We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest place we stayed in Scotland - plus it's wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seaview Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mallaig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaview Guest House
Save
You added Seaview Guest House to your Saves list
Main Street | Inverness-shire, Mallaig PH41 4QS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 25 Mallaig B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendliest place we stayed in Scotland - plus it's wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We spent just a night in Mallaig between the highland train from Glasgow and the ferry to Skye. Fortunately I'd reserved a room with Fiona well in advance as I can now see why she is kept fully booked! From the moment you cross the threshold, you know you will be treated as an honored guest. Fresh flowers, bunches and bunches of flowers, adorn the public spaces. Every room is carefully planned and subtly, tastefully decorated. Our shared bath was a master bedroom retreat: power shower stall beside a gleaming white tub under a large roof window. Soaps and toiletries were lovely and exotic to our American standards. The soft wool throws on the twin beds were welcome and cosy. Breakfast was huge and delicious and was made available early for our ferry departure. Loved the classy cafetières for both my decaf and my daughter's full-octane. Fiona also helped with my request to sort out the undeterminable bus schedule on Skye. To top it off, when we discovered in Inverness that my daughter had left her retainers in Mallaig, Fiona mailed them to meet us in Edinburgh before we departed for the States. This is someone you would seek out as a best friend, much less an innkeeper!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
113
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Faultless in every way. Great decor, position, views, welcoming. Nice breakfast.Only £35 for the night. Really worth the trip up to this beautiful area eg on the railway. It doesn't always rain in Scotland!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Excellent - we had room 2 which looks down over the harbour. The place is only a few minutes from the harb our and the station. The room's really comfy, the breakfast is great, and Fiona is outstandingly helpful. A really great place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

lots of littles make a lot............................

off the scale immaculate cleanliness

fresh boutique hotel style room decor

best breakfast in Scotland

friendly and welcoming host

tv remote had an instructions sheet next to it

lots of milks with the in room tea making facilities with teacakes and biscuits

if you read all the previous reviews you know that this place is going to be really good before you stay here, and yes it really, really is...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed here 4 years ago and was so impressed I decided to return. The standards are still top notch. I would like thank Fiona and her team for providing excellent friendly service. I cannot recommend The Sea View highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

WOW where do i start !This place is hard to put into words.Well maybe one word would suffice perfection .This lady could publish a book titled ( how to run the perfect guest house)From arriving until leaving we enjoyed home from home comfort and clenliness and a breakfast fit for a king .Thanks fiona hopefully return if back in mallaig .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Spent one night in a twin room which was very spacious and absolutely immaculate. Not en suite but bathroom was only shared by 2 rooms and looked brand new with a hot powerful shower and separate large bath. Breakfast had a very large selection if fresh produce and a great cooked option. Off street parking and walking distance to local attractions. I would definitely recommend this b&b to friends and will certainly stay there again myself.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mallaig
0.0 mi away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
4.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
2.5 mi away
Morar Hotel
Morar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morar
3.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
6.6 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#3 of 3 in Arisaig
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#2 of 3 in Mallaig
4.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Lochailort Inn
The Lochailort Inn
#1 of 1 in Lochailort
4.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Guest House

Address: Main Street | Inverness-shire, Mallaig PH41 4QS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Mallaig
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mallaig
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1847 this grand house is now a 6 bedroomed Guest House most with a view of Whitby Abbey and the little fishermans cottages cascading down to the Harbour. Your hosts Brian & Abby have restored this house, adding a bit of their pasion for "art deco". You will be assured of a comforable and stylish stay. Brian being a Swiss trained Chef puts on a breakfast to die for. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaview Guest House Mallaig, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaview Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.