We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely home in which to spend a few days. A home away from home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mackenzie House Tourist Home

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mackenzie House Tourist Home to your Saves list
Mackenzie House Tourist Home
4 Tupper Court, Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Canada
1 review
“A lovely home in which to spend a few days. A home away from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

The bed was very comfortable and everything was clean and well cared for. Our stay was planned for two days but we decided to extend it to three days because we found it so very comfortable and homey. The host was attentive to our needs and the breakfast was well prepared and presented each morning. We will be returning to the area in the fall of this year for the Celtic Colors Festival and have already booked our room.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    12
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
20
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

After reading the reviews, we were looking forward to staying here. It is in a great location if you are attending the Opening Night Concert of the Celtic Colours however the noise from the showers and toilets throughout the house kept us awake. Be prepared for an early rise if you are sleeping upstairs as the noise from the breakfast room travels up the stairway. During the off-season, this house, B&B, caters to the college students.
The rooms were clean and the breakfast very nice, however, the house lacked any feeling of warmth or cozyness.. It is a large, relatively new house in a subdivision operated as a business. Note: careful that you are given the room that you booked!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swifterbant
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

This 5 star B&B is worth the stay. The B&B is very cosy, has a private parking place and is situated in a quiet neighbourhood of Port Hawkesbury. The room we had was very clean and large, nice bed and had a cable TV and we could make use of the common living room. Breakfast was excellent. Price: $105,- excl. 13% taxes (we had the smallest room availible).

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, NS, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

I have stayed at MacKenzie House twice in the last two months while in the area on business. It is now my preferred destination. Beautiful rooms with very comfortable beds; clean, modern rooms; great location close to downtown but far enough away to be quiet. The included breakfast has been delicious and served when needed. Service has been friendly and A1 - no issues whatsoever.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phildog86
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

Property was incredibly clean and comfortable. Great location right across from mainland, the gateway to Cape Breton! Staff very knowledgeable about area to give advice for sightseeing, also incredibly friendly and welcoming. Great food, service, rooms, location, staff... include this place in your stay on the East Coast of Canada, you will definitely be recommending it to friends and family!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria,BC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

We were pleased to arrive and have a more suitable room than the one we had discussed on the phone. Initially we were told we would have just a king bed but received a king bed with a double which worked out great since we had a toddler and baby with us. We had planned to stay the one night while we made other arrangements, but because our room was so comfortable we decided to stay there for our whole trip instead. The owner was kind enough to negotiate a better rate for us since we were staying longer.

We opted to fend for ourselves instead of having breakfast there so we can't really comment on that, but we did notice tables with various cereals and a toaster with bread in the dining room. We didn't make use of them, but there were comfortable facilities like a games room with a pool table. Access to the kitchen was handy for us.

The owner was quite friendly but we can't really comment on how available he was as we were out most of the time except late in the evenings and we only saw him in passing.

My favorite part was how comfortable the beds were! Also having high speed wireless was very useful.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Alberta
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2008

Located on a quiet bay in town. If a beautiful view is important to you, this is not the place to stay as the only thing you can see is the driveway and the neighbors homes.


The home was a newer (1980’s) large property with numerous rooms throughout. We were in the loft above the pool table. This resulted in a late night as you could hear the game going on below us. The room was temperature controlled from downstairs so the first night we were uncomfortably warm, The next night I located the controls and made it cooler for our part of the home. We did not try the jetted tub although it did look inviting. The place needed some maintenance with tiles lifting from the bathroom floor. The shower was quite small considering the available space.

The spotlight outside our window was meant to illuminate their sign but it illuminated our room until well after midnight.

The bed was comfortable. The room was quiet (except for the pool game), comfortable and spacious. The TV was as old as the house…..maybe older.

Breakfast started with yogurt and fresh fruit. This was the highlight. Coffee was decent. The main course was quiche (what’s with quiche everywhere we go in Nova Scotia?) which was not all that inviting and some kind of sweet maple flavored sausages (yuk to us). What’s worse…..it was the identical breakfast two mornings in a row. We thought that they would at least offer some variety. Don’t use the jam……it was in a very large jar with remnants of numerous previous users left behind.

Rated as 5 Star by Canada Select, we rate the Mackenzie House as a 3 1/2 star.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mackenziehouse, owner at Mackenzie House Tourist Home, responded to this review, May 19, 2009
Constructive criticism allows for the business to respond in a positive manner resulting in improved service to our guests. This review member made reference to the amenities available such as the quiet, comfortable and spacious room, the jetted tub, control over the room temperature, and fresh fruit and yogurt for breakfast.

Changes have been made to address the negative concerns raised. The ceramic tiles, damaged by a guest earlier in the week were repaired. Guests are not permitted to use the pool table after 8:30 pm. The spotlight has been changed. Breakfasts are changed daily and only repeated every five days. The quality control with items at the table such as the jams has been addressed with the new cook.

Most people comment on the nice private location in a small town and enjoy the lovely home. I've placed a request in the rooms encouraging our guests to make their comments on the trip advisor site as well as in the comment books provided in each room so that they may have the opportunity to present their perspective in writing to the owner directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mackenzie House Tourist Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackenzie House Tourist Home

Address: 4 Tupper Court, Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Port Hawkesbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Port Hawkesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MacKenzie House is a Canada Select 5 Star property strategically located at the entry area of Nova Scotia's masterpiece, Cape Breton Island. This is the ideal location for those planning a vacation to explore the island and experience the seascapes, outstanding cuisine, hospitality, rousing ceilidhs and inspiring history. Visit the island and you will soon realize why Cape Breton has been given the distinction as one of the most beautiful islands in the world.We provide warm hospitality in a quality setting on the front porch of Cape Breton Island.Treat yourself to the luxury of a property rated by Canada Select to be among the best in the country. We take pride in providing you with a very high level of service, hospitality and quality accommodations. Our assistance and guidance is available upon request in an effort to make your stay more enjoyable and create a desire to stay a little longer or return to experience more of our culture.The property has all the expected amenities including air conditioning, free wifi, outside entrances, telephones in the rooms, ensuite baths, queen and king size beds, kitchenette, guest's dining area, free hot breakfasts, laundry, games room, in room TV's, in room desks, guest living room, etc. Enjoy a fine home while visiting this remarkable island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mackenzie House Tourist Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackenzie House Tourist Home Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mackenzie House Tourist Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.