We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest place we stayed in Scotland - plus it's wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seaview Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mallaig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaview Guest House
Save Saved
You added Seaview Guest House to your Saves list
Main Street | Inverness-shire, Mallaig PH41 4QS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Mallaig B&B and Inns
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Friendliest place we stayed in Scotland - plus it's wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We spent just a night in Mallaig between the highland train from Glasgow and the ferry to Skye. Fortunately I'd reserved a room with Fiona well in advance as I can now see why she is kept fully booked! From the moment you cross the threshold, you know you will be treated as an honored guest. Fresh flowers, bunches and bunches of flowers, adorn the public spaces. Every room is carefully planned and subtly, tastefully decorated. Our shared bath was a master bedroom retreat: power shower stall beside a gleaming white tub under a large roof window. Soaps and toiletries were lovely and exotic to our American standards. The soft wool throws on the twin beds were welcome and cosy. Breakfast was huge and delicious and was made available early for our ferry departure. Loved the classy cafetières for both my decaf and my daughter's full-octane. Fiona also helped with my request to sort out the undeterminable bus schedule on Skye. To top it off, when we discovered in Inverness that my daughter had left her retainers in Mallaig, Fiona mailed them to meet us in Edinburgh before we departed for the States. This is someone you would seek out as a best friend, much less an innkeeper!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    172
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
100
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Faultless in every way. Great decor, position, views, welcoming. Nice breakfast.Only £35 for the night. Really worth the trip up to this beautiful area eg on the railway. It doesn't always rain in Scotland!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Excellent - we had room 2 which looks down over the harbour. The place is only a few minutes from the harb our and the station. The room's really comfy, the breakfast is great, and Fiona is outstandingly helpful. A really great place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

lots of littles make a lot............................

off the scale immaculate cleanliness

fresh boutique hotel style room decor

best breakfast in Scotland

friendly and welcoming host

tv remote had an instructions sheet next to it

lots of milks with the in room tea making facilities with teacakes and biscuits

if you read all the previous reviews you know that this place is going to be really good before you stay here, and yes it really, really is...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed here 4 years ago and was so impressed I decided to return. The standards are still top notch. I would like thank Fiona and her team for providing excellent friendly service. I cannot recommend The Sea View highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

WOW where do i start !This place is hard to put into words.Well maybe one word would suffice perfection .This lady could publish a book titled ( how to run the perfect guest house)From arriving until leaving we enjoyed home from home comfort and clenliness and a breakfast fit for a king .Thanks fiona hopefully return if back in mallaig .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Spent one night in a twin room which was very spacious and absolutely immaculate. Not en suite but bathroom was only shared by 2 rooms and looked brand new with a hot powerful shower and separate large bath. Breakfast had a very large selection if fresh produce and a great cooked option. Off street parking and walking distance to local attractions. I would definitely recommend this b&b to friends and will certainly stay there again myself.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seaview Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Guest House

Address: Main Street | Inverness-shire, Mallaig PH41 4QS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Mallaig
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mallaig
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1847 this grand house is now a 6 bedroomed Guest House most with a view of Whitby Abbey and the little fishermans cottages cascading down to the Harbour. Your hosts Brian & Abby have restored this house, adding a bit of their pasion for "art deco". You will be assured of a comforable and stylish stay. Brian being a Swiss trained Chef puts on a breakfast to die for. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaview Guest House Mallaig, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaview Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.