We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Grand Old Lady in need of a makeover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added West Highland Hotel to your Saves list
West Highland Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mallaig PH414QZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mallaig
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A Grand Old Lady in need of a makeover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

A wee but run down in the rooms and general reception area however this adds to the charm. Food was absolutely cracking and a level above anything available in the general area. Welcome from staff was fab and great to see local staff working there. A grand old hotel but the inside a wee bit run down which detracts from the whole experience a wee bit

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    85
    42
    5
    9
See reviews for
41
103
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aboyne
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

The West Highland Hotel impresses with its modest grandeur as you enter up the front steps. It overlooks Mallaig to the north and west, sitting as it does prominently up on the hill, a great white mansion presiding over Mallaig. The views from the front bedrooms, the sun lounge and the restaurant are stunning, and you'll see sunsets you'll never forget as the sun dips behind Skye (summer sunsets) or the isles of Rhum or Eigg depending on the time of year.
The rooms are comfortable (small on the second floor) and adequate. There are some showpiece ones which have been renovated beautifully on the first floor. The spacious lounge is everything you need it to be: warm comfy and grand old Scottish. The bar has been beefed up with some really quality malt whiskies which range widely enough to suit most palates I'd have thought.
The chef is good. The meals are well presented and the menu is varied. You would do well to eat in.
Treat yourself, book now.

Room Tip: Try to avoid being put in one of the chalets. They are not joined to the hotel and although they ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

This older establishment is like hotels of the past, big lobby full of great old leather furnishings and nice woodwork. My room was on the top floor facing the harbour, small but adequate. Took supper in the bar, great meal quick service. As I was leaving early the next morning the lady at the bar arranged for a pack lunch which was well appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I had a one night stay on 26 Aug and was pleasantly surprised. The public areas were comfortable and well maintained with lots of cosy corners to relax in. We didn't have dinner but the conservatory was set for evening meals and had a fabulous view across the bay. Breakfast was excellent and cooked to order and the staff in the breakfast room were excellent. I had a single room which was of adequate size and was clean and comfortable. The prize was the stunning view out across the water - just gorgeous. My only negative is the decor in the bedroom was tired and old fashioned. A coat of paint and some re- decoration would make this very good hotel excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We arrived at the West Highland late in the evening after an 11 hour drive from Elgin (Well, we did make a few stops along the way!). As we had stayed there five years ago, and had been put on the top floor, with a bathtub in which you had to crouch down to use the shower, we were somewhat apprehensive about what awaited. Much to our delight, we had a first floor room which was spacious and very comfortable. The wash basin was in a separate room, and the stall shower in another room altogether.

Our windows overlooked the harbour, but the front of the hotel has lovely views out to Eigg, Rhum, and Skye. We were fortunate enough to have arrived in time for a stunning sunset over the Cuillins of Skye, which just kept getting better and better as the evening progressed.

The staff at the West Highland are exceedingly friendly and accommodating. Our receptionist on the first night doubled as the bartender, and the gentleman who manned reception the following morning encouraged us when we told him that we were planning to hike from Bracora to Tarbet. He asked if we had booked passage on the Western Isles for the return trip, and we said that we had. We were a bit worried about the possibility of inclement weather, but he said that we wouldn't be bothered much by a light rain, and sure enough, we weren't.

Breakfast at the West Highland was very good - the usual assortment of eggs as you like them, Scottish bacon, sausage, and black pudding, but we've noticed that in a lot of the older Scottish hotels, prunes in juice are available at the breakfast buffet along with the usual cereals. Is this specifically for older clientele, or is this standard everywhere?

We were, unfortunately, relegated to twin beds in our room, but they were very comfortable. There was a small flat screen television in the room, a far cry from the small CRT television, with three channels, which we had had five years ago. Lots of storage space, and the hallways have lovely carpeting. There is a cozy lounge on the ground floor, and a conservatory where you can sit during inclement weather and gaze out to the islands. The car park wraps around the front, side, and back of the West Highland. At the back, you're out there with the rubbish skips, and finding a space can be a bit hit or miss. There is parking directly across the street, but it is timed, so you have to keep track of how long you can park during the day

Very convenient for the MacBrayne ferries, and close to Loch Morar, Arisaig, Camusdarach Beach, and an easy walk in to the village.

We stayed for two nights at the West Highland, before taking the ferry over to Skye, and are looking forward to returning. The price was a bit on the dear side, but for location, ambiance, and the friendly staff, it was absolutely worth it.

Haste ye back!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the Sound of Sleat and the islands
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This is a great option for Mallaig. I was very pleased with our hotel here. We booked the more economy rooms, so the rooms were very basic, but very nice still and the views over the water were stunning! Very comfortable rooms and bathrooms. The public areas of this hotel are stunning. Very inviting lounge/lobby area. Friendly staff. Overall great stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We visited this hotel at lunchtime after taking the Jacobite steam train from Fort William (an awesome railway journey). The food was exceptionally good - the langoustines were served to Michelin star quality and the beetroot and horseradish soup was impressive. We strongly recommend this hotel for the quality of the restaurant, the good service and the impressive views from the conservatory.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to West Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Highland Hotel

Address: Mallaig PH414QZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Mallaig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mallaig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your West Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Highland Mallaig
West Highland Hotel Mallaig, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Highland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.