We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fishmarket Restaurant

The Fishmarket Restaurant
Station Road, Mallaig PH41 4QS, Scotland
+44 1687 462299
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 11 Restaurants in Mallaig
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Doing flying visit to mallaig primarily for train ride from fort William. Weather turned wet and cold, so after doing shops, popped in here. Lovely friendly staff, especially the young lady who had relocated to mallaig from Newcastle. I had toasted sarnie and her indoors had homemade tom soup. Both excellent. Highly recommend :-)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    31
    20
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had the place to ourselves when we went. We stopped in just before they closed, for lunch. I had a perfect seafood chowder and my husband had a vegetable soup. Both were delicious. We shared a breaded haddock and chips, which was outstanding. I don't know about these other reviews but we thought it was great and were still talking about it days later. We'd definitely eat there again if we were ever back in the area. I subtracted a point for atmosphere which was the only thing lacking.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Disgracefull!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This restaurant is situated at the corner of he harbour and the west coast of Scotland is famous for its fish and seafood, so there is no excuse for the dry tasteless and overpriced fish and chips we received there tray. The fish certainly was not fresh, which was such a shame and the staff not very interested when we told them so. My advice is don't go there if you want fresh fish!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wittering, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Chips and diet coke”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stopped here [at the coffee shop upstairs] for lunch, having been on the Jacobite Express, and as I was not tremendously hungry, and was not really in a spending mood, I just ordered a bowl of bendy fries (£2.20) and a can of diet coke (£1.70) for my lunch. I thought that the fries were rather nice, and the diet coke was pretty standard, and I found it to be a good value light meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fish not fresh!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

First to arrive at restaurant off the Jacobite train. Perhaps we were too early and got a previous day's fish as it was bland and dried out. Very disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fishmarket Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Fishmarket Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fishmarket Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.