We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury to your Saves list
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   717 Reeves Street, Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia B9A 2S2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Hawkesbury
Halifax, Canada
1 review
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is a nice hotel which serves a good breakfast but what makes it stand out is the excellent staff that works there. They are very friendly and accommodating and willing to go that extra mile for their guests, literally. My wife and I were staying there for our daughter's wedding and had arrived at the church, which was about 20 minutes away, waiting for the ceremony to begin. It was then discovered that some of the flowers for the bride's parents and grandmother were left behind at the hotel. We called the front desk to ask if they could get the flowers out of the room and send them by taxi to the church. The person at the front desk, Donna Carrigan, not only got the flowers but personally brought them to us in her own vehicle. This kind deed saved us valuable time, considering the church was full and I am sure people were starting to wonder what the delay was. It was a very thoughtful gesture which we greatly appreciated and won't soon forget.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    36
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
15
12
3
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights and found it very comfortable. The room rate was reasonable and the rooms were well sized and clean. We did not do much apart from sleep here (we were at a family wedding) but this was more than good enough for that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Pq, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The staff was terrific at this road side hotel. The information provided by the front desk (steering me clear of any noisy rooms on a Sat night) was excellent. The room was meticulously clean and quiet. The restaurants on site were well-priced and being on the "main strip" of Port Hawkesbury, there were lots of food options near by. The pool was great for the children and the sauna and gym facilities great as well. A nice place to stop.

Room Tip: I asked for a room facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Nice place, on our way to Cabot Trail.
Simple room, but wide; maybe a bit too humid.
Fitness center, with also sauna and pool - but we had no time to use it.
We had the simplest breakfast included in the price.
Free wi-fi.
Ok for one night.

Room Tip: Ask to be accomodated on first or second floor, NOT under the breakfast room: apparently the waitres...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

after having stayed at the bug infested Causeway motel in Port Hastings, our second night in the area at the Maritime Inn in Port Hawkesbury was a pleasant surprise. Clean rooms, pleasant front staff, and best of all, the luck to get the last room when we enquired first thing in the morning when our accommodation plans had changed.

Comfortable beds, large fitness area, swimming pool and in-house restaurants all added to the overall experience. When back in the area we will definitely come back to this establishement.

Room Tip: Rooms at back are away from the bigger of the 2 streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Pros:

- Millers Pub
- Pool
- Accommodating Staff
- Clean Rooms

Cons:

- Terrible pillow top matresses
- Old CRT TVs, its 2013 already upgrade!
- Terrible internet
- No fridge
- Outrages prices (160$/night with tax)

Summary:

Will avoid staying here again, I have family in town and anytime I'm back here for business I will not be staying here. I realize that this is the only respectable hotel in town so you can charge whatever you want, but still, these prices are in line with what I pay per night in Alberta...

Also as a businessman my 3 main concerns when staying in a hotel are: bed, TV, and internet. And all 3 were dreadful. But I still gave it 3 star because the staff was great and the hotel was mostly quiet at nights.

Room Tip: Avoid the bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mugla, Turkey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed in the Maritime Inn, during our trip on the North West Coast of Canada.
Understood that we had made a good chose by booking this Hotel.
We have been given a special treat by the chef for dinner, as he prepared the exact meal we asked for, and perfectly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury

Address: 717 Reeves Street, Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia B9A 2S2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Port Hawkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Hawkesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury Hotel Port Hawkesbury
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.