We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hell No!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury to your Saves list
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   717 Reeves Street, Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia B9A 2S2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Hawkesbury
Halifax, NS
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Hell No!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

We thought "best surprise is no surprise" but no.

We had booked a "deluxe executive suite with a balcony" and a cot in the room. At The Maritime Inn a room has a bed, an"executive suite" has a bed and a chair and a "deluxe executive suite" has a bed and two chairs. Don't be fooled by talk of a "sitting area".

Our room was not ready at check in and still not ready when we had to leave for the wedding at almost 4 o'clock, even though they had let most of the housekeeping staff leave for the day. We came back at 1 o'clock in the morning to be told that they had not put a cot in the room as booked and confirmed and that all cots were locked away and they could offer us an air mattress that we would have to make up ourselves. We paid an unbelievable 145 plus tax a night and to put it into perspective we just booked the Sofitel Heathrow terminal 5 for 127. Halifax has many nicer hotels for under 145, so does the South Shore of Nova Scotia and the Valley

The front desk staff were very nice but obviously the management just don't get it in this part of the world that hospitality and value for the dollar is very important in the hotel business.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this review, April 25, 2011
Please accept our sincere apologies for your disappointing visit with our property in Port Hawkesbury. The problem with the late check - in and not having a cot in the room as reserved, was a failure on our part. Please be aware that this quality of service is not typical. We strive for a high standard of service, unfortunately we did not meet that standard and for that we are truly sorry. Over the last number of years we have been making improvements to our rooms and public areas in a phased approach, if you were to revisit our property i assure you that you would find significant changes. We carefully consider many factors in setting our rates, including the need to continue to upgrade our product and service standards. Our goal continues to be that, we will provide the best accommodations in our rural area at a fair price.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    36
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
15
12
3
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, BC
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

We drove across Canada from Vancouver Island. and found that this hotel was very welcoming to our Two Weimaraners and treated us with the upmost respect and did the most to make our stay their as comfortable and relaxing as possible.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

While it was a little on the expensive side, we had a newly remodeled room and very comfortable beds. The staff was very helpful. There is a guest laundry on site. The pool and fitness center are a little dated, but very functional.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

When we stayed there, my room was in the basement, and we could not park down there due to renos. Thats ok. but everything else way not a good experience. The pipes were clanking in my room on arrival, and there was a banging noise , which I thought was the construction workers inthe room beside mine. I called front desk and they said there was no noise. I complained several times, and the banging continued into the night and into the morning. I was cranky about the whole experience. It was expensive for the quality of room,. The room directly beside mine had the door wide open and all the walls were exposed and there was a VERY cold wind blowing right through this room into the hallway and into my room. Renovating I understand. renting a room beside a completely gutted room, with no parking, a banging noise all night long, and garbage outside and dumpsters for a view, i dont understand.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this review, April 25, 2011
Please accept our apologies for your disappointing stay at our property. In a phased approach we have been making improvements to our rooms and public areas, which includes, new windows and heating, air conditioning units. Weekdays are quite busy for our property and often need all rooms that are available, even during renovations. We always ask our contractors to work only from 8:00am until 5:00pm daily. Guests should have been notified of the renovations when the reservation was made as well as upon check - in. We rarely have problems with noise in the evening and again we apologize for this. Thank you for your comments, they are greatly appreciated.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

This hotel was older with little to recommend it. On checking in, we were assigned rooms on the first floor. With reception on the second floor, we asked how we were to get our luggage to the rooms and were told just to carry it down the stairs.
After we lugged our luggage downstairs we noticed a parking lot in the rear of the hotel, from which we could easily have transported our luggage to the first floor. I guess the man at the desk didn't know that.

The bathroom was definitely OLD. The mirror was desilvering at the edges, the tub had some mold issues, the soap dish was totally worn out. This room needed serious renovations.

The box springs were dirty and had a hole. Again, things just looked old in the bedroom.

On a positive note, the food in the restaurant was quite good and not too costly. The waitress was very pleasant as well.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

We stayed at the Maritime Inn from Sept 18-20th, 2009 and had a great time. The room was newly renovated, spacious and very nicely decorated. We went to the bar the first evening for a few drinks and snacks. The 2nd night we had 4 family/friends join us and everyone was very impressed with their meal. A great place to stay, maybe a little over-priced but a very nice place to stay.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

Not the Ritz but it was clean and the shower was excellent. Judging from other reviews this place has had its make-over. Showers were reconditioned and excellent. Staff was friendly and this is a good base camp for touring Cape Breton. I asked other guests their opinion and they thought the same. One guys said "alot better than comfort Inn". 2 pools one outside and one inside, small but the kids seemed to be enjoying it. Nice pub / restaurant in lower section. Free wireless but I didn't try it, computer in lobby for you to use.. I would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury

Address: 717 Reeves Street, Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia B9A 2S2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Port Hawkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Hawkesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury Hotel Port Hawkesbury
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.