We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the breaded haddock its magic!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fishmarket Restaurant

The Fishmarket Restaurant
Station Road, Mallaig, Scotland
+44 1687 462299
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 9 restaurants in Mallaig
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Try the breaded haddock its magic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Not that great a place decor-wise but we loved the breaded haddock and chips. Beatifully cooked, not fatty, flaky white fish.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    29
    29
    13
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Frozen not Fresh - Mallaig deserves better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This restaurant SHOULD be very good as it's perfectly located overlooking the harbour, but it's pretty mediocre. Mallaig deserves better than this. Wish we'd read the poor reviews beforehand regarding the haddock and chips as we agree with them wholeheartedly. The restaurant was empty and the two waitresses looked bored and under-employed - hardly surprising. The food was just very poor and almost certainly all frozen. The "chef" going through to the kitchen with a large bag from the freezer was a big clue here! Haddock was very ordinary and the small portion of chips was even more ordinary. For the quality and portion size, it was well over-priced.

I doubt very much if locals ever eat here and tourists won't return after their first experience. This place needs new owners or a complete change of attitude towards the quality and value-for-money. Felt a bit sorry for the waitresses really as presumably they have to take all the flak
for the indifferent and incompetent owners.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Enjoyable visit but disappointing lack of fish on menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I had the prawn cocktail starter which was OK (if not a little tasteless). My wife had the monkfish and chorizo starter which unfortunately had a foul smell when it was put on the table but this quickly subsided. The fish and chips were disappointing. A piece of breaded fish that I think spent some time in the freezer. The mussels in white wine and garlic were good. Price was reasonable. There just seemed to be a lack of choice of fish in a place that's called the Fish Market. Perhaps this was because it was half term week in February. Overall a bit disappointing.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

I went to this restaurant mainly because it was the first one I saw coming off the train. I got fish and chips and it was pretty good. The staff were nice too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food - shocking service!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have been here a number of times and always enjoyed the food - and this time our meals were still great.... However.... We were clearly in the way. I was still eating my main course when they cleared the rest of the plates, offered and brought the coffee and the bill. We werent even offered desserts!! Almost funny but at their prices, not quite. Won't be back - will go to the steam inn instead

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fishmarket Restaurant also viewed

 
Mallaig, Lochaber
Mallaig, Lochaber
 

Been to The Fishmarket Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fishmarket Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.