We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic, off the grid, good for bike tour group” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sky Resort

Blue Sky Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Silverton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Sky Resort
8021 Lower Galena Farm Road | Box 179, Silverton, British Columbia V0G 2B0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Scenic, off the grid, good for bike tour group”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Our bike club of about 15 people stayed one night on a Silver Triangle tour. The place is a little off the beaten path (dirt road up from the highway). Once there it is a wonderfully scenic spot. The 2 storey log cabins seem quite modern. They have nice porch/decks for socializing.

Check-In: The owner stowed our freezable food in her freezer overnight. Thanks!
Noise - nil
Bathroom - has shower only. All fairly new and worked well.

Amenities ...
Kitchen certainly adequate to cook supper and breakfast for a group.
Internet NA
Coffee maker (decaf?) Full kitchen
Fridge bar size
No TV
No phone
Breakfast - cooked for ourselves

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The view of Slocan Lake from Red Mountain Road was spectacular. The fire pit overlooking the valley was a treat. There was lots of cut firewood with kindling to make starting a fire easy. The log cabins are extremely minimalist and austere, but they were also very clean.

The living room was furnished with a futon sofa and coffee table. We were a family of four and would have appreciated another chair so we could all hang out comfortably in the living room.
If the weather was hot, the cabins would be ideal for temperature. Thick wood logs are great insulation against the heat. In early September, however, we found the cabin cold and the electric heat just did not take the chill out of the main floor. The beds are thin futons on hard frames. A thin polyester (not feather) douvet covered each bed. There was an extra comforter in the main room, but the twin beds did not have extra blankets. Our daughters were cold at night. A wood fireplace would have greatly enhanced the warmth in the cabin physically and emotionally. The kitchen and cooking equipment were adequate. The resort is a must for the view, but one or two nights is enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

That was the question we were asking the Blue Sky resort on August 2 2012. We were in a pinch for a room on August 3rd because the Silverton resort had double booked us and hung us out to dry.

The answer? "YES! but only for one night" (the silverton resort later claimed that they pulled the strings to get this last minute reservation, but we had called long before they did)

The resident manager there was more than helpful and accommodating. SHe even got us a reservation at one of the local restaurants on short notice.

The cabin itself was clean and had a beautiful view. It was an adjoining cabin with another unit.

The downside is that the inside walls were paper thin and we could here the party in the other cabin going all night (and they weren't partying... just playing cards). The beds were fairly hard too, not good if you can't handle hard beds, Excellent if you want to sleep on a plank!

Room Tip: Ask about the beds and if you're in an adjoining cabin before you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2006

We stayed at these cottages for 5 days and they were of excellent quality. They are just outside the town of Silverton which has an excellent restaurant (the Jack Harvey), and all the towns around it are most picturesque. Golfing, sailing, fishing, walking, and general messing about at their best.

  • Liked — luxury accommodation
  • Disliked — no TV
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Sky Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sky Resort

Address: 8021 Lower Galena Farm Road | Box 179, Silverton, British Columbia V0G 2B0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Silverton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Silverton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Sky Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Blue Sky Resort to your Saves list