We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury

Save Saved
You added Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   717 Reeves Street, Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia B9A 2S2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Port Hawkesbury
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was a comfortable hotel. Not fancy, but clean and comfortable. I don't usually have high expectations for hotel restaurants, but this was a pleasant surprise. We did not have any issues with the WiFi.

Room Tip: Breakfast is not complimentary, but the restaurant does a fine job.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy B, Guest Relations Manager at Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We thank you for your response of our property! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit here with us, and appreciated the comfort and cleanliness of the rooms. Luckily our WiFi connection has improved due to more access points being installed throughout the hotel! We hope you will join us again in the near future and again thank you for your kind comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    28
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
11
10
2
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Rooms are nice, though unremarkable. Clean and well laid out. There is also a very good restaurant in the hotel for dinner - a good selection of beer and very good food. Being in the Maritimes, the staff are always friendly and chatty.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the updated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy B, Guest Relations Manager at Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property, we greatly appreciate your feedback. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us, and you were satisfied with our great food and staff! We hope you stay with us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Williams, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

As a fresh air fiend even in winter I found it somewhat claustrophobic since I couldn't open the window. The drive-up room was convenient. Beds were very comfy. Room was clean. I checked for bedbugs. Matress was pristine! :) Internet was spotty.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfville NS
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The best things to say about the Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury are that the bed is comfortable and the staff are very friendly. It is convenient that the hotel has a restaurant and fitness centre. The rooms need a makeover, the rugs in the halls have seen better days, and the wireless is spotty at best (very frustrating on a business trip). The hotel is located on the main drag of the town, and in the morning there is the inevitable sound of truck traffic. It is a clean play to stay, and very basic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterlington, Louisiana
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Good solid clean room. Its not fancy but it works.

The restaurant has a nice selection of items with a special every night. Usually there is a lighter fare item. The breakfast on the run is a great value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Conveniently located in the centre of town near all the restaurants, strip malls, etc. Room was clean and had the usual amenities (hair dryer, iron, ironing boad, soap/shampoo, etc.). TV had full cable but no on demand movies.

I was surprised that the hotel had a pool and fitness centre, and it's own restaurant. No free breakfast buffet, however.

Paid $89/night on a Monday night.

Bed was very comfortable.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage to lug and like a quiet room, ask for one on the first floor, which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This town doesn't have a lot of options to choose from and this place is ok. Nothing special about it but the bed was comfortable. The rate would be better if it had included breakfast. Bathroom needed updating. No real character - just basic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy B, Guest Relations Manager at Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly appreciate feedback from our guests so that we can make improvements and make your stay a memorable one. We have undergone renovations in 2010 in some of our rooms, which include a renovated bathroom, flat screen tv's as well as rooms with refridgerators. If you so choose to visit our property again, we would be happy to try to accommodate you with one of these rooms. I am happy to hear you found the bedding comfortable. Again, thank you for your review and we hope that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury

Address: 717 Reeves Street, Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia B9A 2S2, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Port Hawkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Port Hawkesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury Hotel Port Hawkesbury
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.