We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Soup Inn

Stone Soup Inn
6755 Cowichan Lake Rd., Lake Cowichan, British Columbia V0R 2G0, Canada
(250) 749-3848
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Truly amazing meal. Every bite was exquisite. What I thought was super neat was the fir needle ice cream sitting on top of the rhubarb tart - it is fun and enjoyable to eat things that you would not ordinarily. Our trip to the Stone Soup Inn was memorable, although I do gotta save the pennies to go back - but worth every penny saved. Also, the atmosphere was kinda casual, which I liked as you get to enjoy 5 star food without having to be "fluffy". Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Urban sophistication in a country setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This restaurant would compete successfully in any major city you care to name. The menu is table d'hôte, 5 courses for $65. The wine pairings, which are well-chosen, are $35. Each course is imaginative, original and prepared with a delicate touch which is very respectful of each individual flavour. Because the ingredients are almost all fresh and local, the result is very fine indeed. The wine list is comprised of local wines, which are surprisingly good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“destination eating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The chef here has a deft hand with all things local (many from his property). A five or six course tasting menu is offered Thurs - Sun as well as a wine list and pairings of all-local wines. Some courses (tiny Japanese turnips braised and served in a puree of their greens.... local lamb with a housemade mustard...) and some wine pairings were truly inspired. All was delicious. We do not generally eat dessert but were tempted to share one on our second evening in the restaurant -- allow yourself to be tempted!! We stayed at the B & B which is right on the transCanada trail and perfect for cycling or hiking. Lucky us had the same host and chef for a full cooked breakfast. We loved this place for a long weekend getaway and will come back for the pleasure of the food!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An amazing dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

My husband and I have had the pleasure of dining here twice and both times were very impressed. We felt like we had a high end city restaurant experience without the crowds or high price tag. The staff are very friendly and the Chef often will come out and spend some time with you and explain his menu choices - which are always local and in season, which we appreciate. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Delightful Restaurant & Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We had a lovely meal here. We did not know what to expect, other than I had read good reviews. When I phoned to make reservations, I was asked about food allergies and preferences. But, other than that, I wasn't sure if there would be a menue to choose from or a set menu. We were warmly greated and taken to our room, as we had opted to stay overnight (which was very pleasant). We had a wonderful five course meal, chef's choosing. Everything was fresh, beautiully presented, and very tasty. Our particular favourite was the marinated cod. The apple streudle desert too was wonderful. The service was very friendly and, given there was only one other group seated in the restaurant that night, it felt very relaxed and welcoming.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Soup Inn also viewed

Lake Cowichan, Vancouver Island
Lake Cowichan, Vancouver Island
 
Lake Cowichan, Vancouver Island
Lake Cowichan, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Stone Soup Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Soup Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.