We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Waterfront Lodge

Save Saved
You added Boutique Waterfront Lodge to your Saves list
Boutique Waterfront Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Boutique Waterfront Lodge
73 Soutthshore Rd, Lake Cowichan, British Columbia, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Port Alberni, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

If anyone wants a quaint romantic getaway or even a family weekend, I highly recommend this Lodge. It is absolutely beautiful anytime of the year and the caretaker Mabel is an absolute sweetheart. It is located right on a river and in a nice small community that has every thing within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Location was ideal. #4 Suite was ok but not as clean as I would have liked. The pillows were flat as pancakes. Bedding was not clean. Looked like chocolate stains on comforter and pillow. We stayed a week and we did not have our bedding changed or made up once. The bathroom only had towels changed. Never cleaned until I requested. Same with kitchen towels we had to ask for a clean set. Don't have expectations of anything 'boutique' or 'hotel' about the place. I'm so thankful we had wonderful weather. There is not a lot of choice in Lake Cowichan so you have to take what you can get.

Room Tip: Choose only Suite #4 or #5 as they have decks and face the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The on-site contact, Mabel, is a charming, accommodating lady. She went way out of her way to make sure we knew where everything was and that all our needs and desires were met! We were in the Spa Suite #5, and we could tell that someone went to a lot of effort to make this room warm and romantic. The common area overlooking the river is wonderful, and the swims from the dock were great.

Room Tip: The river facing rooms are without a doubt the best. #2 for a couple is outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have gone here a few times and are going again and can't wait. For the price, it is amazing and right on the river. The owners are awesome and totally friendly. There is a great fire pit to roast marshies/dogs on the fire and there is a dock and swimming right in the front. The suites are great, and some are great for families. Just check out the pics and choose. Better book ahead though cause this little gem of a place books up really quickly. Fantastic tubing right outside your door and swimming too. Love to just relax and be in the water right in front of where you are staying....just book and go have fun!! Can't wait to go again!

Room Tip: Look at pics, some are a lot bigger, but not big diff in cost so just go with bigger suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The location of this hotel is absolutely perfect! We arrived on a hot summer day in downtown Lake Cowichan and to our wonderful surprise our hotel was located right on the Cowichan River! The hotel backs right onto the river with a wonderful deck big enough for several guests of the Lodge to enjoy simultaneously. My two teenagers jumped right into the river ready to drift downsream with their inner tubes! How refreshing. After the drift we were ready for dinner. The hotel provides the barbecue, the coals, a picnic table under a lovely old willow tree and a firepit for an evening of marshmallow roasting. We highly recommend the Boutique Waterfront Lodge for those who want a simple get away and quick access to the refeshing Cowichan River.

Room Tip: Waterfront room for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is our third stay and as always, it is a fine place to stay. The freshwater swimming was great even in Sept. We always feel we have great value. The suite has a full kitchen, comfortable eating space and some water views from the bed. There is a free gift basket in the suite that is full of goodies, including a large bag of jujubes, marshmallows, a nice candle, holder, gas lighter, an apron, BBQ utensils (all new ), a souvenir key holder, coffee, teas, full-sized shampoo and big bars of soap---nothing stingy here! There is plenty of campfire wood at no extra charge. Overall the suite was very clean, and all the towels and linens, duvet and pillows were clean and looked to be in new condition. The outside front of the hotel looks tired and not very inviting. But once you get inside, it is very different indeed. The suite is clean and fresh and have a warm ambiance.

Room Tip: Stay in a waterfront suite. It cost a bit more, but is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port McNeill, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Beautiful location but not at all what we expected, it is a little misrepresented. Due to lack of private weekend accomodation rentals in Lake Cowichan, I landed on this place. We didn't really enjoy the river at all as there were so many people there, there wasn't any privacy. The complimentary firepit was surrounded by people(possibly other guests) drinking alcohol and one of my kids witnessed a man throwing a knife at a tree and another punching the swing so needless to say she didn't want to go outside and play we were a little intimidated. I can imagine that if we were the only ones there it would have been OK. We left almost as soon as arriving..I tried to get out of my reservation due to dissatisfaction but was unable. The 2nd night turned out slightly better but the cost of the room was a little high for the services provided. No telephone in the room, no internet and the tv didnt work. Not that we were home to visit for the technology, but it's nice to have access to these things if needed. All in all I would say this place is run down, overpriced BUT in a beautiful spot on the river and in wonderful Lake Cowicahan!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boutique Waterfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Waterfront Lodge

Address: 73 Soutthshore Rd, Lake Cowichan, British Columbia, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Lake Cowichan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty lodging in Lake Cowichan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Boutique Waterfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Waterfront Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.