We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and central.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Oro

Save Saved
You added Hotel De Oro to your Saves list
Hotel De Oro
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel De Oro
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   639 Main Street, Lillooet, British Columbia V0K1V0, Canada (Formerly Gold Panner Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Lillooet
Burnaby, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Clean and central.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The place inside and out is well maintained. The price is fair.
The staff is nice and the place is central. The breakfast was included and the sitting area is grreat! They got a nice set up in this coffee shop with a comfortable atmosphere.

The room I stayed in was facing the Main street, with my windows open it can be loud at night and I am sensitive to noise.

Room Tip: Stay at the backside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    38
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
35
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Great place to stay in town...not like you have many choices. The rooms were clean and everything worked well. The internet was really good and the lock out front door worked well too until it didn't close one time. Quiet place. Lots of rooms. Plenty of parking. Overlooked main street. Quiet town closes down around 8 or 9 at night. Our TV worked well. Hosts weren't too friendly, but ok.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here recently on the Sunday night of the May long weekend. Jay the manager was most helpful in booking the room and checking in. Room was very clean and exactly what we needed for a short stop over. The Motel is located right on the main street, (pun intended) of Lillooet. Central location and an easy walk to everything. A light continental breakfast was served in the restaurant attached to the motel the next morning. Nice and fresh and good coffee. Great way to start the day. Check out was simple, just drop your key in the box at the front desk and you were on your way. If coming back to Lillooet I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Stayed on a room at the back of the motel, was very quite. Looked out onto the street and the garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My friend and I had a double twin room -- small and cute and clean. It was all we needed for the stopover on our roadtrip. The room was clean and convenient, and the beds about as comfortable as you can expect from twins. The continental breakfast was basic, but served in the cafe next door -- which ensured the coffee was of good quality and the service was lovely. It is right next to some of the heritage sites, and just down the street from others. A couple of good restaurants in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed here with a friend on Sunday, Sept. 2, 2012, as part of our 3-day road trip. The hotel doesn't look like much from the outside, but the rooms are surprisingly spacious and very clean. The beds are quite firm. You should know that all the guest rooms are located on the second floor. There is no elevator, so it's not wheelchair-accessible. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast is included with your stay, featuring toast, butter, jam, cereal, coffee / tea, orange juice, milk and fruit, served on the ground floor in the adjoining cafe. Unfortunately there isn't much for a celiac to eat (nothing gluten-free). The hotel offers free Wi-Fi with moderate reception. Hotel DeOro is an absolute bargain in this region. Highly recommended is Dina's Place, a Greek restaurant across the street. The location is good: close to most of the restaurants, a food market, gas station, pub, liquor store and the museum. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

It was fine for one night. The room are better than the impression you first get when you arrive. My husband didn't like the free breakfast and there were no nice hotel amenities. You get a coffee pot, mini-fridge, and cable TV in the room. No frills but over all it was ok for the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stopped here on a motorcycle ride from Vancouver and the staff were great and the room was clean and quiet. Air conditioning and the windows open. Cute little second floor sitting area. Would stay here again. Good value for dollar.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel De Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Oro

Address: 639 Main Street, Lillooet, British Columbia V0K1V0, Canada (Formerly Gold Panner Hotel)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Lillooet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Lillooet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Oro 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel DeOro is the newest Hotel in the Lillooet district. It is independently owned and operated, and our facilities help guests feels right at home. We have clean, modern units and offer twenty-two rooms. We strive to be the best facility in the Lillooet and pride ourselves in cleanliness and superior service ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Hotel De Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.