We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loch Dubh

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochcarron
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loch Dubh
Save
You added Loch Dubh to your Saves list
Croft Road, Lochcarron IV54 8YA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Lochcarron B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“weekend visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

the best band b i think we have stayed in thank you to emma and andrew for been so helpfull and accomadating would reccomend to anybody breakfast brillant, veiw from the table fantastic ,a beatifull part of scotland no shortage of places to eat or places to see

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
26
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed one night here with my partner but wish we could have stayed longer. Emma & Andrew were so welcoming & they have a beautiful home. Fantastic views which were enhanced by the amazing breakfast with a staggering array of choices.
The room we had was lovely & spacious with a fantastic view down to Loch Carron, the comfiest bed I have ever slept in & my partner was impressed by the powerful shower.
Will definitely be back

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I need to start this review with one of the village of Lochcarron as a whole. I've been told that traffic just passes through on the Wester Ross Road without giving this place attention.

Well, this is the first time I've visited and i really like the place. There is everything a holiday in Scotland needs, stunning views, water (the Loch) Mountains all around and good eating places. Why pass through when you could stop, spend a few days relaxing, then move on, Lochcarron should be on anyone's holiday venues.

As for the the B&B.

It is amazingly clean, tidy and has a wonderful location above the Loch. It's situated on a working croft and Andrew crofts 8 acres I think (correct me if I'm wrong Andrew). It has open views all around, but in particular east, south and west.......across the loch to the mountains. I'll add some images when I get home (I'm still here in Loch Dubh as I type). It's a newish build and is amazing.

The room we had was room 2 - it's facing the loch and has it's own entrance. This room can take well behaved pets - it had to put up with me, same thing really. The room is large, clean and with plenty of storage. It has a dual aspect view......lie in bed with the curtains open (you're not over looked) and you can see nothing but stunning views, what Scotland is famous for.

The bed - needs a special mention as it's really comfy. My wife suffers with her back and we'd just come from a cottage on Skye where the bed crippled her back, the memory foam mattress here has stopped that pain in it's track. I've had nothing but good nights sleep.

Expect a good welcome from Emma and Andrew, they really do know how to make you feel welcome and work hard to make this B&B work. Andrew is a builder and built this place - along with many others in the village and has a really good knowledge of the area. Advice on eating, hiking and MTB rides are readily forthcoming.

I brought two expensive road bikes with me and there was a nice secure place to store them, but this is the highlands, not exactly crime ridden!!!!! I think I could have left them at the bottom of the drive with confidence that they'd be there the next morning.

The breakfast is great, hearty and large. I've been to places where you get one glass of juice and a stingy breakfast. Here, you get a JUG, yes you read that right A JUG of juice per room. You also get to choose from a large selection of breakfast foods the night before (I love this system as I know what I'm getting and the B&B owner knows what to prepare and you get it HOT). There are loads of jams, conserves and marmalade's plus cereals of you choice. It is fantastic.

All in all this is certainly one of the finest B&B's I've used and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone. I will certainly use this place again.

Many thanks to Emma and Andrew for helping make our stay excellent.

Room Tip: Room 2 has it's own entrance and STUNNING views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novosibirsk, Novosibirsk, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I've stayed in dozens of guesthouses in Britain and Ireland and can say this place is the best. It's a modern and comfortable house in the middle of one of the most picturesque villages. The owners are nice and supporting and the breakfast is superb. I definitely recommend it to anybody visiting Highlands and the UK in general.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Amazing B&B, great hosts and an excellent view. The room was comfortable and spacious, and we had an amazing view across the Loch. The breakfast was great. One of the best stops on our tour of Scotland.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Emma and Andrew were extremely helpful and kind. We had the misfortune of the bike rack breaking during the day and Andrew went out of his way to find me some tools to adjust the bikes properly so they could fit in the car. Rooms and ensuite was clean and breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Could not recommend this B&B and the owners more highly and it fully deserves the 5 stars. If I could suggest one thing, that would only be to have larger bath towels for showering but perhaps I noticed this more as I am so tall!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffith, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Amazing views over looking loch curran from you room this B&B certainly has the wow factor it's also a working family farm
we also booked in advance and needed to change dates which was no problem for Emma to
re arrange for us a wonderful traditional cooked scotch breakfast was included Andrew and Emma were happy to chat with us if we're ever in Scotland again I would love to stay longer this B&B is family and couple friendly

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms available both have fantastic views take you pick
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loch Dubh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Dubh

Address: Croft Road, Lochcarron IV54 8YA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Lochcarron
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lochcarron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loch Dubh is a newly built spacious croft house set in 8 acres of working croft land. It stands in an elevated south facing position on open hillside above the village of Lochcarron and has stunning views over Loch Carron, looking towards the mountains to the south. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Loch Dubh Lochcarron, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loch Dubh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.