We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressive!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rhubarb Restaurant

Rhubarb Restaurant
8650 Peggy's Cove Road, Indian Harbour, Nova Scotia B3Z 3P4, Canada
+1 902-821-3013
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $21
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: If you want fresh, locally-sourced food served in a casual atmosphere among friends, Rhubarb is it. Operators, Jim and Diane Buckle care a lot about their food and their customers and it shows. Together, they have crafted a tasty array of seasonal, value-priced dishes to tempt serious gourmands and comfort foodies alike presented with unsurpassable service. Whether you live in the neighborhood or are visiting from away, come enjoy the creative cookery at Rhubarb - minutes from Peggy's Cove, and less than an hour from Halifax.Rhubarb is partnered with and located directly adjacent to Oceanstone Seaside Resort.Visit our Art Gallery and Bakeshop.
Regina, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Impressive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Rhubarb Restaurant is a fantastic place to eat. With it's amazing view and cozy atmosphere you can't help but relax. Drove out from Halifax on a rainy night, the fireplace was going and it was so cozy. The view was fantastic and the food was delicious. This was our third time visiting and we have been impressed every time we've dropped in.
The fish and chips were fresh and crispy, the Caesar salad was fantastic with its homemade croutons and real bacon. The donair pizzas were delicious, best I've ever had! (they even sell the spices there).
Some of the things that make Rhubarb stand out are the homemade food that's fresh and local. ( including the "Hell Bay" beer. ) The owners who make you feel at home, the view, the service, and the art work on the walls. It's an all round great place to visit. If you are in the area make sure you drop in, you won't be disappointed! Well worth the drive.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djbucklerhubarb, Owner at Rhubarb Restaurant, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Wow, thank you for such a nice review. It is always nice to hear we are doing things right. Our goal is to ensure each guest feels at home when they walk through our doors. We look forward to seeing you all again next time you are in Nova Scotia. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    34
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brockville, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

On my first day in Nova Scotia, we stopped at this gem during a visit to Peggy's Cove. Amazing food and great staff. The artwork on the walls by local artist Andrea Redmond is stunning. I would've made room in my suitcase for the Highland Cow collage, but alas it was spoken for. You must have a Nova Scotia beer while you enjoy the art, the view, and your dinner. Don't forget to purchase a homemade after-dinner chocolate. I still dream about the salted caramel treat I devoured.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djbucklerhubarb, Owner at Rhubarb Restaurant, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We always appreciate guests taking the time to share their experience. The chocolates are certainly "dream worthy"! We can always ship a box your way, just give us a call! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I was so impressed by Rhubard - great prices, amazing food and competent service. The ambiance is lovely with numerous tables overlooking the water. When we went it was 2 hours before they were closing and there were 2 other tables. The server seated us in the middle of the restaurant, while there were numerous vacant ocean view tables and then asked us if that seat was okay for the view. I found that very strange and wondered why we were not being seated in a table overlooking the ocean. We did have a four year old child so perhaps the management wants to save prime seating for childless patrons?

Aside from that, our meal was truly amazing. Hot, homemade biscuits were brought out to start. Following was their seafood chowder that had a thin broth (typical of Nova Scotia) and was heaped with salmon, haddock, lobster, mussels and complimented by cubes of potatoes and carrots. The flavour was fabulous, it was obviously very fresh.

Next we had fish and chips in a gluten free batter. The underside of the fish was slightly slimy and wet but the top was light and crisp - very tasty. The fish was not overcooked or rubbery but light and flaky. Obviously, it was very fresh fish. The chips were hand cut, crisp and sprinkled with sea salt. The slaw was also delicious and clearly freshly made. Even the tartar sauce was spectacular, herbed and very yummy.

The presentation of the food was so lovely and the prices are all very reasonable, especially in such a touristy location. Skip the overpriced, commercial, mass produced food at the lighthouse restaurant and get some homemade fare at Rhubarb!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Two great meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

While staying at Ocean Stone we had an opportunity to sample two great meals. First for brunch perfect "bennie" (eggs benedictine), and later in the evening the spinach feta salad and pan fried haddock, Hospitality and service superb, food of highest quality and presentation, ambiance great, ... well, perhaps we could do without a strange hum from either speakers or heating/venting system - a bit distracting. Highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djbucklerhubarb, Owner at Rhubarb Restaurant, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review rhubarb. We certainly appreciate it. We are always happy to hear our guests enjoyed not 1, but 2 great meals. Oceanstone Resort is wonderful spot to spend a few days and I am glad rhubarb added to your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Yum, yum, yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

A warm welcome awaited us on entering the restaurant, our coats taken and lead into the delightful dining area. Superb food was coupled with equally superb service. We will definitely be returning to this treasure.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djbucklerhubarb, Owner at Rhubarb Restaurant, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
It is very kind of you to share your dining experience. Thank you for taking the time to do so. We are so pleased to know that you felt welcome and comfortable. That is our goal for all of our guests. Chef Jon Geneau certainly prepares wonderful food and we are thrilled you enjoyed it.
Please come visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rhubarb Restaurant also viewed

Indian Harbour, Halifax Region
Hacketts Cove, Halifax Region
 
Peggy's Cove, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Rhubarb Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rhubarb Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.