We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Future potential” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury to your Saves list
Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury
388 Highway 4, Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia B9A 1M5, Canada (Formerly known as the Port Hawkesbury Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port Hawkesbury
Hammonds Plains,NS
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Future potential”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The outside looked like we should have booked somewhere else...but the room was clean, beds were comfortable and we had a view of the Canso Strait. The mini-fridge kept things cold and there was a dvd player with the tv. There is still some cosmetic issues to be addressed but you can see that a few have been done.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    7
    7
    7
See reviews for
8
10
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Andrews, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Not sure of the current name of the place we stayed. It was actually across the road from the Hearthstone Inn.....was formerly Econolodge, but I think is perhaps owned by same.
We arrived late evening with no reservation on the Thanksgiving weekend. Room was comfortable and clean. We were delighted to find they had an indoor pool. Although it was in a separate building the weather was warm enough to walk over with our swimsuits on. We had a great swim for an hour before bed. Continental breakfast was cereal, toast, bagels, muffins, coffee, tea, juice....about what you would expect. Location is good right at the beginning of Cape Breton Island. Price was more than I would have expected in the off-season.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventureLovers
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at this motel for two nightas the end of Sept 2012.Used it as our
base for a day trip around the Cabot Trail.
The location was perfect for this.The hotel itself appeared outdated on the exterior
so we didn't know what we were getting into.
Check in was fine with a nice lady checking us in.If I understood right the office
closed at 11P.M..The room we stayed in was fine and looked like it had been updated,
with a comfortable bed,nice T.V. and the bathroom was clean with lots of hot water.
Friends who stayed with us did fine a great bit of dust behind their desk.
The website stated that they serve a continental breakfast,however,there was no
sign of one,although,they do have a nice restaurant. We had a nice breakfast of
coffee,2 eggs,bacon,hashbrowns and toast for $6.99,and the service was excellent.
I might stay here again if the price was a little lower,however,I didn't feel that this
hotel warranted the price they charged,especially in late Sept,however maybe they
charge that because of the location. Overall we would rate this a 3 out of 5.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed there at the end of August 2012. We arrived late at around 9PM. The entrance to our room had lots of spider webs. Some of them are really BIG. The room was clean but it had some kind of bad smell. This place does not provide breakfast. We checked out very early next day. It was not a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pollock Pines, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed one night on our way from Ingonish to Halifax. We were appalled that the carpet and bedspread were stained, the wallpaper was peeling, the paint was dirty and chipped, the lampshade was torn and stained, and the towels were thin.The old baseboard heater was rusted with part of it broken off (but it worked using the wall thermostat). There was 1 desk and 1 desk chair but no table or armchairs.

On the up side, the cabinetry was nice, the bed and desk chair were comfortable, the mini-fridge was new and the microwave was clean, plus there was a coffeemaker, iron and hairdryer. The bathroom shower curtain was clean and the tile floor looked new. There were 2 packaged cookies with the coffeemaker. Our room had a view of the Cansco Strait.

This motel would be a 3 star if they would finish updating everything in the rooms, especially the carpet, bedspreads, wallpaper and heating unit. Maybe they keep the light wattage low so people won't notice the stains, etc.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Room was clean and beds were reasonably comfortable, but hotel is old-fashioned single story and somewhat rundown. Rooms are also very dark, even with all available lights on. During the day, open curtains improve that somewhat, but also remove privacy.

Warning, walls are VERY thin. We could hear phones ring, and listen to conversations in the room next to ours. Bring your white-noise generator.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise , Nl.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Read some reviews before I left on this business trip, I should have believed what I read. This place is horrible, dirty & not worth the money. We had 5 rooms booked for our crew & we all came to the same conclusion. There was a fire our first night there & no one told us. We only found out because we had no hot water for 2 days & the repairmen informed us it was because the hot water heater caught fire & they kept it quiet. Our rooms were full of insects & you would not walk on the carpets in your bare feet. On top of all this, we were given a corporate rate of $103.00 per night. We finally moved to a much better hotel after 2 weeks & got if for $3.00 a night cheaper. We spent over $8,000.00 at this dump & they still billed us for a 1 night no show.
Do yourself a favor, if you cannot find a room elsewhere, get a tent.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury

Address: 388 Highway 4, Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia B9A 1M5, Canada (Formerly known as the Port Hawkesbury Motel)
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Port Hawkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port Hawkesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as the jewel of Canada, Cape Breton Island is one of the world's most visited spots. Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, located at the entrance to the island, is the perfect place to start your adventure in this scenic Atlantic Canada masterpiece. Our newly-renovated hotel features 26 smoke-free guest rooms and a friendly staff dedicated to providing you a warm Maritime welcome. With tastefully decorated queen and king bed rooms featuring all the comforts of home, the Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury is the answer to your travelling needs. Enjoy the Convenience of Free Wi-Fi & Our On-Site Restaurant Whether you are taking the family on vacation or visiting on business, we offer a worry-free stay and a restful night's sleep. You will enjoy free Wi-Fi access, free in-room coffee, sleep-enhancing mattresses, complimentary morning newspaper and a range of other sought-after amenities. Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury boasts the added convenience of an on-site restaurant and lounge. If you are in town for a conference at the Port Hawkesbury Civic Centre or planning to check out some of the award-winning golf courses on the island, come home to the Hearthstone Inn. We will cater to your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.