We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Moorings

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mallaig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Moorings
Save
You added The Moorings to your Saves list
East Bay, Mallaig PH41 4QS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 14 Mallaig B&B and Inns
Scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A comfortable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at The Moorings. We requested a room with a view over the sea and it was good to be able to see the boats and the activity in the harbour from our comfortable room. Jenny is friendly and helpful, and the whole house was very clean. Breakfast was good and plentiful (if you want cereal to start you just need to request it as it isn’t displayed buffet-style). The cooked breakfasts were excellent and we shared an interesting conversation with our fellow guests. We found the location of the Moorings very convenient too: a very short stroll to the eating places, bank, jetty etc. Thanks Jenny.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    28
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
12
37
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Having read some of the reviews here I feel I should give a balanced view on the this traditional B&B. Yes people share the breakfast tables, this used to be the case in B&B's years ago, is this really such a problem?.I find this set-up to be a positive experience, by talking to other guests you get to find out good walks, pubs, places to eat etc.
I find this preferable to facebook and its virtual tittle-tattle, but I'm probably being ageist here.
The cleanliness of the place is second to none and Jenny was very friendly and welcoming to all the guests, in fact she suggested a boat trip to Inverie which was absolutely stunning.
I suppose the breakfast window of 8.00 - 8.30 would not suit everyone, but surely if an early breakfast was required you would inquire when booking.
The breakfast was delicious and plentiful, extra coffee provided if required.
All in all I had good positive experience at the Moorings and would certainly stay here if I return to Mallaig.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We booked The Moorings for one night, having travelled from Glasgow on the West Highland Way,the welcome we got from Jenny was lovely, she could not have been more helpful,room was very comfortable, and breakfast was superb, yes we shared a table at breakfast, and we enjoyed meeting and chatting to the other guests. The Moorings is a warm and welcoming house,and we would have no hesitation booking again, thank you Jenny for your hospitality, we look forward to seeing you soon.
Bronwen & Philip

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

In short this B&B is great! The rooms are spotless and serviced every day. I was working in Morar And Mallaig on two separate occasions and chose the Moorings Both times. I have also used several B&B's in the surrounding area and this one has to be the best i have come across. The breakfast was excellent and the service was great. As for sharing your breakfast table, who cares people! its just breakfast ! its actually quite nice to sit and have breakfast with other people, and find out what their plans are and to tell them what your doing. All these other people on here complaining about stupid little things like where the kettle plugs in, and what time breakfast is, and that they had to share a coffee pot!! Just ask Jenny and she will make you more!! At no extra cost i might ad! As b&b's go this is more than adequate. As for all you posh folks on here slating the woman, you have to understand that you get what you pay for, and for the money Jenny charges, you get far more than you deserve. They obviously work very hard to maintain a beautiful house for you to stay in and at the end of the day, your not asked to live there, you get a warm clean room, en suite shower and toilet, and a good breakfast in the morning and then you leave. Jenny delivers this and more to her customers and whenever im working up there in the future i will be gracing her with my presence once again. Top notch Jenny!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had stayed here before so we sort of knew what we were letting ourselves if for (it was the only place with vacancies and we had to stay to get the first ferry in the morning). The owner is very friendly but, as B&B's go it is a little quirky. The room was clean and well decorated and the place is handy for the ferry. It had a double bed (plus two bunk beds). The owner (Jenny) explained that she had three "gentlemen" staying in the room and of course they would need a bed each. Other arrangements would obviously be unthinkable.

We explained that we needed to catch the early ferry (we needed to be there for around 8:05) and were told that she did a special early breakfast for those catch the first ferry to Skye. This was at 7:45 (take it or leave it). After all, as she told us, any earlier would mean that she would have to get up at 6! Later on in this trip one of the B&B owners had told us that she had made breakfast as early as 5:45 for bunch of cyclists!

One thing I wasn't too sure about was the only place the kettle would plug in was on a unit right next tot he TV.

We had a comfortable night. We arrived for breakfast (which had to be pre-ordered), and by the time the owner had stopped talking to us, there was no time for cereal before the cooked breakfast. We had to rush through breakfast just to catch the ferry at the alloted time. Not a very relaxing start to the day.

As I have said, this was the second stay in this establishment but probably our last. .

p.s. contrary to previous posts the owner is Welsh not English or Scottish.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

A lovely welcome. The B&B was spotlessly clean with a beautiful outlook. The hosts wer very pleasant and sent us on our way with a good breakfast.

Would be glad to return on our next trip to Mallaig.

Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is a mid range place- a hell hole it is not, but it is not the Hilton either. Nor is it that unusual to share a breakfast table from time to time- in Scotland or England.

You do get the impression that there is a touch of eccentricity in the owners, but no unreasonable demands were made at all and the facilities were good. The bathroom was great and the shower of very good quality. Breakfast was well cooked, although the timing was a little off- we had to wait as they were not ready for us at the appointed time, but it wasn't long and we weren't in a hurry.

Pleasant lounge area overlooking harbour, easy reach to circular walk and good restaurants/station etc. The WiFi was very hard to make work but I didn't even know they had any until I'd arrived, so no big problem there either.

Stayed one night, on way to islands, would use the place again quite happily on the same basis.

Would stay again on the same basis.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings

Address: East Bay, Mallaig PH41 4QS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Mallaig
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mallaig
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Moorings Hotel Mallaig
The Moorings Mallaig, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Moorings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.