and several can accommodate up to 8 people. Our group of 4 was sandwiched between a large family group on one side and an even larger group of adults on the other side. As several additional adults from another cottage also spent most of their time at the cottage next to us, along with their two large dogs, it made for a lot of noise and very limited privacy. We did not complain as they were not really doing anything wrong - there were just so many of them! We will likely return to Spectacle Lake as their are so many positives, but a suggestion would be to limit of the number of adults who can occupy or converge at a cottage, at least on one end of the row, to make things a little more peaceful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spectacle Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spectacle Lake Lodge

Address: 17-B Spectacle Lake Road, Barry's Bay, Ontario K0J 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barry's Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Barry's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Spectacle Lake Lodge! Our lodge has 9 cottages, 5 lodge rooms, 140 occupancy gourmet restaurant, bar and fireside lounge, beach, terrace conference center, dock, hot tub and trails. All accommodations have A/C, fully winterized, potable tap water, flat panel TVs with 120+ channels and most have fireplaces. We LOVE hosting families, ATVers, snowmobilers, poker-runs, weddings, business retreats and travelers of all descriptions. We are family-owned and operated and you will not find a higher level of service and care. Take care. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spectacle Lake Hotel Barry`s Bay
Spectacle Lake Lodge Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spectacle Lake Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.