We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Steam Inn

The Steam Inn
Davies Brae, Mallaig PH41 4PU, Scotland
+44 1687 462002
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 11 Restaurants in Mallaig
Cuisines: Seafood, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Findhorn, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

went for a fiar few drinks here on friday evening 12th april bar staff and locals were fantastic a real warm welcome , pity the wife cant remember

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    81
    15
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A wholesome, delicious (and huge!) supper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013


We had a very good dinner at the Steam Inn. The hard-working staff was very efficient and friendly, our dinner (for me mushroom bruschetta & steak in a Yorkshire pudd; for my companion smoked salmon then chicken linguine) was all delicious. We thought it was very good value for money, too. We ate in the bar (the separate restaurant rooom wasn’t yet opened as it was still low season) which was pleasant and not noisy. The tables were rather high for the comfy chairs but we got used to it! A very pleasant evening, thank you from a well-fed customer.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Geat place for a stopover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Room was very nice, pristine, with very modern shower room. Lovely comfy bed and bedding. Just perfect for our purposes - a one night stay on a return trip using the West Highland Line Railway. Excellent Value

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable lunch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We went to Mallaig for the day and arrived at lunchtime. The Steam Inn may have looked a little drab from the outside but inside was a very modern and inviting establishment. My husband and I both picked the Mallaig Cod with Isle of Skye Beer Batter which was delicious. My son picked pizza from the children's menu which looked a bit uninspiring but I was very impressed with my daughter's choice from the children's menu. She picked homemade fish fingers which looked like little mini pieces of what my husband and I had chosen and she too ate it with great gusto. It was nice to see that they had avoided the usual unappealing fish fingers and substituted their own beautiful fish fingers instead. The couple of rounds of drinks we had were extremely reasonable also. All and all very it was a very enjoyable lunch.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“5 stars well deserved!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Overall fantastic quality of service, food and a friendly atmosphere. Will be recommending to all my friends! Can't wait to come back

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Steam Inn also viewed

 
Mallaig, Lochaber
 

Been to The Steam Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Steam Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.